We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tepenyaki experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kissho Restaurant

Kissho Restaurant
14 Nguyen Hue Boulevard, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 7000, Vietnam
08.3823.2223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #401 of 1,571 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 36 Reviews
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Kissho Restaurant serves authentic Japanese cuisine in a contemporary interior with 1000 square meters, over 200 person seating capacity and VIP rooms. Experienced chefs prepare teppanyaki, sushi, and yakiniku dishes before your eyes using fresh ingredients, imported meats, and traditional seasonings. Kissho is available for private dining or event hosting.
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great tepenyaki experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The place was easy to get to. The food was not that great but the kids absolutely loved the show the tepenyaki chief did for them. It was a fun filled evening that makeup for the ok sushi

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Crazy price !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nice decoration and services.
We had ordered 2 BBq combinaisons, but as the food took more than 40min to come, the waiter nicely advise us to order some starters outside the Menu. And luckily, we had ordered only edamane.
The food was "normal" but the price was more than 2 400 000 VND (114 US$) for two people.
The most expensive experience in HCMC!
Never again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were newly 0arrived in Saigon. A Concierge at our hotel recommended this restaurant to us as it was close by. We have eaten tepanyaki in Japan and elsewhere around the World. This restaurant was up there with the best.
Reasonably priced (we paid $Sin499 for lunch in Singapore at the tepanyaki restaurant located in the casino) and had dinner for 2 for $Au150.
The food was excellent and the chefs were entertaining.
All in all...... wonderful experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good for families - it was a lively, fun way to eat some reasonably priced Wagyu beef.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I would not consider this an authentic Japanese restaurant, but then anyone expecting this to be "authentic" or a great sushi place is perhaps a little clueless. Does this place look or sound like Nobu or Sushi Nozawa?

I've had a lot of excellent sushi (LA, Tokyo, NY) but I have never had Teppenyaki before, so this seemed like a fun thing to try with my parents for one of the few dinners we would share in HCMC. It ended up being a GREAT idea - fun and the food was tasty and at approx US$50 per person (which in Vietnam is not a bargain), it was money well spent as we were entertained and we all chose the Wagyu beef rib eye.

We were jet lagged and the entertainment provided by our Vietnamese chef (a charming young man who went by the name Michael) helped keep us awake. Sure, all those knife and cooking tricks are flashy and kind of silly, but it is also surprising and fun for a first timer (and I bet kids LOVE IT). I thought it was almost like having a magic show as someone prepares your meal. Michael had knife skills and all this panache (ala Tom Cruise in "Cocktail") in how he would add the salt and pepper and how he would cut things. He threw eggs in the air and caught them with a spatula and he broke them by throwing them in the air and breaking them on the edge of the spatula as they fell (catching them on the metal edge?!). He also invited me to try throwing & catching the eggs with the spatula which was really fun (and quite hard to do).

The shrimp were fresh water shrimp and super fresh. The waguy beef was decently sized and tasty. The vegetable dish was fine & the fried rice was also fine, both were a little salty.

The room is reasonable in terms of style, again, this is not a Wallpaper Magazine experience, it's clean and tries to be stylish and the dining chairs are comfortable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Damage Control”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My friends and I have noticed that Windsor Group has finally assigned their damage control manager to this restaurant, after a disappointing run since the opening (see my review and others').

And let's hope it's not too late.

Item: Very, very expensive. Go across or down the street to get better food at a much cheaper price.

Item: My sushi set took 20 minutes. I thought they had forgotten about me. Ask yourself, should this happen? At this price?

Item: Taste was nothing special.

Item: Not enough menus for the guests? This was a holiday (Women's Day), so it was crowded, but this is an amateurish mistake.

Item: No happy hour drink prices?

Item: An overpriced set/business lunch menu?

Item: More Windsor Group WiFi problems....

Well, let's hope Windsor Group's new manager does as well as he's done at Gartenstadt and Amigo and cleans up this mess.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kissho Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Kissho Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kissho Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.