We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice design.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko Saigon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nikko Saigon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Saigon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Nguyen Van Cu, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Deals up to 35% off
Ranked #3 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice design.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Design hotel with very professional staff. Finishings are lacking precision, which didn't hinder us from enjoying the room, but may pose a problem as time goes by.
Location is a bit far off; hotel provides a free shuttle during the day but unfortunately not in the evening.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

It has been a real pleasure to have you with us, there is nothing more important than knowing you have a wonderful stay with us.

It is so nice to read that you had good impression about your stay from the hotel design to the staff, the room. Our hotel provides complimentary shuttle service with 6 trips daily for our guests transport convenience. We will discuss with our Management team about your suggestion on providing this service in the evening.

We hope to see you again at Hotel Nikko Saigon.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    260
    34
    12
    7
See reviews for
213
494
58
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Nikko Saigon in January 2014 for 4 days during our recent trip to Vietnam. What I can say about this hotel are.... 1) their hotel room was very spacious and clean with fantastic bath tub and shower..... 2) the staff is so efficient and their customer care is wonderful.... 3) their breakfast is awesome... you can enjoy them ... 4) they have the daily tour cars that take us to various spots. You need to book. It was free. ... 5) there are some banks nearby. When I had some trouble with my stomach, they were trying to help me a lot. Thanks to the hotel!
ホテルニッコーサイゴンには今年1月上旬4日間過ごしました.このホテルで気に入ったことは 1)ホテルの部屋は広く、清潔で、大きなバスタブ、そしてシャワーを楽しむ事ができました。 2)スタッフはとてもきびきびし彼らのゲストに対する心遣いは大変良かったです。3)ホテルの朝食はたくさんの種類を楽しめるビュッフェスタイルです。どの国の方々も楽しめると思います。4)毎日観光スポットに行けるよう車が用意されています。予約が必要です。ただでした。5)銀行もそばにありました。そして最後に・・・滞在中ひどい胃痛が起きたのですが彼らはとても親身になり助けて頂きました。ありがとうございました!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Club floor are nicer and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Value for money for 5 Star hotel. Rooms spacious, clean and well appointed. Further our of centre than most hotels but that does have advantage of being not quite so chaotic.

Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf right outside hotel, also selection of restaurants nearby. Shopping Centre closeby for clothing, cosmetics, etc. Local supermarket 5 minute walk away.

Only downside is smoking allowed in public areas particularly in lobby bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

We are really grateful for your visit and for your nice comments and review.

We are glad to see your nice comment about our hotel location which gave you a relaxing stay and other convenient benefits nearby. Please be informed that we do have appointed smoking areas in our hotel as per international standard of a 5 star hotel. However, we make sure it won’t effect our other non smoking guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed at this hotel of three nights during a recent trip to Vietnam. Whilst not directly in the middle of the city, taxis are so cheap that the five minute ride does not matter.

What i liked most of all all about the hotel were the stylish rooms and the efficient staff. I complimented them a number of times during my stay on their efficiencies and courtesies.

The room was really extremely comfortable and go for one near the top for magnificent views over the city.

There were two disappointments. One was the fact that other than for check in, i had to pay to access the internet. IN a hotel of this class that is not appropriate for guests.

The other disappointment was that on sunday afternoon I met up in the lobby cafe with friends for coffee. They both happened to be very good musicians, one a pianist and the other a singer. They are not professional musicians but could be. There was almost noone in the lounge at 4.00 pm . My friend David started playing the piano very gently and a very worried member of staff came over and said that it was not company policy for guests to play the piano. So David stopped whilst the few other guests in the lounge clapped !

I went over to reception desk and and asked to speak to the duty manager and explained the situation and I asked if father and son could do a joint act of a wonderful french song. He looked incredibly worried and said he would have to speak to his senior manager due to company policy. After a long delay he came over and said that the piano could be played once and that there was to be no singing whatsoever. We ignored the instruction and David and his son Tony gave a world class performance. Everyone that was in lounge stood including the waitresses stood up and applauded at the conclusion. The nineteen year old Vietnamese singer will be a star one day and he was stopped before he started. The duty manager made it clear that was it and signalled to his staff that the piano was to be closed. Pathetic. Inflexibility. Everyone coming into that hotel that afternoon would have remembered the occasion of a brilliant father and son duo. Playing and singing brilliantly. But it in breach of THE RULES so could not continue.

Maybe that is why the Japanese are so good at many things. But on this occasion they let themselves and their guests down.

The hotel is reasonably priced. Would I stay again after that exerience - i doubt it

Go to Ben Tang night market for good fresh grilled fish

Room Tip: Go for a high floor. My photo which I could not resist sums up the Japanese approach to good music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

We are thankful that you have selected us as your place to stay during your recent journey to Saigon. Our team is proud that we are able to differentiate our hotel with the stylish design and efficient staff.

