We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dong Hoa Xuan Restaurant

Dong Hoa Xuan Restaurant
49 No Trang Long, Binh Thanh District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
0835101771
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 1,576 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I thought EatingSaigon.com was exaggerating, but it was one of the best and most interesting meals I have had in three weeks in Vietnam - and I am obsessed about food. The simple setting and menu made my husband think I was insane to get a taxi there just for a lunch -but then he absolutely loved it. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Easy to find with google maps. Around 100+ dong cab ride from Bui Vien ( backpackers area).

Staff very friendly and food was really great! Prices very cheap too

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Too far from District 1!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you are staying in district 1 it's not worth a special trip there!!
The fare is 95k per trip!

The shop is just a small local shop and basically it's what we call Economy Rice back in Singapore.

The Ca Kho fish is so so, very small portion and not suitable for kids with its bones and spiciness.
Grilled pork ribs are ok and pig stomach not fantastic.
The portion are small and we paid 238k in total including egg and squid.
Not too expensive.

If you can't speak Vietnam then ask for the menu else they won't understand you!

Overall not worth the distance and taxi fare!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar del Plata, Argentina
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Just walk in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My mouth is watering as i type this. On the outside it doesnt look good, it doesnt look very clean.
But if you value food, just walk in.
Great dishes served here daily and on low prices.
Spring rolls to die for.
They could improve the look of the place, but otherwise great joint

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing Food - OPEN 7am - 2 pm ONLY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Still my #1 favorite place to eat in Saigon! (I can't stop going back for the caramelized fish steaks!) But only open for breakfast and lunch. Get there before noon for the best section of the best food in Saigon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dong Hoa Xuan Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Dong Hoa Xuan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dong Hoa Xuan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.