We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KOTO Saigon

KOTO Saigon
151A Hai Ba Trung Street (btw Nguyen Thi Minh Khai & Tran Cao Van) | District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 3934 9151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 1,368 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Café, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Description: KOTO Saigon is a new restaurant opened in October 2011 with Modern Vietnamese fusion menu. KOTO is a not-for-profit social enterprise, which works with disadvantaged youth in Vietnam and empowers them with to learn and strive in their lives.KOTO stands for “Know One, Teach One”: learning should be passed on; knowledge is there to be shared.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The dinner was organised by Intrepid which supports the KOTO organisation (they take in young people from poor areas and train them to work in restaurants and hospitality). I wasn't sure what to expect but I have to say the food and service was outstanding. I can't say whether it was good value as it was part of the intrepid tour inclusions but I suspect it was very reasonable for what we ate. I highly recommend this place....it has a nice ambience, excellent food and you'll be supporting a great cause.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    74
    34
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Koto has a great vibe. the space is inviting and cool. The bands that occasionally play there are good.
The food is creative and an interesting mix of influences, try the "tacos". The organization also does a great job of giving back to VN by training people who are woefully poor.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great...great...great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fine dining restaurant...service is the best that You found in town...Vietnamise contemporary food on a very reasonable price for the location...quality and service you will get!
Highly reccomended

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty food, nice staff, a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I tried the cheeseburger. Took a while to get, and a bit cold, but except from that it was really good. A little expensive though at 150,000 VND. Nice environment and staff.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delightful setting and superb presentation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

I little hard to find across the road from a Truong Nguyen Coffee place, but worth the hunt. The best presented food we have had in Vietnam, though not as tasty that one would expect for these prices. Super clean and hygienic and the best restaurant toilets we have come across. Worthy cause, recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOTO Saigon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to KOTO Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KOTO Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.