We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous experience from young people developing excellent skills to start them out on a positive career.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KOTO Saigon

KOTO Saigon
151A Hai Ba Trung Street (btw Nguyen Thi Minh Khai & Tran Cao Van) | District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 3934 9151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 1,380 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Café, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Description: KOTO Saigon is a new restaurant opened in October 2011 with Modern Vietnamese fusion menu. KOTO is a not-for-profit social enterprise, which works with disadvantaged youth in Vietnam and empowers them with to learn and strive in their lives.KOTO stands for “Know One, Teach One”: learning should be passed on; knowledge is there to be shared.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A fabulous experience from young people developing excellent skills to start them out on a positive career.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

A fabulous experience from young people developing excellent skills to start them out on a positive career.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    74
    34
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vale Da Telha
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delightful tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We sat inside in a clean air conditioned dining room.

Staff all being trained by Koto where lovely attentive and informative.

My husband had the starter plate which he said was lovely, I had the duck also tastes.

Our mains were not so good as other restaurants but in there defence, we could have chosen the wrong mains.

Glass of wine 90 dong which is good for Vietnam.

Hope this restaurant continues to train these lovely trainees who will be an asset to any business.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne - AUS
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Eating for a good cause”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The venue is excellent and the food was of good quality. The staff were also good, if not a bit tooooo attentive. It's off the street down an ally which might put a few off, but there is a security guard there and a member of staff in the ally so it is safe.
One thing I didn't like was a staff member advising patrons to rate it on TA. I think this is a bit poor form as it moves the intention of the staff to serve you because they want to learn and be good at what they do, do to just get points on TA.
Otherwise worth a night out. Dinner is slightly more expensive that most other eateries, but still pretty good value.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went to a hidden gem in Saigon today. We had a delicious lunch at Koto Saigon, with beautiful smiling service from some class 3 students in a gorgeous outdoor eating area. We had the lovely new Koto tasting plate and i would definitely recommend having it as a starter! A must see attraction when in Saigon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Visited this venue with a Wendy Wu Trip. Excellent and well recommended plus a community project for street children.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOTO Saigon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to KOTO Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KOTO Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.