We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in backpacker land” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IPeace Hotel

IPeace Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added IPeace Hotel to your Saves list
IPeace Hotel
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   175/8 Pham Ngu Lao St , Pham Ngu Lao Ward , Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 678 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A gem in backpacker land”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

A surprising find in the backpacker district in Pham Ngu Lao. We travelled as a family of 4 with two young kids and were given a decent sized suite on the 7th floor that easily accommodated the double and two single beds in our room. We stayed 5 nights in a bright, clean and modern suite. Not sure what time things settled down on the streets below but in the room you could not hear anything from the street. It was easy walking distance to the main attractions, Ben Thanh market, the war remnants museum, Opera house, etc. and surrounded by endless restaurants, bars and shops. No need to wander very far from home base. Staff were very friendly and price of the room included breakfast at the restaurant next door. There is free wifi but that tended to cut in and out. You can ask for a cable though if you need more reliable and longer term internet access. Only drawback of the trip was that our room rate was quoted in dollars but at check-out the rate was converted to Dong before charging on our credit card. The charge then converted back to dollars in our statement. With the double exchange we end up paying considerably more than the quoted rate. If you expect to pay for your stay by credit card, good to clarify with them what the charge will be in the end or have cash on hand to avoid all this.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a family, book one of the suites on the 7th floor. We had 702 which face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
6
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ipeace. $30usd a night for a clean, modern room, great wifi, TV, large bathroom and friendly service. No window in room but window in bathroom... It was fine!! Recommend to anyone! Plus, great location for bars, food and markets!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

When coming to HCMC I usually stay at Ipeace, due mainly to the fact that for the price you pay the rooms are decent, clean and everything works (TV, fridge, A/C etc). Its situation is good also, especially if you want to be in the 'Backpacker Area' but stay in a nicer, cleaner room.

Ben Thanh market, Le Loi Street and Dong Khoi street are all very close by (5-10min walk).
All the major tourist buses leave from De Tham which is two streets over from Ipeace Hotel.

The staff hotel have always been friendly and accommodating to me, and although there was some building work going on next door for quite some time it has now finished and its peaceful again.

I marked down for sleep quality due to the fact that on the small lane that Ipeace Hotel is located are two bars (one called Le Pub) and another opposite which are very busy and popular with local Vietnamese students and in great Vietnamese tradition this means they must have a "my sound system is louder than yours" competition......happily this does stop at a reasonable hour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I try to stay there every time when visit to Ho Chi Minh (I live near Ho Chi Minh). The hotel has good clean rooms. It locates in the heart of the back packer streets, but there is not nosy at all. The breakfast isn't included, but you can find it just at the door.
The stuff is friendly and helpful. They never have complained about my late evening (or early morning :)) recurrence.

Room Tip: If silence is need for you you should choose a room in back part of hotel (the windows to parallel s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here March 13. Staff friendly and helpful, rooms clean, lil small but good value. Good food next door for your free brekkie. After a few days ur treated like a regular. The best lane off Pham Nu Lao, cleanish for Vietnam and wide enough to not feel cramped. The only downfall was one night spent on L 1 which had that nasty Asian sewerage smell coming up bathroom drain but we relocated to higher level and problem solved. Book on line for the best rates. Great place!!

Room Tip: Not Level 1. the higher levels are better. for noise and smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We (2 adults) stayed in a suite room for a 3 night.
The reception area is too small and there is missing air-condition. We felt uncomfortable during check-in and check-out. The room was large and comfortable. There was misisng any shower gel and shampoo in bathroom. Bad water pressure in showers, Room costs USD 145 per 3 nights by Agoda but it could be little bit less. The breakfast was very simply and poor in a la carte menu style in neighboring restaurant. You can connect to internet by PC on reception. Free WIFI is available on rooms too.The walk to the Bui Vien streets about 3 minutes. There are many restaurants, bars and tourist agencies around. I recommend to visit agency on 37 Bui Vien.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We loved staying at Ipeace. The location was perfect being right in the backpackers area. Great staff, always smiling and willing to help no matter what the problem is. Even booking our train tickets for us and actually getting the tickets we asked for unlike the travel agencies. Even the security guard that sits out front will sacrifice life and limb to help lol. Would come back and stay anytime. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Ipeace and highly recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to IPeace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IPeace Hotel

Address: 175/8 Pham Ngu Lao St , Pham Ngu Lao Ward , Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 678 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — IPeace Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your IPeace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IPeace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.