We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huong Trinh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Huong Trinh to your Saves list
Huong Trinh
98F/13 Le Lai St | Ben Thanh Ward, Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The Huong Trin is a lovely hotel within walking distance of the tourist area of Saigon. Don't be put off by the alleyway you have to walk down to the entrance of this hotel, this hotel was such a good find! The manager poke very good English and was very helpful and advised how much I should be paying for things like SIM cards etc. they don't have a restaurant however they bring your breakfast to your room which is much better and would highly recommend!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    18
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
25
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Close to about everything but away from the noise, this hotel is tucked away down a little alley off of Le Lai Road. Near the market and across the park from all the bars and restaurants. Large rooms with big t.v.s and wi-fi. Very clean and well managed. I was very happy to stay here and next time I am in town will stay here again.

Room Tip: Take your pick, there or only 5. Maybe a good idea to pre-book
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

i stay in here from 26-28 june.the staff is very helpful but sometimes when im speak with them and use english they dont know what i mean,but they are very good. always smile to me and always try to help me. this hotel is small,but the room is large. they have many facilities like laundy,wi-fi,tv,hair dryer and breakfast. dont worry if you stay in here because the location is very strategic and this owner veryvw

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Down a little alley off Le Lai Road in Saigon - watch out for the neon sign. Great spacious balcony room, spotlessly clean. Nice breakfast, they bring to room. Friendly helpful staff, only manager speaks (very good) English. Very good location, right near the heart of things. I would stay here again and fully recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The Hotel Huong Trinh is a lovely gem of a hotel set in the heart of one of the most dynamic cities in South East Asia.
Located off a small side street from a busy main road, this guesthouse is located in a Vietnamese neighbourhood, so gives you some insight into the daily lives of the Saigon residents. As a result of the location, it could be a little difficult to find, but my taxi driver had no problems locating the hotel.
The room was spacious and oozed personality, with budget boutique-style furnishings and finishes (quirky floral wallpaper, flat-screen TV etc). The room was very quiet at night, due to the fact that it is situated on a small alley, not the busy main road. I opted for the double balcony room, which has a nice selection of plants and looked out onto the alley below.
The location is excellent, being a short walk from the major tourist hub of Bến Thành Market. A lot of the main sites are within walking distance, but for some of the more distant pagodas, you will be required to take a regular taxi, or a xi-om (motorbike taxi).
The Hotel Huong Trinh is run by a delightful young Vietnamese lady, Trinh, who speaks excellent English and is very accommodating to your needs. Amongst the kindest gestures she made were letting me use the shower after I had checked out before I went to the airport, (I had a late flight) and having my clothes ironed without charge.
The only small drawbacks of the hotel are the lack of a communal area, and its small size - if you are a solo traveller, it could be difficult meeting people here. Another issue is the fact that only the owner speaks English, so communicating for the smallest thing can be a challenge.
All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who seeks something a little different from the soulless high-rise establishments that are now endemic in Asian cities.

Traveller’s tip:
Taking a motorbike taxi (xi-om) in Saigon to reach particular attractions/areas quickly, is a truly exhilarating cultural experience in itself; whizzing along on the back of a bike through the chaotic streets, whilst your driver nonchalantly negotiates a frenetic sea of bikes, is something every visitor should experience. Just make sure you barter and agree on a fair price and the destination before you set off; you should pay half or a quarter of what they quote you (they double or triple prices for tourists). Take a pen, pad and map with you, as trying to negotiate with Vietnamese currency when you don’t speak the language can be confusing, as the exchange rate works out at 32,440 Dong to the pound.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I found this hotel by pure coincidence and now wouldn't go anywhere else when I visit Saigon.
Beautifully decorated and fitted out.
Large homely feeling rooms, super clean, fast Internet and genuine, friendly service.
Tucked away down a short alleyway so it's also very quite, which is a huge bonus in a noisy city such as this one.
I've travelled for many months in Asia but no other hotel has come close in that time in regards to comfort, location and price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Situated 10 metres down laneway, this mini hotel has recently re-opened. The delightful, energenic manager has excelled in presenting beautifully appointed, extremely clean, and LARGE modern rooms, featuring lovely decor,double bed, large TV, WIFI, bar fridge (with cheap drinks). Being off the main road, it is extrmely quiet.
The location is ideal, being near 23/9 Park, and close to District 1 tourist zone - many bars, restaurants etc., and near Ben Thanh Markets and other major attractions of Ho Chi Minh City. The room rates are extremely competitive with similar nearby hotels, and the standard is generally higher.

Room Tip: All rooms have double bed only, but there is enough room to add fold up bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huong Trinh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huong Trinh

Address: 98F/13 Le Lai St | Ben Thanh Ward, Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 701 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated across the park from the Pham Ngu Lao District 1, you are in the perfect location to enjoy the hustle & bustle of the tourist area, and then retreat to the peacful room. It is a short walk to the major tourist hub of Bến Thành Market. A lot of the main sites are within walking distance, but for some of the more distant pagodas, you will be required to take a regular taxi, or a xi-om (motorbike taxi).The rooms are clean & beautifully appointed, with air conditioned, large flat screen TV, mini bar, tea/coffee, and wifi Internet. Laundry service is free, & we can provide in room dining service, if requested. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Huong Trinh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huong Trinh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.