We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baba's Kitchen

Baba's Kitchen
164 Bui Vien | Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
0838386661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,429 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Saigon's favorite Indian restaurant!
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The menu was extensive and everything we had was delicious! It has two floors which was nice and cool inside, and some not too expensive white wine which was a nice change for Vietnam. If you fancy a break from Vietnamese food but dont want pizza, its a great choice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    454
    161
    35
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent menu - very authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Amazing menu choices - unusual to see outside of India. Having just spent four weeks in India, the food was as good as the best I had there. And they took my request to make it spicy seriously too. Good prices

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Can't get better Indian food than this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

When you see Indian cooks in the kitchen, and the indian manager coming up to serve guests personally, you know you've found a gem and an authenthic restaurant for sure. This is exactly the type of place and service people will enjoy, a small cosy establishment but very warm service. English menu all around, and the restaurant is frequented by tourists, mostly westerners this goes to show that word does get around how good Baba's is. Went to check it out based on the TripAdvisor raves and was surely not disappointed. Dishes were fiery and spicy as you would like it, flavours definitely authenthic, the only thing I wished they offered was basmati rice (can't imagine an indian restaurant not serving basmati, but jasmine rice instead) but that was just the only minor disappointment. Otherwise everything else was perfect, staff even checked to see if I had transportation going home and offered to call a taxi. This place is well worth several visits and recommendations.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would give 6 circles for flavour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Who would have thought my favourite meal in vietnam would be Indian. The service is fabulous from the start but let me tell you your going to need a while to decipher the menu. Can't go wrong with a chicken curry and the lassis are great ! If your in the area it's totally worth it

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Indian Downtown HCMC!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It may seem strange to want Indian food in one of the largest Vietnamese centres, but we were dying for something a little different after three weeks. It is in the backpackers district and there is lots of people watching to be had! We arrived and the waiters and managers were very gracious. We've had Indian all over the world so knew what we wanted. We ordered muttar paneer, chicken tikka masala, prawn vindaloo, garlic naan, paneer pakora and some other deliciousness I can't remember. Everything was amazing!!! Actually beyond amazing because the service was so great. There is an upstairs as well, but we liked people watching from the doorway. I think the manager could see we were struggling a little with the heat, so he sent over some complimentary yogurt sauce and rice pudding. They also proceeded to refill our water every time we drank from it. Also worth mentioning is that for ONCE the bathrooms were actually clean, which seems to be a rarity at many restaurants. At the end we even got Happy New Year's cards which was a nice touch. Overall, if you're looking for amazing Indian don't question it---COME TO BABA'S!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baba's Kitchen also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Baba's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baba's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.