We always strive to exceed each and everyone’s expectations and endeavor to ensure each valued guest has a memorable experience. However, we truly sorry for the experience that you encountered regarding your friend’s performance. As we take your honest comments very seriously, we have discussed the issue with all concerned departments. Since we already signed the contract with our supplier and in order to provide consistency in service, we regret that we do not allow guest’ performance at the hotel lobby. We hope we can receive your compassion.

When you decide to stay with us in the future, please let us know so we can enhance your experience for you and your family.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I recommend highly this 5 star hotel! Customer service was perfect, hotel staff are welcoming and really helpful. And what to say about a swimming pool, it's a must in Saigon. The only downside is that it's not located in the city center, about 15 minutes in taxi. My friend and I really enjoyed our stay :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

We have really enjoyed having you with us and really appreciate your very generous comments.
Our team were pleased to know your compliments about their company of service. We are glad that you like our outdoor swimming pool. Likewise, would like to recommend you to use our complimentary shuttle service for your transport convenience.

We are looking forward seeing you again soon at Hotel Nikko Saigon.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

For a reasonable price the nikko is a stylish, in decent colours decorated, luxurious hotel - the staff is friendly, the breakfast buffet gigantic.
What is not to like: small gym, smell of breakfast in the lobby. But to explore Saigon it is very well located.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review about Hotel Nikko Saigon highlighting our competitive pricing, stylish design, friendly staff, gigantic breakfast buffet and good location. Likewise, we are thankful for mentioning your findings about our gym for future considerations. Management also took seriously and corrective measures are in process about the smell of breakfast at the lobby area.

We do hope that you will be able to stay at Hotel Nikko Saigon again in the near future.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Nikko Saigon for a week from January 1st till 8th this year and absolutely loved it! The hotel is beautiful and an absolute "Zen Oasis" to return to after sightseeing in Saigon and surrounding areas every day. Staff and service are exceptional, not to mention the breakfast which was absolutely divine, with Japanese, Vietnamese and Western cuisine on offer to cater for all tastes.Many Japanese guests were staying over the New Year period, and even they were taking photos of the Japanese food on offer at breakfast as it was so good! We had booked a Deluxe King Room but when we walked in I felt sure that we had been upgraded to a higher category as the room was so spacious and bathroom so gorgeous. I think it was however just the standard room! We chose the hotel because we have always found Japanese Hotels and service are fantastic and even still it exceeded our expectations. The Concierge organised trip information and a tour bookings for us via email before we arrived which was extremely helpful and enabled us to start our sightseeing on day 1 when we arrived. The seafood buffet dinner (including wine/beer/sparkling wine etc) was fabulous...and great value for money we thought for such wonderful choice including a huge range of cuisines. The pool was a great size and such a nice place to retreat to on sunset time...The shuttle bus (and fantastic Driver-always on time, courteous and helpful) was excellent, enabling the visitor the best of staying a little out of town, but without the inconvenience. The porters were also fantastic and "on the ball" as they intervened on one occasion when we returned to the Hotel by taxi after doing the local Cooking School Course and they could see that the taxi driver had overcharged us. They got into the car, helped me with the money and noted the number plate of the car (I had no idea that what he had asked for too much!) All staff were friendly, helpful and professional..and obviously loved working there as much as we were enjoying our stay there. The Nikko Shop was terrific too...with friendly service, cheap beer and a few interesting goodies on sale like Vietnamese/Japanese cup noodles! This shop adjoins a small department store and coffee shop-to complete a wonderful picture! Could not recommend the Nikko more highly!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is very nice it is to read about your recent stay with Hotel Nikko Saigon!

We are glad that your experience was very positive from the peaceful surrounding, quality service, delicious breakfast, dinner buffet, pool and shuttle service. We always strive hard to provide the very best for our guests. We are very happy that you were satisfied with our Deluxe room. However, we would suggest you to try our Club room for a more enjoyable experience next time. We have passed your compliments to our staff particularly concierge team.

Hopefully you will choose Hotel Nikko Saigon again on your next visit to Ho Chi Minh City.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nikko Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Saigon

Address: 235 Nguyen Van Cu, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nikko Saigon 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nikko Saigon is a 5 star luxury hotel with 388 rooms, suites and apartments. The guestrooms are spaciously appointed and specifically designed to enable guests to both concentrated work and undisturbed relaxation in the comfort of their own room - an oasis of calm in this busy city. Spa with treatment rooms. Outdoor swimming pool, modern gymnasium, Japanese restaurant, Chinese restaurant, Lobby lounge, International Buffet restaurant with all day dining and 24 hours room service. Nikko Club Lounge is located on 23rd floor, the highest level lounge where you can enjoy the spectacular view of the city. Complimentary shuttle service to and from Ho Chi Minh City center is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Nikko Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.