We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but some rooms can be noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vissai Saigon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vissai Saigon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vissai Saigon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Nguyen Van Troi Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City 084, Vietnam (Formerly StarCity Saigon Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but some rooms can be noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights in November 2012. Overall, this is a very nice hotel. Hotel shuttle was 10 minutes to the airport before the moring rush. Fair money exchange at the front desk, but they will not exchange back when you leave.

Not many good restaurants or shops that are walking distance from the hotel.

I had a deluxe King room that was in the middle of the hallway. A lot of noise came through the ventillation duct from the bathroom in the room next door. In fact, it sounded almost like they were in my bathroom! I noticed this over several nights. Good thing I brought ear plugs! A co-traveler was staying in a corner room, and did not have this issue. Corner rooms are also away from the elevator.

The room was good, clean, and modern. Excellent breakfast, mine was included with the room. Decent wireless internet speed.

Have fun in Sai Gon!

Room Tip: Go for rooms in the corners - they are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarCitySaigon01, Director of Sales at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for recognizing our strength in service. Indeed, we have spacious clean and modern guest rooms. We are just sorry you were uncomfortable on the soundproofing of the hotel.
In cases like this, please do immediately alert our Front Office, so we can immediately take care of you. We always would be very happy if our guest would let us know problems they encountered while they are still in house for us to solve the problem immediately and find ways to fix it for future reference.
As for good restaurants nearby, there are some on the right side and at the back of the hotel which are all very near depending on your preference. Our front office can assist with information.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    113
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
82
16
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel rooms are clean and spaceous, but there are a number of problems with the service in the hotel.

The internet is patchy and cannot be relied upon.

Taxi drivers from the centre of the city struggle to find the hotel, even with maps.

The breakfast service is, however, by far the worst I have ever come across. According to the restaurant staff, it is not uncommon for the restaurant to run out of food, seating, cutlery, glasses and cups. Furthermore, the staff are happy to keep on letting people into the restaurant making the situation worse. Guest are regularly standing to eat breakfast according to staff, what they can get of it.

The restaurant is also severely understaffed at peak times.

The icing on the cake for me was their facilities for luggage storage. In the foyer by reception, where there are not always staff.

I would steer clear of the hotel in future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarCitySaigon01, Director of Sales at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear valued guest,
We are sorry to hear your experience in the hotel. We have checked the concerns you have raised and indeed we found out some problems. The patchy internet was brought by heavy downloading of our hotel guests and we have addressed that already. Our lack of associates on peak times are true but after you alerted us we managed to do it well now and the shortage of food and cutleries were brought about by manning distribution and since we have distributed properly the associates, it is now well addressed. We thank you for alerting us with your concerns, we wouldn’t see our loopholes had it not been for the information you shared. At least the information you have given helped us improved to avoid letting our future guests experience the same. We look forward to welcome you back and let you see the improvement we made after you alerted us.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed just one night in October 2012 on our way out of Saigon. We were upgraded to a room that was more like a small apartment - it was spotless and outstanding. Excellent value for money. It was just a pity that we were not able to stay longer. All staff were very welcoming and professional. The complimentary breakfast was excellent and the evening […] buffet meal adequate. The proximity to Saigon airport was excellent and took less than 10 minutes by taxi. We would certainly stay again when visiting Saigon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarCitySaigon, Director of Sales at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for the high rating you gave us. Our associates who have been working 24 hours to serve our guests are more than just happy to read your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back at Starcity Saigon in 2013.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the star city on our arrival to Saigon. The room was very acceptable ,we were upgraded. We ate a meal in the restaurant -delicious . we then came into the bar. The manager i think ,older guy with a bald head.He came over to us and started talking to us .He was very friendly ,knowledgeable about whisky and he made us very comfortable and relaxed . The service was fantastic and we really enjoyed staying here. This guy is an asset to this hotel, i hope someone recognises his worth and sends him to Scotland to build upon his already vast knowledge of whisky. Great Stay......

