We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful tranquility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KOTO Saigon

KOTO Saigon
151A Hai Ba Trung Street (btw Nguyen Thi Minh Khai & Tran Cao Van) | District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 3934 9151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 1,567 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Café, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: KOTO Saigon is a new restaurant opened in October 2011 with Modern Vietnamese fusion menu. KOTO is a not-for-profit social enterprise, which works with disadvantaged youth in Vietnam and empowers them with to learn and strive in their lives.KOTO stands for “Know One, Teach One”: learning should be passed on; knowledge is there to be shared.
Vale Da Telha
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Delightful tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We sat inside in a clean air conditioned dining room.

Staff all being trained by Koto where lovely attentive and informative.

My husband had the starter plate which he said was lovely, I had the duck also tastes.

Our mains were not so good as other restaurants but in there defence, we could have chosen the wrong mains.

Glass of wine 90 dong which is good for Vietnam.

Hope this restaurant continues to train these lovely trainees who will be an asset to any business.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    41
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne - AUS
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Eating for a good cause”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The venue is excellent and the food was of good quality. The staff were also good, if not a bit tooooo attentive. It's off the street down an ally which might put a few off, but there is a security guard there and a member of staff in the ally so it is safe.
One thing I didn't like was a staff member advising patrons to rate it on TA. I think this is a bit poor form as it moves the intention of the staff to serve you because they want to learn and be good at what they do, do to just get points on TA.
Otherwise worth a night out. Dinner is slightly more expensive that most other eateries, but still pretty good value.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went to a hidden gem in Saigon today. We had a delicious lunch at Koto Saigon, with beautiful smiling service from some class 3 students in a gorgeous outdoor eating area. We had the lovely new Koto tasting plate and i would definitely recommend having it as a starter! A must see attraction when in Saigon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Visited this venue with a Wendy Wu Trip. Excellent and well recommended plus a community project for street children.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Great food for a worthy cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A colleague and I ate here at lunchtime on a Sunday while on a business trip to Vietnam.

Arriving at about 2pm, we were the only guests in the restaurant, and were outnumbered by waiting and kitchen staff by about 10 to 1!!
We took a seat in the courtyard next to the fish pool, full of bright orange fish darting around, and beneath a wall tiled with what I imagine are the names of financial contributors to this restaurant which takes street kids and teaches them not only about the hospitality industry, but more widely on life skills.

The food was impressive - we had a KOTO tasting plate for starters, and then I had a duck dish with ginger and orange served with noodles. Very tasty.
The wait staff were attentive and obviously very proud to show their english language skills.

I had read other reviews that says this is hard to find, but if you walk up Hai Bà Trưng, once you cross Trần Cao Vân then the KOTO sign is clearly visible from the pavement, you just then need to duck down the alley and round the corner!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOTO Saigon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to KOTO Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KOTO Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.