We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to Sinh Tourist Office” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ava Saigon 2

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ava Saigon 2 to your Saves list
Ava Saigon 2
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   126 De Tham, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 716 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very close to Sinh Tourist Office”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I only stayed at this hotel for 1 night as I was taking bus to Phnom Penh the next morning through Sinh Tourist (Cafe) agency. So I wanted to stay close to their office. This hotel is on the same street. Hotel was vwry nice and the staff were very helpful and very friendly.
My room was nice, big enough, but didn't have any windows. Bathroom was nicely furnished but the water was leaking from under the bath tub when having shower. I paid £14 which was more that I would normally pay, but the standard was pretty much the same. The room had safety deposit box which was very helpful.
It took about 15 min to walk to the main market and about another 15 min to Remnants Museum, which I would highly recommend visiting if you are interested in American War in Vietnam history.
The breakfast was included in the room and was nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    33
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
30
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ava Saigon 2 never dissapoints. I have used this hotel on many ocasssions now and always found the staff polite and helpful. The rooms are clean and tidy, with the beds made daily and bathroom always left spotless.

The location is close to the busy nightlife of Saigon, but still far enough away for a good nights sleep. The English speaking receptionists are always happy to offer help in finding your way around and making your stay as easy as possible.

Unlike many other hotels in the area the wifi is fast and reliable. The breakfast is free and freshly prepared. Also there is a free laundry service so you can't ask for much more for the very reasonable price.

If you are travelling on budget this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: All hotels in Saigon (HCM) are the same. Go high to avoid the noise and upgrade if you can for a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

HI stayed at the AVA2 for a month and have nothing but praise for the place you get a lot more than you pay for.

A good breakfast every morning

Free laundry

The wifi that is fast and does not crash

Free skyp international calls

It is close to everything you might need a short walk through the parks to the main market.

All that for a low price with very helpful well trained English speaking staff.

Its about the only place i would stay in ho chi minh city.

For those of you who are interested i am not a relative of the owner but can say i have stayed in some dives for the same price.

Alex

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Owner (Mr Tan) replies very fast on all my email inquiry, even if I have to reschedule our reservation because I made a mistake on our initial date of arrival. He also greeted us and asked us regarding our stay in the morning then he made instructions on his staff regarding our request to store our luggage after out check out since our flight is later that night. The staff are nice and accomadating as well. We were booked at the VIP room w/ a bathtub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Amidst a very busy and noisy city, with tons of scooters, this place offers a bit of a retreat from the hustle and bustle. Thankfully it is several big blocks away from all of the bars and clubs in the vicinity. Rooms are pretty decent for the price. Mine was relatively large, came equipped with a safe, TV, fridge, shower and bath. Though the shower would always shoot water on the floor, the floor dried relatively quickly, and the towels are changed daily.

The hotel offers great wifi coverage, free long distance calls via skype and free laundry service, as well as a decently priced private car service to and from the airport. A breakfast is provided, which is nice but it is a little boring and small; it could use some creativity.

The front desk staff and the owner are helpful, honest, and willing to please. For those of you Francophone, the owner speaks French, and is eager to do so. Not being able to converse in Vietnamese, this proved refreshing, Overall, a good bargain for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

clean, friendly service, nice breakfast - four free things a godsend
The staff here are very welcoming and friendly. We had free international calls from their pc in the restaurant; free fast wifi; free breakfast (yoghurt, bananas, juice, coffee, and choice of viatnamese breakfast or eggs or toast and jam). Filling enough. They have a little kitten there called Mao and she is very cute. We had booked a deluxe room but nearly ended up in a Standard before we realised our mistake. Standards are pretty average sized but with the extra bed in the deluxe for us to put our rucksacks on it helped. Shower is over the bath, toiletries topped up everyday along with the minibar (tea & coffee, water, juice..and beer). Large windows allowing plenty of light. They also serve lunch and dinner though we never had chance to try it. Location is good, about 10min walk to the main backpacker area - lots of restaurants and bars, shops etc, and about 20min walk into the city. Nice frozen yoghurt place around the corner. Oh free laundry as well was really useful; 1 outfit a day limit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

For the amount of USD22 a night, you could not ask for anything more. You get more than what you pay for with AVA 2!
The staff are helpful and the owner is very accommodating. The hotel is new, so everything is clean. The room we stayed at (401) has TV, safe (that we can't figure out), closet, mini-dreser, aircon, big bed, table and 2 chairs. They clean your room, change your towels and pillowcases everyday. The free wi-fi is fast, and they will wash your clothes for free too. I think only AVA offers this free laundry to guests. If you are staying for a week or so, you may get tired of their breakfast line-up. The chicken noodle soup is nice to have, but other than that, everything is blah. The breakfast set comes with yogurt, drinks of choice and fresh fruit. Nice! The morning receptionist is very helpful and can converse well in English. The night staff is another story. You will be better off if you just leave him alone.
The location is off the beaten path. It's in the backpackers area, where the budget hotels are. So if you are particular and kinda squimish about location location location, this is far from being in Park Hyatt, Rex, Caravelle and the likes. But what's good about this hotel is you get a taste of the real local flavors and you will never go hungry! You step out of your hotel and everywhere you look there's a food kiosk for authentic Vietnamese local fare. There's a coffee shop right across the hotel where you can have their iced black coffee (they only sell drinks, no food) and its VND8.000 compared to the same one who will find in Highlands Coffee (their version of Starbucks) at VND29.000, but then again, you pay for the ambiance. Along this street is where you can find beauty salons, barber shop, spa for massage, and small stores that cater to the locals, so the price is friendlier as well.
My husband and I wouldn't mind staying here again. This is great value hotel for the budget conscious.

Room Tip: The hotel is new so everything is clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
#8 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
0.6 mi away
Asian Ruby Central Hotel
Asian Ruby Central Hotel
#137 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#21 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
1.0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#14 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#27 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ava Saigon 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ava Saigon 2

Address: 126 De Tham, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 716 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ava Saigon 2 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ava Saigon 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ava Saigon 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.