We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in HCMC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse

El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse
5D Nguyen Sieu, | Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 38251879
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 1,573 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Argentinean, European, Hamburgers, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The "Argentinian Steakhouse El Gaucho" is a modern, yet traditional, fine dining steakhouse introducing glamour, hospitality and the cuisine of Argentina. Our dedication to bring a true essence of the authentic steak cuisine to the people of Saigon originates from our love for quality food, prime meats and a passion for Argentina.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in HCMC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

After a year living and working in Vietnam and almost monthly visits to El Gaucho I think I'm suitably qualified to claim this is consistently the best Restaurant in HCMC. Granted its not cheap, but imported meat and service of this quality is not cheap in Vietnam. Period. So lets just get that issue out of the way, if you want a cheap meal go somewhere else.

The owners are there every night without fail and add to the small intimate yet vibrant and energetic atmosphere. Its busy all the time but I don't think they would ever turn you away. A few drinks or even a meal seated at the bar would be a memorable night.

Its not, ever quiet. Its noisy, vibrant and fast. Dimly lit, moody and funky. There are no frills, no crisp white linen. Just honest effortless and attentive service and MEAT, mountains and mountains of impeccable, dry aged, perfected meat. They import their own and after a year of eating the same cut I can even tell the season of the US Black Angus as it varies from Spring, winter and Summer beef with varying degrees of marbled fat.

The wine list is perfect, well priced with volumes of meat matching Argentine Malbec. This place is really a divine temple of worship for meat lovers, you must go.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    98
    36
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best steak in Saigon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times and this place is the best steak in town. They are accommodating to every need, letting you try wines and sauces to help give you the best experience. The staff are lovely and extremely friendly. The food is amazing and has an extensive range. The wine list is great for red wine lovers and only has the best white wine available. Thoroughly recommend this restaurant. It is a little pricey but it is worth every penny.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best steak we've ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I brought my boyfriend here for his birthday when we were in Ho Chi Minh. We had booked for the restaurant in D1but they called me to say there was no electricity and would we like to go to D7. After a horrendous taxi journey where the driver got lost and completely over charged us,we arrived in the beautiful crescent area of D7. We were over 30 minutes late which was not even a slight problem and greeted by a very friendly Philippino waiter. This was just what we needed after the stressful trip there! Yes the steaks are expensive here but drinks, sides, extras are all so reasonably priced in comparison. Complimentary breads are wonderful but when the steaks arrived... Wow. We were bowled over! Best steak we've ever had. My boyfriend had the rib eye and I had the fillet. After dinner, we were too full for desserts but the waiter brought out brownies with a candle and ice cream for my other half's birthday. Then they bring some caramel vodka for an after dinner shot (the bottle gets left on the table to help yourself!). The service here was probably the best we've had in Vietnam. If you go there in the mindset of paying well for an excellent steak, it's 100% worth it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had the most delicious meal and fantastic service at this restaurant.
Would have definitely visited again if we were there longer!
Loved the complimentary shots too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing & friendly ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

After 3 weeks of good Vietnamise food we found out this great place. So we went there few times, had great plates and enjoyed in nice friendly atmosfere. The owner was helpfull and very friendly. The prices are a bit higher then expected in Vietnam but the beef is excelent and imported.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.