We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive? Maybe, but it is worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse

El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse
5D Nguyen Sieu, | Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 38251879
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 1,571 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Argentinean, European, Hamburgers, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The "Argentinian Steakhouse El Gaucho" is a modern, yet traditional, fine dining steakhouse introducing glamour, hospitality and the cuisine of Argentina. Our dedication to bring a true essence of the authentic steak cuisine to the people of Saigon originates from our love for quality food, prime meats and a passion for Argentina.
Kalamazoo, MI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Expensive? Maybe, but it is worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Probably the best steakhouse in town. I agree that it is on the expensive side, but certainly well worth the price. The steaks we ordered are cooked to perfection, and the sides, sauce (esp. Bearnaise sauce) and bread are excellent (the service is also great and efficient!). Hope to return soon to give myself a treat (can't afford to go there every week). If you are looking for a great steakhouse, then El Gaucho should be on your list.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    98
    36
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saigon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“They try hard, but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I agree that their steaks are excellent, atmosphere cozy if a bit loud, and servers are hard-working and friendly. Unfortunately, this was one of those embarrassing situations where we invited out-of-town guests to what we thought would be a great evening only to have to apologize for the experience. While working hard, the service was extremely slow and very elusive. My wife reminds me that this was Valentine's Day, and probably they are better under normal circumstances; sorry, but at $350 for four people you just can't make those excuses, especially at a place seating according to reservations made (they know exactly how busy they may expect to be on a given evening including this one). In fact, it's just these kinds of circumstances that separate the fine restaurants from the weak.

So what went wrong? I really don't know, except that as a restaurant manager of 9 years in a previous life, I assume one or all of the following failures may have been in play--possibly the service staff was insufficient in number to handle the volume; possibly they are under-trained; possibly they are not correctly trained (it didn't seem they were communicating well). In any case we won't be going back for a long long time, if ever. Other very good restaurants in town sell steaks almost as good as these for a third the price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karaikal, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Quite expensive but best steak in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

During our trip to Ho chi minh city, we stayed in IBIS Saigon, which is very near to this restaurant. After my friend told about steak which is famous here. We came here and tried Rib eye steak. I liked a lot and it was awesome taste with mushroom sauce. Also we had mashed pototoes, and garlic breads.
Overall it was bit expensive, but for the taste, it definitely worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Steak In Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Fantastic steakhouse, food is consistently delicious. Staff are friendly and helpful. The caramel vodka is a nice touch. My favourite steakhouse in town however it is very pricey compared to similar restaurants in Saigon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great steaks and grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This steak in this restaurant is superb! Try the mixed grill that comes with beef fillet, chicken, spicy sausage, pork ribs. The portion is quite sizeable and good value.

Have it with the Malbec red wine .

Waiters were friendly and helpful. They even managed to locate a sports bar next door to watch my soccer match.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.