We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, good but expensive food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Elbow Room

The Elbow Room
52, Pasteur Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 3821 4327
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 1,573 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 275 Reviews
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, International, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Upscale Bistro, American & International cuisine. Breakfast served all day. Popular weekend brunch. Live Friday night band.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good but expensive food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Good comfort food in a very nice and clean place. I wish western food weren't so expensive in HCMC city but the prices are fair.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tristan N, Owner at The Elbow Room, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear RobertL,

it is not often we get review from TA so always glad when we see one. Majority of our guests are local expats and vietnamese and they're not often on TA. Thank you for your patrionage and time to write a review.

I understand that the prices are not as cheap as we would like but unfortunately for majority of Western restaurants in Vietnam that uses mainly imported products. Thank you for your understanding and hope to see you again in the near future.

Cheers,
Tristan
ngotristan@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    90
    25
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great western food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

From being in Ho Chi Minh for 2 months, it was great to find a nearby place with fantastic western food. I came here multiple times for dinner and breakfast and received great service and food on all occasions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tristan N, Owner at The Elbow Room, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Justin H,

it is not often we get review from TA so always glad when we see one. Majority of our guests are local expats and vietnamese and they're not often on TA. Thank you for your patrionage and time to write a review. We hope to be able to see you again in the near future and please let us know next time you're in.

Cheers,
Tristan
ngotristan@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

It is always nice to come by during my long Asia trips to get western food. Love the pancakes! Everything great on menu. Wish they opened at 7am so it was convenient in morning is my only complaint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tristan N, Owner at The Elbow Room, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear CabotLTN

It is not often we get reviews from TA and especially a nice review as well. Thank you for your patrionage and time to review us on TA. Will make a note regarding opening at 7AM... Glad you have a had a wonderful experience in our restaurant and hope to be able to see you again in the near future.

Cheers,
Tristan

ngotristan@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“If you've had too much rice is The Elbow Room the place for you.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Clean and cozy restaurant with a good selection at a western menu. This is one of the best places for Western food in Ho Chi Minh City. Especially their salads are a class apart. You can feel the restaurent owner is passionate about the place, both the food and the atmosphere.
I will gladly recommend you to visit The Elbow Room.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tristan N, Owner at The Elbow Room, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear CamillaH,

it is not often we get review from TA so always glad when we see one. Majority of our guests are local expats and vietnamese and they're not often on TA. Thank you for your patrionage and time to write a review.

I am very proud of our menu and especially our salads. You are right on and really made our day. We hope to be able to see you again in the near future.

Cheers,
Tristan
ngotristan@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Western Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I hate to admit this but after three weeks in the country and eating the local cuisine, which was fantastic everywhere, we had to go Western!! We were definitely not disappointed, so much so we went back twice! The place feels like an American diner. The staff are courteous although didn't seem to want to engage in conversation. That said the food is fantastic and certainly the second visit cured our guilty Western hunger pangs. It's good value too. Would highly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tristan N, Owner at The Elbow Room, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Justin H,

It is not often we get review from TA so always glad when we see one. Majority of our guests are local expats and vietnamese and they're not often on TA. Thank you for your patrionage and time to write a review. We hope to be able to see you again in the near future and please let us know next time you're in.

Cheers,
Tristan
ngotristan@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elbow Room also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The Elbow Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elbow Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.