We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Ville French Restaurant, HCMC, Vietnam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa French Restaurant

La Villa French Restaurant
14 Ngo Quang Huy | Thao Dien Ward, District 2, Ho Chi Minh City 0084, Vietnam
+84 8 3898 2082
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,489 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Michelin Star trained Chef Thierry Mounon and his wife Tina welcome you in HCMC's District 2 to enjoy traditional Fine French cuisine straight from Provence in a colonial style villa. Have lunch or dinner in the serene courtyard or refined interior, both bolstered by experienced and personable waitstaff. La Villa French Restaurant is located on a quiet side street off Thao Dien in District 2, a short taxi ride from the city center. For the connoisseur a broad selection of French wines is on offer. This is a must-visit on special occasions with friends or family.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“La Ville French Restaurant, HCMC, Vietnam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We (two couples) vacationed in Vietnam and Cambodia in Oct-Nov 2012. We booked an AMA Waterways Mekong River cruise and a pre and post cruise tour thru Trails of Indochina. We ate at the La Ville French Restaurant on the 2nd night after arrival in HCMC. The restaurant is located on a quiet street in district 2 (?) across the river. We met the French owner/chef during the meal. His Vietnamese wife was such a personable lady, and she will make a wonderful mother (child is due in Dec 2012). Their staff was helpful and extremely friendly. The four of us chose from the set menu, selecting from the Menu De La Petite Villa and the Menu De La Villa menu. The menu items did not disappoint. The sea bass fillet, the beef tenderloins and the lamb were cooked to order. The presentation was wonderful. We then left HCMC for our tour in Hue and our river cruise. When we returned the HCMC a 2nd time on Nov 6, we decided to eat at La Ville again. This time, we chose again from the set menu and ala carte. Again, the food and service were very good. Since we were just finishing our river cruise, we told some passengers about La Ville. A foursome went to La Ville on the same night, and they too said they had a wonderful meal. In fact, they planned to return for an encore with some other passengers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThierrySaigon, Owner at La Villa French Restaurant, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear activeguy88,

Thank you very much for taking time to post such a nice review on TripAdvisor! I did communicate your comments to all the team and we are all delighted to know that you had such a great experience while dining at La Villa. Thank you for your patronage and we do hope to welcome you back very soon in future!
"Carpe Diem!"
Best regards, Thierry and La Villa's Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    108
    26
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Lovely restaurant within a charming surrounding area. We had a relaxed & cosy dinner in outside, beside the swimming pool, under the trees.
The preparation and quality of the dinner was excellent and the staff was extremely friendly & professional.
My duck filet was cooked perfectly. We enjoyed a wonderful and affordable bottle of red wine. The organic chocolate ending was the best dessert my sweet tooth wife has ever had. For me, I had the pleasure to select a couple of different cheeses from the cheese trolley with something like 20 kinds of French Cheese ! Such a crazy pleasure for a french person to come back to its origins by re-discovering every French cheese. (Sainte Maure, Crottins, Reblochon, Camembert Calvados, Perail, Roquefort....)

I definitely recommend everyone to try the charm of this place, whether for a dinner with friends, family or lovers..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThierrySaigon, Owner at La Villa French Restaurant, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Vincent V,

Thank you so much for posting such nice review, we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your dining experience at La Villa, i did communicate your comments to all the team as such review are always a great reward for them. Thank you so much for your patronage and we do hope to welcome you back very soon in future!
"Carpe Diem!"
Best regards, Thierry and La Villa's Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good lunch with very reasonable price! Still the best place in hcm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Since we came last month for a dinner with friends and was told that La Villa has a good value for lunch menu too so we decided to try their lunch on saturday 2weeks ago. Thierry/chef came to say hi to us and explained the lunch menu. It was 390,000vnd for 3 courses and included a glass of house wine. We had 2 choices for each course to choose. The seafood ravioles was really good and the salmon was cooked perfectly. My friends had gaspachio and beef, both were delicous. With the value and service they are providing, La Villa is definitely a good place for lunch and dinner to enjoy with friends.
P.s they offer complimentary macaroon at the end of meal, it is excellent!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThierrySaigon, Owner at La Villa French Restaurant, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
dear davidaus1980,

Thank you very much for visiting us again! Indeed we are trying our best to serve you in a dedicated genuine way a food that we cook with love. Glad you did enjoy our new lunch menu, i precise that the price you gave is including as well 1 glass of wine. Thank you so much for your time and we are delighted to read that we did manage to make you happy a third time!
I did communicate your comments to the team, thank you for them! We are looking forward welcoming you back soon in future.
"Carpe Diem!"
Best regards, Thierry and La Villa's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I went to La Villa due to its high rating in TA. I am disappointed to say, the restaurant is overrated with just average cuisine.

The meal is overpriced even by European standard. I don't mean we got rip off, the price is clearly marked on the menu. But for its quality, I am rather disappointed and I had better experience in other restaurants in HCMC.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThierrySaigon, Owner at La Villa French Restaurant, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Hank C,

Thank you for visiting us and taking time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to read that we did let you down, unfortunately i am not able to remember you nor to find in your review some details of your experience that made your dining that average. Please feel free to email me if you would like to give me more details about your experience: thierry@lavilla-restaurant.com.vn.
Thank you for visiting us.
"Carpe Diem!"
best regards, Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“THE GASTRONOMIC FRENCH RESTO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Yesterday I have been with my best friend to eat at La Villa, since one year I didn't back because I'm based now in Danang city.

I had a finest gastronomic lunch Menu with a real impressive assorted coach cheeses!

A service top class, professional & discreet a real.

Without doubt I do recommend La Villa restaurant for your Fine dinning in town.

Thank you Chef Thierry, Thank you to all your Team.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThierrySaigon, Owner at La Villa French Restaurant, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Pascal R,

Thank you very much for visiting us again! We are delighted to read that you had great lunch at La Villa with your friend, looks like you did enjoy our Cheese Trolley indeed!. We are proud to propose French Cheeses about 20 kinds, directly imported and coming by plane every week! Thank you for the awesome Pic and we do hope to welcome you back very soon! I did communicate your comments to all the team as it is always a great reward for all of us to read that we did satisfy our guests.
"Carpe Diem!"
Best regards, Thierry and La Villa's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa French Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to La Villa French Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa French Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.