We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolie Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Jolie Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
La Jolie Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 D Thi Sach, Ben Nghe Ward | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

From the time we got picked up from the airport from their own shuttle we knew we were in for a good stay. Small thing from the well dressed, polite driver in a new clean vehicle was he gave us a cold bottle of water, as it was hot and humid, we thought this gesture was great.

The location was perfect and it is right in the middle of the city and it was easy to walk
to most of the tourist destinations.

The hotel itself is a smaller boutique type but the staff were all very pleasant and only too willing to help and advise us whenever we needed help. The room we had was great and very clean.

Breakfast was plentiful and also very nice and ensured we got the day off to a great start.

I think when I booked the room the hotel is listed as being three star, but I will say it is way above three star.

Probably the only negative (albeit minor) is that the hotel did not really have its own bar. You could buy drinks via the restaurant but there was no actual bar.

We would highly recommend this to anyone.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolie Hotel S, Manager at La Jolie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for great comments
Dear Kiwican,
Thank you very much for your great comments.
We are so thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we have certainly shared it with all our associates to show them that their efforts are recognized by our guests.

Thank you once again for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel on your next visit to Vietnam.

Best wishes,
Ann
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    130
    46
    18
    10
See reviews for
25
127
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luang Prabang, Laos
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is the second hotel I stayed in Ho Chi Minh. The location is great, with many restaurants and bars around, and within a few minutes walk to some famous landmarks. Breakfast spread is impressive for the price. There is a large selection of hot dishes and Asian breakfast items. Service is also quite good. My friend was checking in 1 day after me and we were not able to talk before hand. I left a message with reception and they made sure we met as soon as my friend arrived. The SPA offers good discount but the environment is a bit funny. They only have couple treatment rooms so while you are requested to strip for some treatments, there may be a total stranger lying next to you(same gender). Overall I had a good stay and it was good value for money. I would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolie Hotel S, Manager at La Jolie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Patti,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We are glad to hear that your overall experience was positive about our breakfast at restaurants as well as our high level of service at the hotel.

Once again, thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcome you at our hotel in the nearest future.

Best wishes.
Ann
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I thought this hotel was great, especially for the price. The location is excellent, central to the main restaurants, other top hotels, and night clubs in Saigon. The rooms are very clean, and have all the basic amenities. It's not as opulent as staying in the Sheraton, or Hyatt, if it's that familiarity you are looking for... but very nice service, just as good location, and a fine room. Stay here, or pay twice as much $ for the other brand names above. I'd stay here again the next time I visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window facing the front, not the night club to the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolie Hotel S, Manager at La Jolie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for sharing your great comment with us.

We are so thrilled to hear that you had a such enjoyable stay at La Jolie Hotel & Spa

We are more than delighted to welcome you back to the warmth and hospitality of La Jolie hotel again soon.

Warm regards,
Ann
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takarazuka, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is our second trip to Ho Chi Min and we chose this hotel because of the good location and the reasonabale rate. The room itself was small but cosy and clean. We are both female and most of time we were out so we felt OK. But we think space is not enough and the room interior is not so good for men. There was a window but not for outside but is better than no window. You can enjoy a river view from the corridor in front of the room. The bath room was good with a bath tub and enough hot water. There were pairs of beach sandals in the room but we need to return them after using... means somebody else was used them... how can we use them! Breakfast was more than the cost, I think. We enjoyed many selections of western and vietnamese food including noodle. Fruit and yogurt was nice!

Room Tip: all superior rooms have a corridor view only. If you like a river view, you need to ask for better r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolie Hotel S, Manager at La Jolie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Cinama,
Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us.

If your travel brings you back to Ho Chi Minh City, we trust you will once again choose to stay at la Jolie Hotel and Spa that you can enjoy the breakfast at restaurant with comfort food favorites as well as authentic local dishes.

Sincerely,
Ms. Ann
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in, in HCMC. The rooms are nice (although the baroque style of furniture is not to my taste). The rooms are quiet even on the third floor as the windows have double glazing which is not common in 3 start hotels in HCMC. The staff are very well trained and attentive with excellent English. Location is excellent.

The only niggles I had was the shower fixing meant I had to use the hand shower (I am sure if I had complained they would have fixed it) and the breakfast could have been a bit better, the bread selection was poor and the toaster did not work very well. They had too many buffet choices, which meant they keep running out of food as they did not want any waste and it took too long to replenish. It would be better to have less choice with better quality and quantity.

It is good value for money and as a result this will now be my hotel of choice when I visit HCMC again in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolie Hotel S, Manager at La Jolie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Davies,
Thank you for taking your time to share your valuable comment.
We are glad to know that you are an enjoyable stay with us.
Whilst we continually strive for Operational Excellence, we are sorry to hear that you felt uncomfortable while having breakfast. Your comment about the service has been addressed to our restaurant manager and it will be improved through our ongoing quality training.

We look forward to welcoming you back to La jolie Hotel & Spa in the near future.
Best Regards,
Ms. Ann
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We learned about the disco noise from others' comments before we booked, so we decided to pay more for the suite room for staying upper floor hopping to avoid the noise. We had the room on 8F (top is 9th). However, disco noise still bother us very much. The music starts normally around 10pm but finishes at 3am!

People are mostly friendly except a small lady at the front desk! She was grumpy and insisted us returning at 2pm when we were there check-in at 12.30pm. She was there again when we check-out, she also tried to chick us to pay the bill in VND (bill was in US$) which was at nearly 10% more than the market exchange rate.

Otherwise, buffet breakfast was good, multi choices. Lady at the tour counter is particularly helpful, she was very patient and also willing to check other options which are not from their hotel partners.

Room Tip: Top floors (8 or 9F) to avoid much disco noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolie Hotel S, Manager at La Jolie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Pither,
Thank you for taking your time to post the comment on TripAdvisor,.

We really strive to achieve operational excellence but if we failed in our delivery, please accept our sincere apologies. We have noted your comments regarding the service during your stay. This feedback has been brought to our Director and we will conduct guest service trainings to our associates.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to La Jolie hotel & Spa in the nearest future.
Best Regards,
Ms. Ann
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Simple Hotel with Great Service. Hygiene was good and a wide Selection of food for Breakfast. Service at the front desk was great. Would surely return to stay in future. Walking distance to alot of great restaurants. Down side there is no swimming pool. Stayed on the 2nd Floor - was expecting it to be noisy at night due to the "Apocalypse Now Bar" beside the hotel but was surprised to find it acceptable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolie Hotel S, Manager at La Jolie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Simon,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your wonderful comments.
We are so thrilled to hear that you liked our hotel service as well as enjoyed of our food at la jolie hotel & Spa
Once again, thank you for your positive feedback and we hope you will choose us again if your travels bring you back to Ho Chi Minh City.

Best wishes,
Ms. Ann
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolie Hotel & Spa

Address: 4 D Thi Sach, Ben Nghe Ward | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#39 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolie Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Jolie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolie Hotel And Spa
La Jolie Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolie Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.