We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - breakfast service people are not well-trained” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vissai Saigon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vissai Saigon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vissai Saigon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Nguyen Van Troi Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City 084, Vietnam (Formerly StarCity Saigon Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - breakfast service people are not well-trained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My family and i stayed at this hotel for serveral nights in December 2013. The location is not bad, especially when you have early flights (rush hours in Saigon are horrible if you are in a hurry to catch the flight).

Front office staff are very friendly and always willing to help. Rooms are new and very acceptable. If you are allergic against smoke, you need to ask them to go check the rooms before you enter. I mentioned this several times and everytime i checked in i could smell smoke in the rooms. It seems as the regulation for non-smoking rooms is not strict enough :(.

Breakfast service people are not well-trained. They stood around and do not look at their guests. They all looked grumpy including the cooks (only smiling at each other and not at the guests). They have several supervisors (what for?) wearing suits and standing around to look/check whatever while they could just go and do the services.

I used to do breakfast service for a hotel (in Vienna) when i was student (studied hotel management) and sometimes handled almost 150 guests alone for a buffet breakfast when colleagues are in Holidays and/or ill. They have so many staff and not well-trained. It is better to have 2 well-trained staff than 20 not trained ones.

I hope the hotel will improve the breakfast service soon.
Thank you
Best wishes

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VissaiSaigon, Manager at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Kami D,

Thank you for your comment seeing our hotel as a suitable venue to stay for early flight.

We are sorry to hear about how our service people were performing. We have taken some steps to put into more training as to focus on accommodating and attentive service and other factors that set guest satisfaction to be our top priority. The comment was very straightforward, constructive and helpful.

If you are planning to visit Ho Chi Minh City again I will be more than happy to welcome you personally to our hotel to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one.

Thank you again and best regards
Do Thi Phuong Hai
Vice General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    113
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
82
16
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on 3 different occasions and higly recommend it. The staff are fantastic from the moment you arrive at reception and the food and beverage always deliver great service with big genuine smiles. I can't wait to stay again when next I travel to Ho Chi Minh.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VissaiSaigon, Manager at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear happycustomer099,

Thank you very much for your comment highly valuing our hotel. We are glad that our staff and service were able to make you happy and enjoyable. We shared this to the entire team and please be ensured that we will keep it up in order to maintain a high level of service not only to you on your next visit but also for other travelers who deserve the same.

Thank you again and look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Best regards
Do Thi Phuong Hai
Vice General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Please note this hotel is now known as the Vissai Saigon Hotel. Our taxi had a very time trying to locate this hotel as I booked it when it was known as the "Starcity" hotel.

Stayed here for two nights with family. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Check-in was a breeze and overall a very pleasant stay.

I highly recommend this hotel if you stay in the Phu Nhuan area.

-Bill2016

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VissaiSaigon, Manager at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear bill2016,

Thank you for your comment introducing our new hotel name to the public. We are glad that your stay was a pleasant one

And we do hope you will be back with us in Phu Nhuan District when you re-visit Ho Chi Minh City as this area is somewhat more peaceful.

We look forward to receiving more guests from your recommendation.

Best regards
Do Thi Phuong Hai
Vice General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel reception is extremely fast and friendly. Rooms are spacious, bedding is comfortable.
There was not body lotion available and internet reception wasn't stable (never seems to be in HCMC).
Perfect for a short business stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VissaiSaigon, Manager at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear EuropSingap,

Thank you for your comment. We are glad you were happy with our service and sorry to hear some facilities were not up to expectation.

We are working out with efforts in order to provide guests with better experience.

We hope to be able to welcome you again on your next visit.

Best regards
Do Thi Phuong Hai
Vice General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here for three nights at the start of 2014. Its about 15 mins taxi from the airport and lets set out the stall right away, Vietnam is very cheap so although you end up taking taxis everywhere it will cost you less than 10 pounds for pretty much any journey.

located outside of the centre, i think this is a more than suitable hotel to get into town... there are always taxis around.

the room itself was lovely, was big with sofa and all the usual luxuries that you would expect. The staff are very curteous and speak good english not quite fluent but good enough.

The pool and gym are a little on the small side but they are more than adequate. Although didnt have a chance to eat at the restaurant, the room service was impeccable.

One thing i will mention the tours they have in the lobby are a little bit pricey but expected.

very clean hotel, with all the mod cons and at an amazing price, i paid 50 pound a night for an amazing room.

thumbs up to the people who run this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VissaiSaigon, Manager at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Gary O,

Thank you for your comment. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our service and facilities and that you found it to be a more than suitable hotel to get into town.

Please be rest assured that we will do more and more with the service to meet more needs of all the guests.

We look forward to having a future opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards
Do Thi Phuong Hai
Vice General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed one night en route to Cambodia. Staff were very responsive by email. Despite emerging from airport more than an hour later than we had anticipated (due to immigration lines) the hotel staff was still waiting for us - the driver had gone home, but we were escorted by taxi. Room very modern, clean, comfortable and well designed. And very convenient to airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VissaiSaigon, Manager at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear A C,

Thank you for your comment and for finding us as a great overnight hotel near the airport. We are all glad our service and people met your expectation.

We do hope you and your family will be back to Vietnam on your next trip and that our hotel is on the top choice for your accommodation.

Best regards
Do Thi Phuong Hai
Vice General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a short stopover in Saigon before going home from holidays and wanted a comfortable hotel to have a rest in before catching our flight that evening. The staff were excellent, very efficient and made everything smooth and easy which is exactly what we wanted.

We had a comfortable rest before our journey home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VissaiSaigon, Manager at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear PT_Australia,

Thank you for your comment and for choosing us as a quick stopover. We are all glad we were able to meet your expectation and hope you will consider us a hotel of choice upon your next visit to Ho Chi Minh City, if any.

Best regards
Do Thi Phuong Hai
Vice General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vissai Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vissai Saigon Hotel

Address: 144 Nguyen Van Troi Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City 084, Vietnam (Formerly StarCity Saigon Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vissai Saigon Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vissai Saigon is a brand new 4-star hotel with tasteful accommodation and high-end service. This elegant hotel is just 5 minutes aways from Tan Son Nhat International Airport and Tan Binh Exhibition & Convention Center. It is also near White Palace Wedding and Convention Hall and Quan Khu 7 stadium. Commercial buildings and shopping centers are conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Expedia, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Vissai Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vissai Saigon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.