We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For younger people/backpackers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pham Ngu Lao Street

Pham Ngu Lao Street
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“For younger people/backpackers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

classic asia here, one street of $20 accoms and cafes and travel agents, we went here for shopping but found the markets much more enjoyable

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    278
    148
    33
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Full on flat out, not for the faint hearted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I love staying here and revisit every trip to Vietnam. Staying just off the Main Street is the best as you miss the direct traffic and noise. You name it, it's there on the street or around the corner. Food everywhere, drinking bars and entertainment all over. Really gets going after 9 or 10 and doesn't stop till sun up or beyond as I have experienced. It's a great spot to bar crawl and people watch. Expect to be hassled by street hawkers all night but that's the way it is. If you don't have a good night out in this place, check you pulse, your prob dead!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“interesting street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

If you are in Ho Chi Minh City this street is a must see. I would not stay for a long time here, but I think it is interesting how busy it is full of galleries, spas, souvenir shops, bars, eateries, etc. My husband and I just walked around and had a beer in one of the pubs and we enjoyed it, but I wouldn't stay here for more than a few hours here.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We walked the length of Pham Ngu Lao street while in town for the weekend. It's a great place to people watch and take in the sights and sounds of Saigon. We even stopped to chat to a group of locals who wanted to practice their English with native speakers. They were fun and inquisitive.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Non stop action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great walking street, if you can avoid vehicles of all kind, including huge buses trying to make their way through the narrow street. Lots of restaurants, spas, bars, souvenir stores. People line up along the street at night on little benches, till 3 a.m., to watch the world go by.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pham Ngu Lao Street also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Pham Ngu Lao Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pham Ngu Lao Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.