We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentous, relaxing atmosphere, and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scott and Binh's

Scott and Binh's
15-17 Cao Trieu Phat Street, Hung Phuoc 1 | Phu My Hung, District 7, Ho Chi Minh City 00000, Vietnam
+84 94 890 14 65
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #7 of 1,239 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Open Tues-Sunday 4pm-11pm and Western style a la carte Brunch on Saturday and Sunday from 11am-4pm, Scott and Binh's is serving up "Comfort Food With a Twist" in the Heart of Phu My Hung, HCMC. Come try us out!!!
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unpretentous, relaxing atmosphere, and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We went here for a special occasion with my girlfriend. Scott and his staff was extremely friendly and made us feel like we picked the perfect place to celebrate. The restaurant is located in a quiet neighborhood, with a relaxing atmosphere. We had the Ceazar Salad and Calamari as starters. Panko crusted Calamari was delicious paired with a Thai inspired dip. We had the Steak and Seafood Penne for main courses. The steak was a little on the tough and fatty side, but overall flavor was good. We also prefer our Penne a little more al dente, but that's just a matter of personal preference. Scott was also so kind to offer us desert on the house. It's these personal touches that makes customers coming back again and again. We were extremely happy with our experience! Can't wait to revisit and try the famous Pork Tenderloin and many other dishes. Thank you very much Scott.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
HI WinnWinn, it was nice to meet you and K when you came over. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review here on TA. I am glad you felt taken care of on your anniversary, that's our job :D I always will buy a drink or dessert for birthdays and anniversaries when we know about them, like you said, it's the little touches that keep people coming back. I will look into the pasta issue, thanks for mentioning it. We need negative feedback to make sure we our keeping our standards up. Best of luck on your new venture!!! Please do come back when you have free time, and try some more dishes. We will take care of you. Thanks again from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    157
    50
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you're seeking a little Western comfort, this is the perfect place. Scott and the team made me feel very welcome. I was a solo diner, and arrived late. I appreciated Scott stopping by my table and having a chat. Unlike some restaurants, Scott was on the ball with email communication. Strongly recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hey Zed, thanks for coming over last week, was nice to meet and talk to you. Glad the staff made you feel welcome, that is our goal. Thanks very much for taking the time to write us a review here on TA. Please come by if you ever find yourself in HCMC again on your travels. Thanks again from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great guy (Scott), amazing food and well run operation. If in 7 this is the place to be and I will be a frequent visitor. Big fan of the american style things and loved the Thanksgiving. Come and by and give it a try not fancy or pretentious.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hi Bob, thanks for coming over to "our house" for Thanksgiving. Now you will have to come back and try the regular menu ;-) We will keep doing the little things to make sure we earn your continued support, and keep you a frequent visitor. We are just trying to be consistently good, not fancy or pretentious, as you noted. Thanks from all of us for taking the time to write us a review here on TA, and hope to see you again soon at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshunt
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“great food terrific service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I went to dinner on my first night in HCMC and had the 5 spice chicken breast, that was as good as you would get in a 5 star restaurant. Scott introduced himself and made me feel very welcome. I was staying at the adjoining hotel and it was tempting to eat there every night but when in a new city you have to try all the restaurants. Having said that i did have 4 meals there. They were all terrific tasty , well presented and fresh. Scott and Binh have done a terrific job in selecting and training the staff, they looked good , had plenty of smiles, were efficient and fast. Thank you Scott & Binh for helping to make my trip enjoyable , and anyone who reads this must pay them a visit or the loss is yours

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hi James, it was a pleasure to meet and talk with you over the course of your visit to HCMC. Thanks for taking the time to write us a nice review here on TA. I am glad you enjoyed the food, I promise people that it will be Tasty, that's my goal. Being American, I can use all the different food influences that exist there, and make food that may not be ultra traditional, but tastes good. Well, that's the goal anyway ;-) My wife Ms. Duc and I have worked hard to work with the staff, and make people feel welcome here, and it sounds like we all have succeeded in making you comfortable. Please stop back if you are in HCMC again sometime. Thanks again from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Scott and Binh's is Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a great place food is very good. Service is to a high standard. I was surprised at how quick the food came out. Lots of choices I went with the Jamaican Jerk pork which was delicious. My wife had a mains salad which was really big. Wine was excellent. Real Irish coffee. Scott is an active part of your dining experience checking to see if everything is right, helpful in recommendations and a great host. I will be back the burgers look to be out standing as the table next to us had burgers. The restaurant is comfortable and finished nicely. I had the chocolate chip cookie bar with ice cream it was also delicious. I look forward to revisiting to try more of the menu and Scott's hospitality. I wish I lived in District 7.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hi Paul, it was nice to meet you and T the other night, thanks for stopping by, and taking the time to write us a review here on TA. Not going to lie on the speediness of the food, you came in a little later, and ordered some quick dishes, sometimes when we are busy it takes a little longer ;-) I am glad you did enjoy everything that you tried. It seems we succeeded in making you feel welcome, which is our goal. Do stop back by to try the burgers, we won't disappoint you, I promise. Thanks again from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scott and Binh's also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Scott and Binh's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scott and Binh's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.