We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar for live band in Pham Ngu Lao, Ho Chi Minh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thi Cafe

Thi Cafe
224 De Tham | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Dist. 1,, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 22 10 2929
Improve this listing
Ranked #479 of 1,368 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great bar for live band in Pham Ngu Lao, Ho Chi Minh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hello! My husband and I stumbled on this bar by accident and stayed for til close! The bar staff were great so was manager Pete. Thank you for a fun night. Live band was great. Great place if you enjoy live music and good drinks! Head there after 10pm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    9
    2
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Refreshed menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Thi has gone through quite a change in recent months. The management has changed and so have most of the staff. But it is great to see the menu refreshed as well!

A downer is as a result, prices of the cocktails and shots have increased quite dramatically since the first time i went there in May of 2011.

Had a taste of their signature De Tham Street cocktail and it is really good! A nice infusion of lemon grass served with a smashed galangal stick made this refreshing cocktail unique and special with a spicy touch.

The new bartender is pretty talented too.

The manager Pete is an awesome guy to hang around with, friendly and chatty, he is always around to make guests feel right at home in Thi.

As for the music, no change, still a good spot for indie bands looking to jam the night and incite some harmless fun and vibe to the place.

A great place to let your hair hang loose and enjoy some good music. :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Music is out of the world.. I was there on a friday night and the guys were jamming their own music which was simply brilliant. Band members were damn friendly too...
Good ambience, young crowd, all in all I'd say one of the best places to go to if you're a backpacker putting up at Phang Ngu Lao..

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Do not go during the day.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

It may be different during the evening/night. I went during afternoon to check this place out that got good reviews, and it was not a present experience. The staff was very poor. They sat us upstairs, forgot about us. 20 minutes later they take our drink and food order. Time passed and passed, so we went down stairs and was told that the food was on the way. Some more waiting and waiting.... 1 hour after arriving at the restaurant the food showed up, in the meantime the waitress was too busy chit chatting with her friends to even ask if we needed anything. This ruined it for me. Did not go back any more to check out the night scene and probably would not return ever again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Second time back to Thi - Still the same :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Went back to Thi in Jan 2012 with some colloeagues and friends and was glad that the place hasn't changed a single bit. it still retains its indie charm and the acoustic music is still just as good.

The prices has gone up a wee bit but it is still reasonable. This place is great as it is quite sleaze-free with the management pasting up a "No Drugs; No Prostitute" sign together with the "No outside Food/Drink" sign quite prominently behind the bar. Great to see that the Management is taking an active role in keeping the place 'clean'.

The bartenders are friendly and make your drinks promptly. The live acoustic music is what makes Thi a hit with tourists who really just want to have a good, clean time. :)

I will definitely head back once again when i'm back in HCMC!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thi Cafe also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Thi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thi Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.