We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Rose Hotel

Save Saved
You added Golden Rose Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com
and 8 more sites!
Golden Rose Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3A Vo Van Tan St | Ward 6, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 347 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value and Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Without a doubt one of the nicest hotels at a value price in HCMC. Staff are friendly, rooms are clean and well appointed, it is close to everything and it is quiet and convenient. breakfast is also great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
4
13
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Only spent one night here while on tour. Room was clean and had a nice bathroom. Service was good. Restaurant was okay. Take taxi to the Hotel Rex area. The hotel was nicely decorated for the Christmas Holidays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

if you are looking for budget hotel, this hotel is consider not bad already. the hotel room is not very big but is comfortable to stay. the staffs there are able to speak in English. the hotel rate
is not expensive. all i can say is worth to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I do not usually complain about hotel staff since I am generally ok with the service as long as I am not treated too badly. But I must say that the staff & the general service level in Golden Rose was poor.

First of all, the staff doesn't generally speak any English. I don't assume that everybody speaks English, but I think that if the webpages of a hotel are in English, there should be someone in the staff present all the time who can help you and answer your questions, especially in a city like Ho Chi Minh.

Also, you should not trust the prices they give you for trips and other events. We wanted to get to the tunnels and after getting a competitive bid from another trip organiser the hotel cut their offer from 1.3m to 500k. Although I do know that this is a very common practice in Vietnam, it still bothered me. You should definately look for trips like this in the backpackers area!

I would not say that the rooms were exactly *** either, maybe ** instead. The rooms are not clean and the walls are like paper; you can hear what your neighbour is doing in the bathroom a bit too clearly. The same quality rating applies for the breakfast.

But the location was great and if that is all you require from a hotel, you should probably consider staying in this one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

i got surprised with my recent visit seeing things changed. Still a clean and nice hotel but services deteriorated.. the smile on the face of staff is no more there .. cutting cost on amenities like water bottle ..break fast running out of stock.. list is long. Seems recession hit this hotel and i hope when next time i come things will be alright as before

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The bed was very comfortable, AC worked very well. The room was a little on the small side, but comfortable. Carpeting on the floors (very unusual for Vietnam). It seems that cleaning a carpet presents a problem, as ours was not vacuumed once in the 3 days we stayed at this hotel. Actually the floor was dirty when we arrived. The breakfast buffet was below average in quality of food and beverage. The tables were not cleaned; the burners were too hot on many itmes, resulting in dried out, overcooked items. The jasmine tea was boiling out of control! There is a small gym to work out in, located on the 9th floor. Take the elevator to the 8th floor and then take the stairs to the 9th floor. It is a hot room, no AC or fan. The equipment was all in working order.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

the room was comfy. No views but hey...in Ho Chi Minh center one shouldn't expect a view. Avoid the breaky if you can! It was...well, it wasn't in fact! We ran away to a local coffee shop instead.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rose Hotel

Address: 3A Vo Van Tan St | Ward 6, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 347 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Rose Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Rose Hotel in Ho Chi Minh lies in close proximity to major business, shopping, and entertainment establishments within the area. It offers 80 modern designed and cozy rooms, all of which have air-conditioner, cable TV, mini-bar, and safe. Some of its amenities are jacuzzi and fitness center, high-speed Internet access, and massage services. While staying here you can visit some tourist spots like Reunification Palace, War Museum, and Notre Dame Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Golden Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Rose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.