We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cap Town Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cap Town Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cap Town Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   28-30 Le Anh Xuan Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #43 of 618 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Clean and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Check in is smooth, staff are helpful and able to communicate in English fairly well which is nice. Willing to change dollars or give smaller bills easily. Dining room has a nice breakfast spread offering fresh fruits, cereals. warm pre cooked selections and Asian specialties. Lobby is somewhat small and not much there besides seating.Great location 2 blocks from Bến Thành Market. Moto or taxi drivers available on the street. Have small bills ready, discuss price and confirm price prior to getting in car or on Moto. Prices change constantly. The room was spacious and had an influence of maybe french provincial styled furniture. Oddly a large white and gold rearing stallion as decor. The bathrooms are modern and spacious,however lighting could be brighter over the mirror.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    54
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
40
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the family room over New Years. It was in a great location and we could walk to almost anywhere from here. It's really close to the Ben Thanh Market. The staff was wonderful and accomodating, even holding our luggage for us when we to the Mekong Delta for one night. They were very kind to our 3 year old too. The room was great, as was the shower in the bathroom. We really enjoyed the breakfast every morning and the variety. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The family rooms are spacious and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

When it comes to value for money you can't go past the Cap Town. It's an excellent boutique type hotel in the centre of Ho Chi Minh with great rooms run by very attentive staff. The hotel is located on a quiet street, and sleep wasn't a problem. I'm trying hard to think of a negative, but I must say it's not easy. If anything there wasn't much on TV and the views aren't that great, but who cares because if you're on holidays why stay in the room! We hope to return to Ho Chi Minh City, and will book Cap Town again without hesitation. Great breakfast too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very clean - Good bathroom - Very nice breakfast - Good location - Friendly staff!
We don't have anything bad to say about the hotel. It was ideal as a first-stop in Vietnam, and we could easily use it again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington, nz
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for three nights when we first arrived in vietnam. breakfast wasn't excellent but was still good enough nice fresh fruit and hot coffee. very handy central city location. helped us book a private driver to get to Da lat when we were in a jam. would stay again if ever in hcmc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Nice hotel.Nice location.NOT a friendly reception desk.Good breakfast spread but if items are over then there is no refill making it very difficult for vegetarians who in any case have limited choice.

Room Tip: Family room is very good sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Cap Town Hotel on two separate occasions during our 3-week vacation in Vietnam. The first occasion was only for one night in late December. I did not like the room we got at that time, as it was small and cramped. The second stay was two weeks later and for 4 nights. We got a larger and more comfortable room (Deluxe room) that time, and I liked it better. Below are my observations from the second stay:

Positive

• Good location. Close to Ben Thanh Market and main areas, but on a small, quieter street (2-way traffic for this street is a plus)
• Room was new, clean, and good size
• Bathroom is large with nice tile floor, tile walls, brand name (Toto) sink, toilet, tub/shower. However, tub/shower had no curtain. Water splashed everywhere when we showered
• Nice, attractive hard wood floor
• Very responsive and accommodating security and front door personnel
• Good, friendly service from breakfast staff

Negative

• Bed was double/queen and not king size like we thought we had booked
• Dining area is small with only a few tables
• Breakfast was good, but offered essentially the same foods everyday
• Only one public computer in lobby area
• Late check out only 1 hour later than standard checkout – had to pay $35 for one room to have 4PM checkout
• Front desk girls wanted to hold our passports even though I had prepaid our room for all nights
• Only gave each of our rooms 1 door key per room, even though one room had 4 adults. Would not give us a second room key even after we have asked

Before checking out of our first stay to go to Nha Trang, I asked the front desk for price and availability for a second stay two weeks later. They quoted a price which I thought was high, and they couldn’t even guarantee it for us. Frustrated, I jumped on Agoda to book online and found that it offered lower a lower price for the same room type and same days. So I promptly booked using Agoda instead of with the front desk itself. Ironically, I used the hotel public computer to bypass them and did the booking on Agoda.

With so many other hotels in Ben Thanh Market area to choose from, I am hard pressed to want to return to Cap Town Hotel the next time I am in Saigon, given its shortcomings.

Room Tip: Book online (Expedia, Agoda, etc.) which would guarantee exact room type you want and at lower price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cap Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Town Hotel

Address: 28-30 Le Anh Xuan Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 618 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cap Town Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your days in wonderful Saigon - Ho Chi Minh city, Vietnam and feel like being at home whether you are on vacation or business trip at the 3 star Cap Town Saigon Hotel. Our 40-room boutique hotel near Ben Thanh market provides charming, cozy and warm atmosphere. Most of rooms have city view and soundproofing glass so guest can watch the street comfortably and escape from the noise outside after a long day trip. This boutique hotel in Saigon would be a perfect choice for travelers, businessmen and even most demanding guest. You are promised a complete satisfaction by our very professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cap Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap Town Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.