We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite the place to be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Graceful Saigon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Graceful Saigon Hotel to your Saves list
Graceful Saigon Hotel
63 Bui Vien St., Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 368 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Da Nang, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quite the place to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Based on the tripadvisor rating, my girlfriend and I stayed here on our way out of Vietnam. We hadn't yet experienced the 'Backpackers District', but this is a really cool place to do so. The street it is on gets PACKED at night with backpackers, tourists, and locals. It is loud, is is rambunctious, and it is FUN! There is a great Australian owned restaurant/bar across the street that has live music almost every night. The staff was also very helpful with me while I was trying to sell the motorbike we toured the country with.

The back-side room we had was very basic. For the price it was simply good, nothing spectacular. The room was clean, but the bathroom was a bit shabby, with some open holes in the walls from pipes, but that has been par for the course in our time in Vietnam. On the plus side it had on-demand hot water in the shower, the only place we've seen that in Vietnam.

A word of caution; if you're looking for quiet nights, avoiding other tourists, or don't like being hassled to buy things, then the entire street is not right for you. But if you're looking to have fun and meet other people, you'll love it. Also, I think the staff stays up very late / all night, so you can come back anytime from the bars.

Room Tip: They have front rooms and back rooms. I'm guessing street noise in the front rooms is loud unti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    46
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
44
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We only stayed here for one night but it was clean and comfortable with a light breakfast , our room was at the back of the hotel and very quiet. We noticed people staying at the front switching hotels and can only presume this is because of the noisy tourist street.
The staff were very helpful and could speak good English, made phone calls and bus arrangements for us
It was a bit dearer than some of the hotels we stayed at but was ok

Room Tip: Choose a room at he back of the hotel, if flying in to hrmc go to the domestic terminal to get a tax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee Why, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you've been to Saigon before you will know Bui Vien Street is a replica of Khao San Road in Bangkok, noisy and relentless. We unfortunately didn't know that and not to the fault of Gracefull Hotel. I do think it should be made a point of though as sleep is normally pretty important to me, of which you wont get much of at Graceful Hotel.

The Staff here however were very kind, helpful, attentive and informative. The breakfast was also delicious and prompt. All in all for $25 a room this is great value and very central to everything in Saigon. I would just recommend you bring a decent pair of ear plugs and ask for a room away from Bui Vien St.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room away from Bui Vien Street if you want to sleep a wink
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had originally booked to stay a couple of nights in a sister hotel, Beautiful Saigon 3 but, when we arrived after a 4 hour bus journey, we found that our room had been given to someone else and the hotel was fully booked! We were taken to a couple of sister hotels - the available rooms in the first one were gloomy so we opted for the second hotel. We did not want to be wasting a lot of time walking around with our bags looking for somewhere else.

The room was very nice - spacious, clean and computer with internet provided. The design of the bathroom/ wet-room was wanting - the shower was between the toilet and basin with no curtain, so pretty much everything got wet, but that seemed to be pretty much the standard design in the cheaper hotels.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was limited but functional.

The problem for us was the noise. We were in a room on the first floor at the back of the hotel but this did not protect us from the noise in the evening coming from the street, from the surrounding bars. It was pretty much a party street (if we had known we would have gone elsewhere). This went on till late. The hotel did not have a 'front' on it as such, no door to close, which would have helped block the noise a bit. We could also hear much of what was going on in the lobby as it echoed upwards. Not just loud customers, but also the staff. We managed to change room for the second night to a higher floor and this was much quieter. However, we were disturbed by some hammering in an adjacent building the following morning.

The noise issue is really out of the control of the hotel, its just in a poor location unless, of course, you want to be out partying too.
The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of most things.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back on a higher floor. Rooms at the front are likely to suffer the most from st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Bali, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Realy center and easy to access, welcome is great and the staff very helpful!!
Rooms are clean and in very food condition... Just a little but noisy sometiles with the backpackers in the street..
Good breakfast..and convenient to explore the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I was so so surprised with this hotel. The quality of the rooms for the price paid is exceptional. the rooms are not huge but adequate. Very well equiped with pcs, flat screans, a/c etc...
Breakfast is nothing to write home about but hey there are tons of great little street cafes right outside the front door.

Top tip. Reqest top floor if you want the most peace and quiet as the hotel is situated right on a road with many many bars and restaurants (for westerners)
Also, if you don't fancy carrying your luggage up 4 flights of stairs, ask for a room in the lower flowers as there are no lifts in this hotel.

All in all, i would recommend this to friends and family and would be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: See review for tips on what the rooms can and can't offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wanted to stay for 2 days originally but extended to 4 days due to additional tours. The hotel was very good with large rooms and clean facilities. It is located within a prime area which is convenient but means it can be slightly noisy at nights. Personally I didn't find the noise too bad but people with a light sleep might want to consider upgrading to the superior rooms which are at the back and much quieter. The staff was excellent and helped me on a number of occasions booking transport and tours. All in all, great place for a stay in Ho Chi Minh

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Graceful Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graceful Saigon Hotel

Address: 63 Bui Vien St., Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 368 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the management of Beautiful Saigon Hotels Group, our team at the Graceful Saigon hotel offer international standard rooms and friendly service with a smile to make you feel at home on your holiday in Hochiminh city – Vietnam. Our motivation is to provide a pleasant and interesting stay for our guests. We thrive on our slogan "Affordable and a Nice Stay". Welcome to Graceful Saigon hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Graceful Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graceful Saigon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.