We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and simple”
Review of The Elbow Room

52, Pasteur Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 3821 4327
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #40 of 1,238 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, International, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Upscale Bistro, American & International cuisine. Breakfast served all day. Popular weekend brunch. Live Friday night band.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    125
    66
    22
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for The Elbow Room
See the most recent reviews
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Nice comfort food, meet dishes are tasty and overall good value meals. Live music sometimes playing on the first floor.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ho chi minh city
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Western Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I never did make it to the Elbow Room but just recently ordered take out from there. Based on this I will definitly be going to test this place out as take-away is always worse than eating the food right after its been cooked. I had a chili dog - perfectly american style and good. The burger was great. Also had braised brisket with cole slaw. Being American this is finally a place where I found real comfort food. The cheesecake was creamy and good too. Can't wait to try this place out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mmmmm, American breakfast....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've only eaten here for breakfast so I can only say if you're looking for a hearty American-style breakfast with eggs, bacon, coffee, and the like, give The Elbow Room a try!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with acceptable price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Getting the suggestion from my buddies and we come to this restaurant in the evening. Yummy foods are served. I can not forget the taste of creamy pasta and "the death of chocolate" cake. U must try it! And certainly u will love it! Service was great. The waiter and waitress are so friendly. Its decoration is quite nice and bit romantic! Will come back there soon!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“Great Burger and pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were very pleased with this restaurant on our last trip to HCMC. We took Burgers that were made to the American way and had great taste.
The setting is simple but efficient and the staff is very welcoming and very caring. From the ground floor we could see the kitchen, something reassuring and proves that nothing needs to be hidden.
The map offered a wide selection of Western dishes.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elbow Room also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The Elbow Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elbow Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.