We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bella Bella!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Bella

Ciao Bella
11 Dong Du Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City Vietnam, Vietnam
+84 8 3822 3329
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,647 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: New York Italian. Warm casual eatery
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bella Bella!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Recently ate at Ciao Bella following the tripadvisor reviews. Lovely little restaurant which has a very authentic feel to it. Amazing service without being intrusive. Fabulous menu with great choices and a brilliant choice of specials on board too. When we sat down were given glass of sparkling wine and beautiful bread with dips. Arancini was one of the best I had ever tasted. Mains were also excellent and I had the special of bucatini mixed at the table in a wooden wheel with strong cheese, prosciutto & pepper. Highly recommended. Fabulous sweets and lemoncello to finish. Very reasonable and a must visit in HCMC if you want a change from Vietnamese.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    212
    60
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Who Knew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

...there is a great Italian restaurant in HCMC. We sat upstairs because we didn't have a reservation but it was kind of better since there was air conditioning up there on a hot day. When you sit down they give you a glass of champagne and bread with roasted garlic bulb/hummus/balsamic vinegar which was a nice surprise. I had the pasta made in the parmesan cheese wheel. Very fresh and fun to watch the waiter (who I think was the owner) make it. At the end we were given lemoncello shots to finish off the meal. They made you feel like you were special and that was a nice touch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“A gem of a find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a very small establishment but very personable, for as soon as we stepped in we were served immediately without even asking. Staff brought water, offered complimentary welcome drinks and a small appetizer plate. The owner was obviously hands-on as they came by often, made recommendations and checked on the food. Prices were very decent and the food was good too. It will be worth coming back again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best meal in SE Asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went to this great little Italian restuarant last night and it was one of the best meals we've had in a 2 month trip through SE Asia. We were given two lovely complimentary glasses of champaign on arrival, then a small loaf of beautiful bread came out will a selection of accompaniments. We chose our mains from the specials board and had the best bottle of wine (recommended) I've had in months. All for around $45 US fot two people. Oh, and the staff were all fantastic! Couldn't recommend this place enough.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous italian food......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had reviewed this restaurant on trip advisor and decided to try it on our last night in H.M.C., we were not disappointed. Friendly and effecient staff and great authentic food, good size portions and nice wine list. Owner was very helpful and friendly, would highly recommend this restaurant, just sorry we did not try it sooner....... next time.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bella also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ciao Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Bella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.