We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, well priced Indian food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baba's Kitchen

Baba's Kitchen
164 Bui Vien | Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
0838386661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,575 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Saigon's favorite Indian restaurant!
Mackay, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing, well priced Indian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Just left Baba's after a fantastic dinner. We were tired and hungry after a big day and the prompt service and delicious food was exactly what we needed. Lovely, flavoursome and well priced food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    229
    51
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Go to Baba's you won't regret it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We enjoyed this restaurant so much on our first night in HCMC that we went back for lunch the day we left. Both times the food was delicious! They have 4 different chefs from different regions of India that specialize in each type of food available (Eg. Tandoori, South Indian). The grilled meats from the tandoor and bhindi masala were to die for. The South Indian lunch thali was delicious and a great value! If in HCMC again in the future, I would definitely visit Baba's, heck I might come back to HCMC to go to Baba's!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great alternative to Vietnamese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Went here after a long day and it was extremely close! What a pleasure, could not ask for better service! The owner made us feel at home and gave excellent recommendations!!! The samosa was Amazing!! Great meal, not the best Indian i've ever had but was pretty good!

Well deserved of this rank on trip advisor!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasty and quickly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Really good garlic naan and delicious butter chicken and the food came surprisingly fast. Review written right behind the table gave us 5% discount)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

My family and I accidentally stumbled upon Baba's Kitchen while on holiday in Saigon.

The relaxed atmosphere, service, food and overall experience was a of a great standard.

Would highly recommend this establishment, especially for the Mutton Masala!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baba's Kitchen also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Baba's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baba's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.