We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really liked hotel - great value for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Europe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Saigon Europe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saigon Europe Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   207 De Tham Str | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 360 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I really liked hotel - great value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was good stay, hotel was very clean and service was very good. I was able to take shower before catching flight which was important as it was 42 degrees outside :) rooms were quite small and didn't have window but location is very godo so you use hotel only to catch on sleeping!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    104
    31
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
98
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for four nights and in the beginning we were a little wary about the place given that we were staying in a cheap, busy and possibly dodgy area that we knew nothing about. Fortunately, the hotel was clean, comfortable and exceeded the low expectations we initially had. The rooms were of a good size, with clean sheets and fresh towels everyday, a flatscreen tv, good airconditioning, the bathroom was clean and included essential toiletries, the whole staff was very friendly and ready to help with anything.

One letdown would be the breakfast which was very blah and boring. Orange juice was sugary, coffee was too bitter, very few breakfast options and they were pretty ordinary as well. So we didn't bother with breakfast at the hotel for the following mornings since cheap cozy cafés, bakeries and a great variety of local fare were everywhere in the area. Find a great Vietnamese breakfast elsewhere, it will be fantastic.

You can either love or hate the location. Yes, it is a happening place packed with hotels, restaurants, bars, cafés, food kiosks, and foreigners. Our hotel was facing the busy street lined with bars and live bands were playing so yes, it was really noisy at night, every night. Quite literally the party is at your doorstep. This was alright with me since I can easily fall asleep and I am equally able to enjoy the night life outside. The action usually dies down by 2 am.

Everything you need from convenience stores, bikes for rent, travel agencies, souvenirs and taxis are a wave of the hand away. From the hotel you can walk to other attractions (but it's hot), taking a taxi from here to most places of interest should be about $1 to $3 max, and there will never be a shortage of motorbikes to hop on (do it like the locals).

All in all, I like this hotel -- it's cheap, clean, good, with a sweet staff, located at the raging heart of Ho Chi Minh.

Room Tip: For a more quiet stay while staying in the Pham Ngu Lao district, choose a room whose window doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here one night after we arrived by bus and spontaneously searched for a good hotel.
The staff speaks very good english and was very kind and helpful. We were able to book a bus through the hotel for the next morning and were even escorted to the bus station.
The superior room was a bit expensive (42$) but pretty big. The room was clean, except of the shower, which had some mold. It was a bit loud since we had a room facing the busy street.
Breakfast was good. One can order from the menu and there is an additional buffet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a great hotel in district 1 around the backpacker area. We stayed here for 3nights in February and returned again a week later to stay again when flying out of Ho Chi Minh. The rooms are small but adequate. The beds are comfortable, there is an in-room computer, which is extremely handy. The rooms are clean, have fridges and in room safes. The breakfast is good but kind of slow to come out (a tip for anyone going on a day trip, leave plenty of time to get your breakfast).

The staff were very friendly and helpful, organizing trips, booking taxis and giving information on booking trains and buses. We also booked transportation from the airport with them which was $20 US and on the way back to airport we were charged $10 US. We think this was because we arrived during TET (the Vietnamese new year) and the prices of everything in the city doubled in price.

In short great hotel for the price and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel was recommended by their sister hotel in Hanoi and I was able to easily get a room during the Tet holiday 2 days prior to my stay and I'm glad I did. The location was in the backpacker district and easy location to rest of Saigon. The bellboy is excellent-we requested a scooter to rent and one was there in less than 5 minutes. His English was good and he provided directions, recommendations, tips on how much to pay for things, etc. The travel agent made airfare arrangements to Cambodia for me free of charge when I was having difficulty doing it myself. The hotel didn't even make me pay for them until I checked out 2 days later! Tours were reasonable and easily booked through the hotel agent. I took an excellent Vietnamese cooking class booked through the hotel which I would definitely recommend-it even provided transportation to the class on cyclos! The more people that book a tour, the cheaper it is-our cooking class was less than half the advertised price when 4 of us booked! Rooms are clean and comfortable with large bathrooms. Wifi is free. The only reason for 4 stars and not 5 is the included breakfast-while adequate, it was not exceptional. No fresh juice (orange juice tasted like Tang, which I had not had since a child), but standard American fare was available (eggs, pancakes) and a menu was available with many choices. I tried the Vietnamese fare, which was some gelatinous little ball with a red center with a fish sauce which I found to be extremely distasteful. I would definitely stay here again. They also arranged airport transportation for us cheaply.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is situated in the middle of the Backpacking area, which indicates lots of bars and entertainment around. Nevertheless a very quiet hotel with all necessary and very clean amenities and friendly staff.
A good choice to discover Saigon and its nice surroundings.

Room Tip: Please be aware, that most of the rooms do not have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was a great room and location, the only drawback was that it was very noisy at night with local bars playing music until late. Not a major deal for us, but if you want somewhere quiet where you can get a good night's sleep I would choose elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saigon Europe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Europe Hotel

Address: 207 De Tham Str | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 360 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saigon Europe Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saigon Europe Hotel is located in the famous tourist area of Pham Ngu Lao backpackers area. We are about 20 minutes from Tan San Nhat international airport, 10 minutes from Saigon train station and 5 minutes from the famous Ben Thanh Markets. It’s walking distance to the Ben Thanh Market as well as a number of great restaurants, bars and numerous shops and shopping centers as well as good public transportation and tour operators.Saigon Europe Hostel has 26 spacious rooms that are elegantly designed with modern facilities and elevator which provide for a comfortable stay. Stay at your home in Saigon with European standard during your holiday to Hochiminh city – Vietnam. We await your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Saigon Europe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon Europe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.