We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS FOOD & MORE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back of the Bike Tours

Back of the Bike Tours
3189 Pham The Hien Street, Ward.7, District 8, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
+84 93 504 69 10
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Motorbikes and Vietnamese Street Food, what more can you ask for? Here at Back Of The Bike we have been, tasting, researching, and recording all of the best street food in Ho Chi Minh City. We offer you the chance to experience Saigon comfortably and safely on the back of our bikes. Our local, knowledgable and English speaking guides offer you the chance to indulge yourself in our favorite spots for a truly cultural immersive experience.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FABULOUS FOOD & MORE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Am a long time street food fan....also am new to living in HCM and the guest bedroom is already pretty heavily booked!!! Knowing that the majority of my friends are just a little on the 'right side of crazy'....an afternoon on the back of a motorbike checking out street food sounded like it would be a winner.....and it was!!! A colleague recommended Back of the Bike Tours because they were not only knowledgeable about good street food but personable....we found them to be both this and more. What a great way to see HCM and learn about Vietnamese culture and food. Thank you to Chad and his team for an afternoon of feeling like we were part of everyday Vietnam life. You are number one on my guest "To Do" list!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    25
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonder street-food tour on the back of a scooter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I found Back of the Bike tour on Tripadvisor and was delighted with our experience.

My son Andrew and I went on a night tour with the wonderful owner-couple Thuy and Chad who took us personally on the back of their scooters for a evening of great local good, experiences and fascinating stories. A great way to get a perspective of lives in Vietnam from an aspiring couple - Thuy, a well educated Vietnamese lady and Chad, an American who adventurously packed his bags and decided to make his mark in Vietnam - I admire their conviction and perseverance, and our conversations were great compliment to the food.

Talking about food, we must have gorged our way through 6 or 7 food meals across the city some interesting, some fantastic, all supposedly famous food haunts. My fave is the Vietnamese baguette, freshly baked and toasted french loaves with pate, sliced meats, and a ton of wonderful things that elevated a simple sandwich into a heavenly delight. I still dream of it.

We squatted by the roadside a couple of times, mingling with the locals; we parked along the road for a herbal drink; weaved though incredibly chaotic traffic that you wonder why not more accidents have happened. Chad's theory is that look ahead 6 feet, just scoot on and dont look anywhere else. Seems to work!

Travelling on the back of a bike , with the night breeze, the noise and the sights offer an entirely different persecutive of local night life, and the scene changes as you work your way through different districts.

You can eat and drink all you want, and while the experience doesn't come cheap, it's worth every dollar and I will do it again. on my next trip. I highly recommend this experience, especially if you are lucky enough to get Thuy and Chad to host you personally.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Back of The Bike Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

A tour centered on street food. What a great way to spend an afternoon in Ho Chi Minh City. A massive highlight of our 10 day tour in Vietnam. Spend the afternoon on the back of a motorbike weaving through the slightly insane Saigon traffic to give you a wonderful perspective not only of the city but how the traffic flows. The street food with at least 5 stops over a wide area of the city was fantastic and helped give us a great understanding of Vietnamese cuisine and how it should be eaten. Chad, Thuy and their able assistants on the day were knowledgeable and friendly and we felt like we were sharing a meal with friends. This is definitely worth putting on your list of things to do - any fear of riding the bikes was quickly dispelled and the view of the city (as well as the food) is to die for.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“simply the best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Back of bike tours was absoultly amazing!!! A view of HCMC from the back of a bike seems to be the very best way to see the city. We took the night tour and were greeted by Chad at our hotel and given a menu for the evening. A quick run down and we were on our way to meet the Thuy and the others on the tour. The food was excellent and was explained thoroughly so you not only get to experience new flavors you get an understanding of the ingredients and preparation. Back of bike tours makes the otherwise rather intimidating HCMC seem accessible.... Great first night in Saigon! Highly recommended!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great people + great food = great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We took the tour tonight and it was the best thing we did in HCMC. We all enjoyed the tour (8 year old included) especially riding on the back of the bikes. The tour demystifies and makes street food accessible while provinding a perspective of Saigon unlike any other. We cannot recommend this tour highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back of the Bike Tours also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Back of the Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back of the Bike Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.