We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faifoo Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Faifoo Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Faifoo Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   97/3 Le Quang Dinh St. | Ward 14, Binh Thanh Dist., Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 714 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Faifoo Boutique Hotel is a little gem. When the taxi pulls up at the end of a narrow alley, we had no idea of the little oasis at the end. Despite the constant traffic in the street outside, there was no sound of view of that from the hotel. The hotel was well priced, clean with friendly staff. We had a room with a balcony looking down onto the courtyard below and heartily recommend it. The owners have moved a traditional wooden tea house from Hue, reassembled it over the courtyard and redesigned the doors, windows and fittings in the hotel to match. Particularly enjoyed the pho soup for breakfast. When we returned to HCMC from the north we spent another night here at Faifoo. Only 6 to 9 dollars by taxi to the airport. only downside is location. You need to get a taxi for a few dollars to main area of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
18
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is one of Saigons best kept secrets. We stayed in this hotel recently as we did not want to stay in the more expensive western styled hotels in the city center and we really loved it. A very traditional vietnamese hotel about $4 in taxi from center of Dist 1 and close to the local market. The staff very very friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and was excellent value. They have a good selection for breakfast from western and vietnemese cuisine. Ideal for someone who wants a little peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of Dist 1
When we were there we booked a sightseeing tour and a food tour with SUSANS SAIGON TOURS. They collected us from the Faifoo and took us away on motorbike tour, it was excellent and highly recommended if you want to experience all aspects of Saigons culture, religion and cuisine.
Will definately go back to Faifoo and Susans Saigon tours in the future.

Room Tip: The VIP is where we stayed and couldnt be better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had planned our trip for a long time and decided to treat ourself for a hotel above our budget, as my friend was coming to Vietnam for the first time. I wanted to have a good first impression. This miserable hotel let us down completely.
First of all, the room that was offered to us wasn't the one we had booked on line. It had no window! We had to firmely insist to have another one and finally got one with a nice view on a garden. The hotel is very far from the centre. It cost more than 120 000 Vietnamese đồng, which is quite a lot here. The area is a bit rough and you can hardly find anything decent for food.
First night was ok, but the breakfast was absolutely disgusting. instant noodles and msg, plain eggs, in a dirty lobby.
On the second night, it rained so much on Saigon that the water was pouring from the air-con system and fell right over our luggages. The floor was soaked and we had to use our bathroom towels to clean it all in the middle of the night. We went to complain the next morning and the staff offered to change for another room. We did not accept and decided to leave.as it was a short notice, we told them that we would leave the next day.
Time to check out: We spent a total of 3 nights, including one cleaning all the mess and drying our clothes. The manager had the nerve to ask us to pay an extra night for giving them a short noticed, as we had previously booked for 7 nights. That was it! Not only I refused to pay, and told them that we were kind enough to accept to pay for the night we spent feet in the water! They finally accepted. We left for a completely different area, much more central, half the price per room.
Faifoo Boutique Hotel is a joke!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Faifoo Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
To respected customer,

The room that was booked was Superior Double. Superior comes with or without windows, and this is usually indicated very clearly in room description on our website or partners' sites. The picture of this room (either on our website or partners' sites) shows a Superior room without window, but with a glass wall. We do this to avoid any misunderstanding, if any.
You booked a Superior room but insisted that you need a room with a window, even though we explained that we did not have one at the time but we would have it 2 days later. But our explanation was not accepted. As a courtesy, we upgraded you to a VIP Double FREE OF CHARGE.

Faifoo was known by all customers for its cleanliness. We never had a complaint about a dirty lobby, as it has never been dirty.

As soon as we heard the complaint about the rain getting into the room through the window in the middle of the night (even though we were not sure the window was closed or open), we immediately offered a different room but was told that was not necessary. There was a big storm that night in Ho Chi Minh city.

Upon your abrupt cancellation, we waived the 4 day fees amid all the noise and hassle that we received from your stay. We strongly believe that we had provided the best courtesy possible.

