We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nikko Saigon to your Saves list
Hotel Nikko Saigon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Nguyen Van Cu, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Deals up to 35% off
Ranked #4 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is exquisite. It is elaborate with modern facilities and large rooms. The buffet breakfast is fantastic and expansive. It is a little out of the way but the hotel provides a free shuttle to the local markets, Opera House and the Reunification Palace (close to the war museum). The hotel staff are knowledgeable and professional. They are also very helpful with booking a tour. The hotel does not disapoint.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to leave encouraging comments on our services at Hotel Nikko Saigon. We are committed to providing you with the best products and we would do so ceaselessly in order to meet your expectations in every aspect.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    294
    42
    14
    9
See reviews for
230
556
68
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This brand-new hotel in HCMC is really among the best hotels I have seen, not only in Vietnam but also elsewhere.
The service is friendly and competent, the rooms are confortable and clean, and the quality of the construction is outstanding.
If I could, I would give the hotel a rating of 4 1/2 T-A stars. I don't want to give it 5 stars though, because the location, while still good and central in the huge HCMC context, is nonetheless stlightly off the center of gravity of the city, which would be around the Notre Dame / Opera area.
Having said this, the hotel offers a great, complimentary shuttle service, a taxi ride to the town's center is very cheap, and the room's rate is well below what a similar quality hotel would charge in HCMC's best location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We feel honored to be your chosen destination. We would stay committed in providing guest satisfaction to meet your level of service expectations. Thank you once more for your patronage which is a vital part of our development and we do look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currently Oregon
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you've stayed in top quality Asian hotels and like them, this is for you! New, modern, luxurious with every amenity you would expect. But don't be demanding as the service level while excellent doesn't have the depth you'd expect in a city with a long tradition of luxury hotels. Great rooms, excellent restaurants. Very nice Executive Lounge. Not right downtown but so what. Taxis are plentiful and cheap! Oh, and those Japanese toilets are, uh, interesting. And I DO have a weakness for miso at a breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: The usual. Request upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your insightful remarks on our facilities and services. We are encouraged to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. The contents of your feedback have been conveyed to our staffs for their further improvement with commitment to be able to strive further for excellence. Once again, thank you for selecting Hotel Nikko Saigon and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We really loved staying at the Hotel Nikko in Saigon, and would definitely come back and stay here again. We were a little concerned by some of the comments we found on this sure about the location, but honestly, it is a great location! It is next to a mall which you can access through the building. We ate dinner at the food court in the mall as the meals were really cheap and good! The taxi's are so so so cheap and they are waiting at the hotel. When you are out and about in the city, there are heaps of tax's and they all knew this hotel. Checking into the hotel was a but hectic, it was crazy busy, and heaps of Japanese tourists. Having said that, it was a Friday afternoon. Our room was not ready when we checked it but they kindly pointed us over to the lounge. I expected that they may pay for our coffee's for us having to wait, but we still had to pay. It only took 15 mins until it was ready, so was fine. Unfortunately our cards didn't work to open doors when we got to the room, but the man who bought up our bags let us in and arranged new cards. The room is very big and quite interesting, we liked it! The bathroom is very well designed. We really loved the buffet breakfast, probably the best breakfast on our trip to Vietnam. The chef's who cooked eggs were so lovely. Overall, there was so much food to choose from! We also had room service a couple of times and was impressed with the generous servings. This place is very good value for money and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Saigon! Definitely meets it's 5 star rating!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to express our heartiest thanks to you for your words of appreciation on our services and it has also been our joy accommodating you during your visit to Ho Chi Minh City. Simultaneously, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you at the Reception area, which we have promptly rectified after a strong message had been forwarded to the concerned departments. Once again, our thankfulness to you for mentioning the issue and please be reassured that we continuously fine tune our procedures to ensure service quality is rendered at all times.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I created an account just to share my experience with checking in at this hotel. Our flight arrive at 9 in ho chi minh and we head straight to the hotel hoping to be able to check in early. To our disappointment we had to check in at 2 and we respect that. we spend our time loitering around till 1:30 and we still can't check in. Never had I experience in another other hotels where they are so strict about the check in time. The attitude the lady at the counter was robotic, cold and extremely frustrating.

1:45 i check with the lady and she still said due to high occupancy she was unable to give us the room until 2.

2:00 i check again and she seem to have totally forgotten about us. she proceed to turn around to pick up our check in paper which was sitting behind since 1:30. I know cause I was standing there the whole time watching. she simply refuse to give us the room until 2.

There wasn't alot of people checking in and out, how high can the occupancy be? What pisses me off the most was her attitude. All along I was friendly to her and I have not done anything to deserve that kind of attitude from her.

On the side which is not really the fault of the hotel, I booked a twin room because I was travelling with my wife and mother in law. I didn't want 2 rooms because of the odd number and neither did I want an extra bed cause it is strange to sleep on separate bed with my newly wed wife. After i expressed my frustration to the lady, she demanded my mother in law to get a additional bed and we pay 45 a night for it. I paid for it and told her I didn't want the bed. The lack of flexibility pissed me off as well. I am well traveled and I know in country like china they do require guest to check in(they are worried about prostitution) but that is obviously not the case for us. All along she saw there was three of us but made no mention about anything. Makes me feel like she was doing it out of revenge.

ON the plus side. Every other employee from security to bell boy was extremely polite and nice

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Your unlikely experienced during check-in was seriously considered and we have reviewed our check-in standard procedures and reiterated to all team members concerned to ensure service efficiency is adhered in all business demand levels.

Our guest’s satisfaction is always the best rewards for our Team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service. We would like to take your comments as an opportunity to reinforce our team’s commitment to provide outstanding service to all our guests at all times.

Thank you again for sharing and we hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. Booked a deluxe room. It was my girlfriends birthday so they upgraded us to an executive suite. Room was great! Breakfast was brilliant with a huge selection. Hotel is a little outside the center but a taxi should get you anywhere in the city for under 80,000 VND. There is also a shuttle bus service.

Room Tip: Tell staff if you are arriving for a special occasion. They may upgrade your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to express our sincere thankfulness for your encouraging comments on our services. It has been our pleasure serving you during your stay with us. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Nikko Saigon in the near future.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food is fantastic. Pricing is good and the wine list works. Crossing the road is a challenge! Not far from the tourist sights. Definitely the place to stay in Ho Chi Minh. What more to say...."..........".....................................

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We do greatly value your kind feedbacks on our services and look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nikko Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Saigon

Address: 235 Nguyen Van Cu, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nikko Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nikko Saigon is a 5 star luxury hotel with 388 rooms, suites and apartments. The guestrooms are spaciously appointed and specifically designed to enable guests to both concentrated work and undisturbed relaxation in the comfort of their own room - an oasis of calm in this busy city. Spa with treatment rooms. Outdoor swimming pool, modern gymnasium, Japanese restaurant, Chinese restaurant, Lobby lounge, International Buffet restaurant with all day dining and 24 hours room service. Nikko Club Lounge is located on 23rd floor, the highest level lounge where you can enjoy the spectacular view of the city. Complimentary shuttle service to and from Ho Chi Minh City center is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd. and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nikko Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.