We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steaks good - Chicken so-so” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse

El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse
5D Nguyen Sieu, | Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 38251879
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 1,691 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European, Hamburgers, Vietnamese, Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The "Argentinian Steakhouse El Gaucho" is a modern, yet traditional, fine dining steakhouse introducing glamour, hospitality and the cuisine of Argentina. Our dedication to bring a true essence of the authentic steak cuisine to the people of Saigon originates from our love for quality food, prime meats and a passion for Argentina.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Steaks good - Chicken so-so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

As might have been expected of a steak house, the steak was excellent - the chicken dish was so-so (no wonder the waiter looked down his nose when I ordered it). The choice and quality of steaks probably one of the best in Saigon, although you do pay for the pleasure. That being said because nothing is included in the price of the meat you do only get what you pay for.

Extensive wine menu adds to the great experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    121
    41
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good Steaks but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Enjoyed dinner with my wife. Went to the one in Dist 7. The lake next to it adds to the atmosphere, the steaks are good but pricey. As some has mentioned it comes with nothing. So everything is added cost.

The owner or manager there was very friendly coming over twice to ask how our meal was and handed us the bill personally. The other service staff I would say barely make the mark, being in Vietnam they had a Filipino captain which looked Vietnamese, when asking him in Vietnamese if they had a table, he looked at us like we were stupid to ask him anything in Vietnamese.

Other than that it was a pleasant meal but only visits on special occasions due to the price tag.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An oasis for excellent meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed it very much. The steaks are beautiful, cooked to perfection, smooth, tender, tasty. The service is perfect. The sauce is delicious. Plates are served hot (careful, do NOT touch them). Very good bread is served. Extensive choice of wines and drinks. The bill is served with a shot of caramelised vodka. Although it is expensive, it is worth it as there is only good to say about them. Go!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good, pricey, smokey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

very expensive by saigon standards, but a really good meal (which nearly every meal is in saigon). negatives were hardly enough light to read the menu and annoying clouds of smoke every time someone goes out on the balcony to smoke (which is often). my daughter said it was the best chicken she'd ever eaten - so we went back again. my steak was really good, but not as good as those I had in 2 nearby restaurants, casa italia, and the dull looking grill restaurant right next to the duxton hotel on nguyen hue. on 2nd trip, we had beef ragout, which was exceptional. lamb chops were very good. caramel vodka to finish (free) was a very nice touch. go here for a very good meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous restaurant highly recommend it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Found El Gauchos through trip advisor my husband and I went on the 3rd Jan 13. The food especially the steak was fabulous well worth a visit when in Ho Chi Minh

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.