We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mai Guest House

Mai Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mai Guest House to your Saves list
Mai Guest House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   241 / 41 Pham Ngu Lao St. | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 691 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely friendly owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Since we used HCMC as our base to travel around Vietnam, we had 3 bookings in Mai Guest House. We stayed here for 3 nights the first time when we arrived.

The house itself is newly built, thus the entire property is spotlessly clean and I believe they manage to keep it that way too. it is noisy and crowded outside, but you find peace and quietness once inside the room. Internet was working without any problem and had quite a good speed.

The guest house is run by family of five. An old but extremely active grandmother, a lovely young couple and their two toddlers, one few years older than the other. The owner is extra-ordinarily helpful person. Language is a big barrier in entire Vietnam, it was still possible to communicate and get the message through!

He let us leave our heavy bag in his Guest House, while we travel around Vietnam for no-charge! He gave valuable suggestions and help when asked for. When we forgot the things in the Guest House, he was literally running behind us to deliver the things.

On the second stay, we had very late flight from Hue to HCMC, we informed him we will be late, and it was comforting to see him waiting for us past midnight in his guest house for us to check in.

We had no time to do anything when we came back from the third time from Can Tho. He booked us comfortable bus to Phonm Penh in advance, which was very well worth.

I highly recommend Mai Guest House to anyone in HCMC!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    37
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
47
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at this guesthouse for two nights during high season in January and had a wonderful experience. The owner is extremely accommodating and helpful, he even let us shower in his own bathroom when we had to come back to gt out luggage after we checked out. The rooms were very clean and spacious and it's located in an alleyway close to many good restaurants. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good neighborhood ( very Nice to see All the local people taking their breakfast in the morning in the alley). Very good value ( just don t expect elevator, soap and shampoo or breakfast. But once again consider the price). Very helpful staff ( Airport transfer 15 dollars, help with the luggage). Nice place to stay !

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We had two separate reservations here for the beginning and end of our trip to Vietnam. The first time, we arrived quite late at night only to be told that there was no room for us there (reservations obviously mean nothing). We were quickly put at another guesthouse down the alley that was somewhat old, dirty, and uncomfortable. We paid the same price to stay there, and we were forced to pay in cash rather than card (Mai takes cards, but this place didn't).

On our second trip, we did have a room in the guesthouse, but it was extremely tiny. They don't provide any soap, which is kind of a bummer. The bed made our backs hurt, and the linens were somewhat lacking, I'm afraid. The wifi was spotty. Luckily, it was much cleaner than our prior accommodations.

The owner is quite nice and helpful. He looks out for his guests and gives decent restaurant recommendations. There is free coffee and tea downstairs in the morning, which is nice. The location is also nice, and there is plenty to do, see, and eat close by. Overall, I would say that a few small changes would make this place a most welcoming place to stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Mai Guest House is located down a typical pedestrian alley in the backpacker district. The neighborhood is safe enough and well located to walk to a strip of restaurants. The guest house is new and the English speaking owner is helpful.

Our room was fine but Parisian style small...the kind where you have to put the suitcase on the bed to open the frigobar. But for the price (around $16 for a couple), who expects a presidential suite!

This is definitely a great value for a short stay in HCMC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had booked a standard room but was uppgraded to a better room which was very nice. The hosts were very helpfull. The place was manager by the owner, his wife and his mother. His sister did the cleaning. My room was spotless, not very big, but more then good enough for one. nice bathroom and even a little balcony overlooking The front street or alley. The owner was very helpful getting me trainticket to Hanoi at no overprice, and also the price for the sightseeingtours he offered were very good priced. The place is in the middle of the backpackerdistrict, a bit loud and noisy, but a lot of fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The rooms here are clean and quite reasonably priced for HCMC. They also have all the amenities you would expect. My only quibble is that the room we took was very small. It was not easy for two people to move around effectively. We only stayed one night so it was not a big problem, but longer stays would require am upgrade to a larger and quite a bit more expensive room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mai Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Guest House

Address: 241 / 41 Pham Ngu Lao St. | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 691 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mai Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Mai Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.