We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice off the beaten track” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minh Chau Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
and 5 more sites!
Minh Chau Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 Hoa Hung street, P.12, Q. 10, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 347 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good choice off the beaten track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our room at Minh Chau was comfortable and clean with air-con, a comfy bed and a nice bathroom with a bathtub and shower curtain (not the norm in Vietnam budget hotels). Our room had no windows but we were aware of this as we booked the cheapest room. Our room was serviced daily.
The owner is very friendly and always there to help, be it arranging a trip to Cu Chi tunnels or recommending places to eat in the area.
It is worth mentioning that the hotel is not really central and getting into the centre either involves a 30 minute walk along a busy road or a $3 taxi ride. On the plus side, it is in a local area on a road with a bustling market, great bargain food stalls, coffee houses, hairdressers etc which we actually preferred to the central and backpacker area.

If you arrive by bus on Pham Ngu Lao Street like we did, ensure that you don't pay over the odds for a taxi to the hotel as we were initially quoted $6 from a taxi until we found one with a non-rigged meter that charged 55,000 Dong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    33
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
40
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I'm frankly shocked at how high the rating is for Minh Chau. We were given a warm welcome and our room was comfortable. But there were many more bad points than good points.

Firstly when we emailed asking about a car from the airport, they quoted a price of $25USD which is completely over-priced (the taxi we ended up getting was probably $15 at the most).

During the whole first day their hot water was not working as their back-up systems were not adequate enough to deal with their solar going out. Once the water was back on the shower stream was so pitiful that it almost wasn't worth it.

Their lobby is at the bottom, but the sound from it travels right up to the 3rd floor, we had to sleep with earplugs every night.

The restaurant and bar was completely closed all the time we were there. We were informed by the manager that they had let their staff off for two weeks to "visit their families" and the hotel had chosen to do renovations during this time. I saw no work being done up there the whole time we were there. There was no prior warning to this being closed (a big selling point on our reservation) and all of their advertising all over the hotel featured the restaurant still.

The Manager was an extremely helpful woman, however her staff weren't. They were all young guys who seems very put out whenever you wanted something as they had to tear themselves away from the TV at the other side of the lobby, so they weren't manning the desk. When they weren't on duty, there was this random old guy sitting behind the desk who seemed bewildered whenever you approached the desk, as if forgetting he was at a hotel. Whenever anyone spoke to them he just rang the manager and sat there. None of them could even inform us of where to post postcards so we had to go hunting ourselves and found one right around the corner, None of them even knew it existed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nice clean hotel with very friendly staff and great service. The manager was very helpful and helped us find some last minute bus tickets during the crazy Tet period. Can happily recommend this. It's even close to the train station

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was by far one of the best hotels we stayed in. Even though you must take a taxi to the center of the taxi, the location is very good if you want to see and get to know the real vietnamese life.
The staff is very friendful, helpful, and caring.
The rooms are very nicely decorated, comfortable beds, clean and spacious bathrooms.
It has very good Wifi, and air conditioning.
I definitively recommend this hotel for all types of travellers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at the Minh Chau Hotel from 1/30/13 to 2/15/13, Ms. Fu spoke fluent English & her staff was really friendly & competant. This off the beaten place quaint place, on a neat little side street Hoa Hung, in an area with plenty of character. The hotel itself was very well kept, comfortable & interesting.
I will be returning for another stay in 6/13. It is just off the main drag CMT8(Cach Mang Thang Tam). Plenty of room for your motor bike & eqasy access to street food just out the front door. A very safe friendly neighborhood. It felt more like your own home than a hotel. Since I got engaged there on 2/15/13, it will hold a special place in my life. If you want to see the REAL Saigon, be sure to stay here...

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite with microwave, fridge & kitchen sink. Very useful to sit & eat your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was only in Saigon for 1 night, but wish I had stayed longer! The hotel was very nice - the room was clean and well-equipped, and the hotel owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. I thought the location of the hotel was great as well - not far from District 1 (only a 5-10 min taxi ride), still in the center of the city, and in a nice area. There's a great cafe - Cafe Sorrento - nearby as well as a great vegetarian restaurant - Saigon Vegan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were addressed to Minh Chau by a frequent visitor of the city. We asked for an hotel outside the district 1 and more into the city. We found the hotel perfectly off the beaten track as we desired and yet in the heart of Ho Chi Min city regular (hectic) life. We loved the owner and host Phu who went above and beyond her duty to assist with getting comfortable in the city. Overall the staff is friendly, attentive and always makes you feel like their special guest. The rooms were spacious, clean and the bathrooms the best kept in the entire Vietnam we visited for hotels of the same category. We stayed at our arrival in Ho Chi Min and on the way out of Vietnam we cut short one day visit in the north to be able to spend one more day in this hotel and on the road where it is located. The experience on the street where the hotel is located is worth it. Walking was the preferred method of transportation and allowed us a detailed view of the city life.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Minh Chau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minh Chau Hotel

Address: 119 Hoa Hung street, P.12, Q. 10, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 347 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Minh Chau Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just a casual stroll from the SaiGon Railway Station, Minh Chau Hotel is where modern conveniences and natural surroundings meet. Newly appointed facilities are complemented by luxurious and elegant interior designs to enhance guests’ experience whether you’re looking for short or long-term accommodation. Both business and leisure travelers will appreciate its proximity to the airport, while the choice of local cuisine provided by the hotel’s restaurant is sure to satisfy anyone’s appetite. Each of the guestrooms at Minh Chau Hotel is well-designed and equipped with amenities to ensure a pleasant stay during your visit to Ho Chi Minh City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Minh Chau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minh Chau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Minh Chau Hotel to your Saves list