We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Bella

Ciao Bella
11 Dong Du Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City Vietnam, Vietnam
+84 8 3822 3329
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,732 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: New York Italian. Warm casual eatery
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had had a very full lunch as a result of partaking in a cooking course earlier in the day, so didn't get hungry again until about 9.30pm when most restaurants were shut or shutting. This place was a blessing to find, especially as it was our 2 year anniversary =) What excellent customer service! A glass each of bubbly and a plate of bread and dips on arrival (the lemon hummus, if that was what it was, was excellent), and the Manager explained the day's specials to us.

As others have recommended, the dish involving the giant parmesan wheel was sublime (I forget what it is called now) but it's so flavourful and fresh - gotta love freshly cracked black pepper! The linguine vongole was excellent too. The cocktails were strong but delicious and my only regret was that we didn't get there earlier, as by the time we were ready for dessert the kitchen had closed.

Still, USD$50 for shared entree, 2 mains and 2 cocktails (plus the free starters, bubbly and limoncello digestifs) is excellent value. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    246
    70
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great place, well located.
Great customer experience; as soon as you get there, you are serve with a nice sparkling wine. Then, bread and dip are perfect as a starter and then, food is also very good. And the owner brings you a Limoncello at the end...great customer experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

If your looking for good food and wine at affordable prices you should go to this restaurant. The staff are attentive from start to finish. One of the best places in Vietnam

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good pizza and pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Exquisite place to go eat masses gives pansito aperitif with rich sauces. The pizza dough is rich with thin stone-and pasta very good also. At the end you get a digestif (vodka and lemon). Good attention, fast and rich.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent food, Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Five of us dined there this evening, and all agreed the meals were excellent, and the price was very good for the quality of the meals. There are several daily specials, in addition to the menu items, with lots of choices. We opted for lamb chops, chicken Ciao Bella, and Ciao Bella salad. Everything was well prepared and tasty. A pre-dinner glass of sparkling wine and a lemoncello after dinner drink were complimentary. The total bill was about USD$25 per person. We highly recommend Ciao Bella.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bella also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ciao Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Bella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.