We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went in for chocolate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Italia

Casa Italia
86 Le Loi Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 3824 4286
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 1,568 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: European, Italian, Australian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Casa is located on the popular Le Loi tourist strip in the same block as the famous Ben Thanh market. Serving coffees from 9am and pizzas and dining from 10am until late, Casa caters to those seeking 'comfort' western and Italian cuisine prepared by our internationally trained chefs and served by English speaking staff. In our smoke free environment you can enjoy the casual, friendly atmosphere of our full service bar, pizzeria and cafe style or venture upstairs for that more romantic touch, relax in our lounge area or request our private room. Enjoy our selection of quality house wines and mingle with the other guests. Casa is intimate with comfortable seating for up to 50 people. Australian owned and managed, you can be assured of homely hospitality, good music and ambience. Casa caters to special diets with gluten free, and vegetarian options, including special meal sizes and choices for children: just ask our staff. Bookings are recommended for evenings and special occasions.
Colmurano, Italy
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Went in for chocolate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at a hotel down the street and walked by everyday looking at the pastries, finally went in for lunch, a bit pricy for HCM but needed an Italian fix, it satisfied.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen H, Owner at Casa Italia, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, and I do remember chatting with you over lunch. I would, however, like to correct one of your statements where you refer to pastries in case other potential customers are looking for such: we do not sell pastries....perhaps a slight confusion with the pastry shop down the road? Nonetheless I know you enjoyed the food and the time with us...take care and thanks. Kind regards, Stephen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    68
    18
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food and hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A great find if you fancy a bit of Italian cuisine. The Australian/Italian owner is there to make sure his patrons are happy and it makes for a great personal touch. The food was beautiful. Quite authentic (I'm Italian) full of flavour. Loved it!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen H, Owner at Casa Italia, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank-you for your review. It is most welcomed and appreciated particularly when from an Italian national background and a well traveled and contemporary lifestyle you identify our food-style and service concept.. It was a pleasure talking to you, albeit briefly and yes, it is my role and wish to communicate with our guests....after all, you are in our simulated home and welcomed as such. Safe travels and kind regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My friend and I were walking around Ben Thanh markets looking for a place to eat, and we found ourselves standing in front of this excellent restaurant.
The food was excellent, the serves were generous, and there was so much flavour in the dishes we tried. My risotto was excellent, and we managed to have a chat to the chef and owner, who shared with us the lengths they go to to source the best fresh ingredients.
Definitely worth checking out!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen H, Owner at Casa Italia, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very conscious of providing quality products and service for value. Yes, we are in the mid range of prices, but we are genuine with food, sourcing and presentation and it's a pleasure to have like minded people in our restaurant. Safe travels and good luck, cheers Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Maine
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Up there with the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I went here solo tonight because of a really wretched review. Just a gut feeling, but I really needed to find out myself if this place was good bad or indifferent. Verdict - very good.
Casa Italia has some different twists to it, that I find quite delightful. First there is lovely bread to start with and a veggie kind of dip for it that is very nice. Cool and refreshing. A tomato based soup comes next, compliments of the house, that is a serious delight.
I had the house Chianti which was delightful, followed by carpaccio, which is my measure of Italian restaurants in Saigon (kidding). This carpaccio is very different and quite lovely. They mix up the usual suspects and add some fennel bulb (a very magical veggie if you have never had it) and capers. Altogether, beautiful.
Next was mixed mushroom risotto with spinach. The only thing I can say about this dish is that it is magnificent and will certainly be back for more.
Service - fantastic. Food, beautiful. Ambiance - Good. Prices - similar to others in this category.
Steve the owner is as cordial as cordial can be. Great guy, great staff, outstanding food, fair prices, no reason whatsoever not to go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen H, Owner at Casa Italia, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review and the affirmation that we try to do and deliver our best. In conversation with you we talked about the impact of reviews and how powerful a tool Tripadvisor is....it is very pleasing to be rated such as you have and to do from a sound and experienced base. I would like to acknowledge Beau's (the chef) mum who taught him at the tender age of 5 how to make the gazpacho which you enjoyed, and to also praise Beau in his creativity in putting together dishes which are uncomplicated in number of ingredients but complex in terms of textures and tastes and which reflect a creative and contemporary style of Italian cuisine (notwithstanding our basic Aussie style special of steak and chips). We will continue to improve and develop menu options and provide variety for our customers. I look forward to your return visit and the introduction of some new house wines. Once again, thank you and kind regards, Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent pasta !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had very good italian food and wine! Very friendly owners and excellent service!
We were at the end of our trip and looking to have a good italian meal . Then we found this restaurant on trip advisor and we were happy with our choice.
It is recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen H, Owner at Casa Italia, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words. We, at Casa have the approach, that although you are paying customers, Casa is like our home and you are welcomed into our dining, lounge and family. Our Canadian connections are growing and it is a pleasure to host you. Thank you, good luck and safe travels. Regards Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Italia also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Casa Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.