We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa French Restaurant

La Villa French Restaurant
14 Ngo Quang Huy | Thao Dien Ward, District 2, Ho Chi Minh City 0084, Vietnam
+84 8 3898 2082
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #6 of 1,239 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Open Monday Lunch to Saturday Dinner, Close on SundayService Time: Lunch 11.45am to 1.30pm(last order)Dinner 6.45pm to 9.30pm (last order)La Villa French Restaurant proposes an authentic and fine French cuisine, it is located in a quiet street of Thao Dien and proposes a cozy dining room. La Villa has two venues which are inside and outside so you can also choose to dine in the cozy dining room or in the beautiful and romantic garden by the pool which is in the middle of several species of flowers.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went for their very affordable set-lunch last week. We chose to sit outside as there was nobody inside the beautiful restaurant. As is often the case, only imported bottle water was available. The amuse bouche was fantastic, the seafood ravioli was excellent. The choice of mains was salmon or beef, unfortunately we both chose the beef which came served medium rare rather than medium and it wasn't tender. Desserts were excellent.
Disconcertingly, at 1.15 the staff began to clear all the other tables (we were still the only customers) of cutlery and place mats, even the chair cushions and umbrellas were removed. The staff were friendly and our Patron took time to both come and say hello and saw us off when we did leave. To be fair, we would go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThierrySaigon, Owner at La Villa French Restaurant, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear spark41,

Thank you for visiting us and taking time to post your review on TripAdvisor, i have well noted your comments. We well understood and would like to thank you for your input as it will hopefully help us to improve our standards:), thanks again for your patronage and we are looking forward welcoming you back at La Villa soon.
Happy New Year 2013!
"Carpe Diem!"
Best regards, Thierry and La Villa's Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    298
    92
    25
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“nice location, food quality ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A beautiful location but the quality of the served meal was not more than ok. There are definitely better french restaurants in Saigon.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThierrySaigon, Owner at La Villa French Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear mm70,

Thank you for your visit and taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Not sure we can fully appreciate your comments as you didn't provide any details of what you were unhappy with. Feel free to email me so we can discuss further about your average experience. Thank you and best regards, Thierry
thierry@lavilla-restaurant.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a marvelous atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I visited La Villa for our 1st wedding aniversary and if we are still in Saigon we will return for each special occasion.
Food was wonderful, the staff attentive and we appreciated the little extras provided to make the occasion something to remember. We will definitely be back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThierrySaigon, Owner at La Villa French Restaurant, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Jacko31752,

Thank you for visiting us with your wife on your special day! We are delighted to read that you had such a nice time while dining with us, we will be glad to welcome you back for any others of your special occasions! Do not hesitate to contact Tina or me if you need us to arrange something special. I did communicate all your comments to our team as it s a great reward for us.
Thank you again and looking forward welcoming you back very soon in future.
"Carpe Diem!"
Best regards, Thierry and La Villa's Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“go there and enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

i'd suggest you to book a table outdoor and enjoy the atmoshpere, although i sat indoor last time. very good service and cozy environment. Price was reasonable and food quality was good. A waiter also explain the cheese selection to me in detail and I was deeply grateful about that. keep it up

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThierrySaigon, Owner at La Villa French Restaurant, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Joe L,

Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to post such a great review on TripAdvisor. All the team and myself are delighted to read that you had a great time while dining with us at La Villa! We are looking forward welcome you back soon in future and are wishing you an Happy New Year and all the very best for 2013!
"Carpe Diem!"
Best regards, Thierry and La Villa's Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisago City, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow best restaurant in Vietnam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Theirry is an amazing chef. His flavour combinations are superb and his execution of dishes is simply brillian. The service matches his excellence and the atmoshpere is elegant and relaxing.
You just have to go. Keep it up! bravo

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThierrySaigon, Owner at La Villa French Restaurant, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear J0nnyPage,

Thank you for visiting us and taking time to review us on TripAdvisor! We are all delighted to read that you had such a nice experience while dining at La Villa. We do hope to welcome you back soon in future and we are wishing you an Happy New year and all the best for 2013. Thank you again for your patronage!
"Carpe Diem!"
Best regards, Thierry and La Villa's Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa French Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to La Villa French Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa French Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.