We hope if you had read the room description, maybe there was no misunderstanding in regard to the window. As always, we continue to make accommodation at Faifoo as enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We checked into faifoo and on first impressions, despite the out of the way location, it seemed very charming. The duty manager was very kind and took our baggage to our room.
The room offered was nothing like the ones pictured on the website, having no window and a rather starts appearance.
We asked to be moved to a room with a window and were told the other rooms were booked up but maybe one e following day.
Next day the the manager offered us a far superior room and we were very pleased with a view that overlooks the secluded cafe with its pond located behind the hotel.
We set out for the day and dined in town, returning to the hotel at 10pm.
There is obviously a lot of rainfall in Saigon but when we arrived in the room there was water pouring, like a waterfall from the air conditioner and also the closed window. Consequently our luggage was completely soaked..... Called the desk but were told manager had gone for the evening and the security guard who came to our room tried to mop up water with hotel towels and said nothing as to the stay of our bags. He offered to move us to another room but on inspection this was also leaking from the windows and aircon.
Next morning with further heavy rain forecast we decided to check out and find another hotel more centrally located. The manager was there and told us we could not check out without paying for the full seven nights booked. We objected and he put me on the telephone with the owner who said that we had to pay for the nights we stayed plus an extra night and were charged cancelation fees. He was very unconcerned to our sodden luggage and it was only after I told him I had taken photos of the room and our bags that he decided to waver the extra night.
Also please note, if you do end up with a room that has a window, get ready to be blasted by the cafes terrible western music selection, that is unless you are a fan of Britney Spears on a loop from 6am

Room Tip: You choose, windowless, dark and grim or light, bright, Britney and water feature...when it rains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel. The room looked nice, but there was a musty and humid smell. To mask the bad smell we found three air fresheners under the bed, in the rack an on the desk what made it even worse. Otherwise the room was ok.
The hotel is quite far away from the town center so you have to add 5$ taxi costs and about 30 minutes for a single trip to the downtown area.
But the reason for rating this hotel with a low mark is the Email conversation I had with the hotel manager after our stay. One day after leaving I noticed that I missed my outdoor jacket. I remebered hang it up in the cupboard of our hotel room and I suppose I forget there. So I wrote a short and friendly Email asking if my jacked had been found. As I got no answer I sent the same email again the next day.
One day later I got a rude and outrageous mail from the hotel manager. She wrote that the housekeeper informed her that we left the room in very bad and dirty conditions (she described it but I won´t repeat it, absolutely insupportable) and that they throw away everything they found. I replied explaining that we left the room in good conditions and that the accusations her housekkeper made are not true, and that they should please look for my jacket in the cupboard. But I never got an answer.
I can´t understand this unreasonable behaviour and the intolerable accusations to a former customer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nice hotel, very friendly staff. Homely admosphere.They are ready to resolve any issues and ensure customer satisfaction. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone needing to be in Binh Thanh district.
Love the decor... Gym and cafe nearby. Nice hotel breakfast!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Faifoo and were very disappointed.

The location is quite far from main attractions of Saigon & anyone staying there must add minimum 10$ for taxi fare per return trip, to reach the main parts of the city. This adds to the per day cost, which otherwise seems attractive. The neighborhood is utterly unremarkable – we were at a loss to find any other eatery around the place & the location just does not make any sense other than to maybe business travelers with offices nearby or to transit airport passengers. In fact, no day-trip bus company agreed to pick us up from the hotel, which is a very common practice in Vietnam, due to the distance of Faifoo’s location. Die to the distance, it was difficult to get back to the hotel in the afternoons for some rest in the peak Saigon summer.

2ndly, there are gaps between what you read in the web & what you get. Breakfast is sad! You can only order 1 main dish & 1 drink, everything is for extra charge – and the amazing part is, this is NOT told to you in advance! On the 1st day, two of us ordered 1 platter of fruits along with 2 mail items and were charged extra AFTER we had consumed it. Every hotel can have their own policy, but you need to be transparent.
The booking form promised a welcome basket of fruits, which were never given.
The kitchen had limited stocks – on 5 separate occasions we were told – no chicken, no fish and no ice!
Staff is friendly, but not all are fluent with English. There is a lack of consistent practices and all decisions are referred to the resident owner.
Cupboard shelves were dusty and flying bats & insects would come into the rooms - I am serious!

The Sunday ‘Live Musical Dining Experience’ (described as an attraction on the web-site) for invited outsiders, continued loudly till midnight, disturbing hotel guests & all staff at that time remained busy with that event.

In the room we were booked in, the exhaust fan in the toilet did not work and after asking that to be repaired the entire electricity went off & we were upgraded to a bigger room which was quite eclectic – BUT – the room had no writing table, no dustbin, it has a long corridor which while quaint, serves no purpose as it is not air-conditioned, the only dust bin is in the bath-room and the bathroom had 4 tooth brushes, but no shower cap! Whew.
This was a bad choice and we wish we had not just gone by the hotel photographs and the attractive room rate!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#48 of 395 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ma Maison Boutique Hotel
Ma Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 395 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa Song Saigon
Villa Song Saigon
#1 of 395 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cinnamon Hotel Saigon
Cinnamon Hotel Saigon
#15 of 395 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#30 of 395 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,272 reviews
2.8 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#29 of 395 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faifoo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faifoo Boutique Hotel

Address: 97/3 Le Quang Dinh St. | Ward 14, Binh Thanh Dist., Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 714 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Faifoo Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Faifoo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faifoo Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.