We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Putting Jazz on the map in Vietnam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sax N Art Jazz Club

Sax N Art Jazz Club
28 Le Loi Street | Saigon, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Putting Jazz on the map in Vietnam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

After three delightful weeks in Vietnam, to discover the Sax N Art Jazz Club on our last night was the icing on the cake. I'm no jazz expert but the music here brings inspiration. Maybe we were just lucky, but for a measly $4 cover charge (pay up please!) we were treated to three lovely hours of music.The house band was great and the local guest musicians put on a wonderful show.The boss is Mr. Tranh Manh Tuan and his brilliant and spirited sax just took the whole experience to the next level. He plays some exceptionally rich tones through local instruments as well, in a meld of Western and Mekong. Tuan may not be there every night: I'm not sure, but if our musical experience was anything to go by a good evening of music is definitely on the cards.The young folks who served us were delightful and very attentive to our needs. The venue is nicely decked out. If you don't mind paying reasonable international prices for your drinks you should go and support these guys. Tuan said they are trying to put the jazz into Vietnam. That speaks volumes.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    24
    8
    11
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

What a place. Very friendly, lovely cocktails, wonderful atmosphere and fantastic music. I'm not a fan of jazz, but this was brilliant.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great jazz in Ho Chi Minh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great venue for true jazz lovers. Tran Manh Tuan is the owner of the jazz club. He, a celebrated and truly talented saxophonist, and his band perform with different guest artists every night, and are a delicious find in Ho Chi MInh city (District 1).

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly superlative jazz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went back twice, just to be sure. Tuan is a virtuoso , and his band the best musicians this side of New York. Two dollar cover charge and five-dollar drinks, intimate setting. He has different guest artists every night-- we heard vocalists from NY, Singapore, musicians from US and HK. They played 1/2 hours before a 1/2 hour break-- time for potty and drink refills. We bought his DVDs and CDs (no pressure to buy), and have played them for our jazz fiend friends-- we admire him very much!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Big dissapointment.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I expected an evening of great jazz music from one of the only clubs in Saigon.

What was playing when i arrived around 10pm was Christmas carols followed by a very long break.

The new set started with an overblown egotistical version of New York New York and went downhill from there when the audience was invited to make requests. More holiday camp/hotel lounge than jazz club.

After half an hour of this torture we left, 600,000 dong poorer, and went back to the hotel to listen to Davis/Coltrane to lift our spirits.

Rather too late we read the reviews here saying the same old stuff was played night after night, so we didn't give it a second chance.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sax N Art Jazz Club also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Sax N Art Jazz Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sax N Art Jazz Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.