We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Bella

Ciao Bella
11 Dong Du Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City Vietnam, Vietnam
+84 8 3822 3329
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,568 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: New York Italian. Warm casual eatery
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rustic Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

If you are looking for a fine dining Italian, this is not the place.
However, if you are looking for rustic italian food in a nice cosy ambience this is the right place.

They welcome you with a complimentary glass of prosecco. I ordered the caprese salad to start with and then a carbonara that they make table side. Simple, good taste and not expensive at all.

Tables are close together and its usually full. Maybe not a place for a quiet romantic date, but for any other occasion its great!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    198
    54
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Baku, Azerbaijan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Ate at Ciao Bella last night with my family. Excellent food, I had the lasagne which was as good as I have tasted anywhere, my wife had chicken. Large portions so if I went again I wouldn't bother with a starter, I had the calamari , again very good but probably enough for a main! Excellent service , both of us got a glass of sparkling wine before the meal and also a shot when we were finished, kids and wife were given a flower bracelet as well. Restaurant was fairly busy so we ended up on the 3rd floor, nice setting and a very good atmosphere. Would defo go back if I'm in HCMC again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The worst "so-called-Italian" restaurant so far”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Had to try this place because of the huge amount of excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. Restaurant is simple, small but has a warm atmosphere, service is acceptable by Vietnamese standards... But the food is really horrible, my friend had spaghetti vongole which was swimming in water, one more friend had tagliatelle bolognese, completely overcooked, I had ravioli, also really terrible. Really, as Italian, I really can't understand how so many people are giving excellent reviews to this place, is Italian cuisine in the world really so much misunderstood???

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in Sai gon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Restaurant quite small when viewed from the outside, but cozy, decorated Italy style, look pretty cool and classic. Good food, proper quality. slightly dry bread, and drink prices are quite good. Rather, I see food prices was okay. Acceptable quality food and service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead,Surrey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Terrific food , value and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We came here 3 times, we enjoyed it so much. Welcome glass of prosecco on arrival and complimentary bread basket. Specials were varied and changed every couple of days. Extensive menu, with the option to have some dishes as a started or main course. The quality was excellent. We probably had the best food of our 18 days in Vietnam here ! Our party of 4, enjoyed every mouthful ! Portions of tirimisu were enormous ! Complimentary limocello at the end of the meal. We sat upstairs near the window. Staff very attentive and great fun - don't miss it ! Make sure you book.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bella also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ciao Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Bella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.