Room Tip: We booked with hotel.com on the day . Got the executive room for 50 pounds a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarCitySaigon, Director of Sales at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for the very nice comments. We are glad to know you recognized the talent of our associates. I think you are referring to Mr. Hinh who has been working with StarCity since its opening in 2010. Mr. Hinh is a loyal employee who is passionate about his work. Your comment has been shown to Mr. Hinh properly. And again thank you for making our associate happy with your recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back to Starcity Saigon Hotel.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Starcity as we staged through HCM on our way to Hoi An. We got to the hotel quickly from the airport. We got caught out paying 10 dollars to a driver, the cab cost is 5. Got to our room quite quickly and it was of a good standard. We got in late Saturday evening so not much happening in the vicinity. Asked the staff at the door where the Big C supermarket was so I could get a beer or two. They told me that it had closed down. Bit hacked off when I looked out of my window the next morning to see the Big C bustling. Take a right outside the hotel and a right at the first back on yourself at the first junction you reach. When we were going out the chap at the door also alarmed my wife by telling her to go back to her room to take her gold chain from her neck and to leave her handbag. While he was worried about robbers (that we never saw) and it is a known problem in HCM it was put over in a frightening way to her.

Room Tip: Shopping Tip: The Big C supermarket is close and at the back of the block the hotel is on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarCitySaigon, Director of Sales at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience and we are sorry to hear that we failed to make you happy especially on our notice to inform our guests to take care of their belongings. Much as we wanted to be of assistance, we knew there might be some misinterpretation which we are trying to address through training on how we implement customer service well. You feedback is looked into on how we can address the issues being raised in our effort to serve our guests better. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back StarCity Saigon Hotel.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Being near the airport, the taxi fare was Vnd100,000. We negotiated price beforehand, and also asked him to turn on the meter (it showed Vnd80,000). Be careful of which taxis you take. Do your homework first. Tip: Mai Linh and Vinasun are the trusted ones. Fake scammer ones include Mailing and Vinasum. That's how tricky it can be with taxis there.

The hotel room itself was very decent. TV, free wifi, all worked like a dream. Bed and towels, bath and toilet, were all clean and really gave us nothing to complain about. We did have to ask for a refill of facial tissue though, as the box in our room was running out. Housekeeping was quite prompt in giving us the refill.

Staff here were helpful, friendly, and generally able to speak some English.

One issue that we had was an electrical socket adaptor for the kettle. It shorted during our stay as we were using the kettle. Quite scary because there was a burnt smell and constant sparking. We asked for a replacement, and the staff were helpful, though the first person who came had to ask another person to come and give us the replacement. The new adaptor looked just as dodgy, but it worked for the rest of our stay.

Breakfast was average, I would say. Try the noodles though, I enjoyed the beef noodles, and so did my wife.

Location-wise we think the hotel was good, we took a walk to the French area, including to the post office and cathedral. It was a slog to walk in the heat and humidity, but the great part is that we got a feel for the city, as we walked past schools, shops, eateries and even into a grocery store and dollar shop. Estimated walking distance we did (each way) was 4 − 5 km. I would not recommend doing it unless you don't mind the sweating.

In the french area, we found a nice french style cafe. The food was really awesome.

In the evenings, we walked around the hotel area to look for food, and we settled for the street cafe really nearby (can't remember what it was called, but its three stories high, and barely 5 mins walk from hotel, if you turn right outside the hotel at the main road). The food was good, service was above expectation.

We tried the hotel pool once. It was very very tiny, and windy up there. But because it was so small, I guess no one else wanted to use it and we had it all to ourselves.

I hear that Hanoi and Danang are more interesting to explore in Vietnam, but if we would stay here again if we needed to return to Ho Chi Minh City.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking, king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarCitySaigon, Director of Sales at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear valued guest,
It is very nice of you to spend time and effort sharing your experience with us. 90% of what you shared is indeed true. However, we are sorry though that we were not able to help you well especially on transportation. We have free shuttle service from the hotel to downtown area whose schedule is available at the reception and tour desk table. We made sure that morning and evening our guest won’t have difficulty if they wanted to explore the city. Indeed, we are very sorry you were not able to avail it and learning from your story we ensure that all information must reach all our guests. Thank you for your effort to share this with us and we look forward to welcoming you here again.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The location is superb if you are on a night layover, very close to the airport. We stayed here for one night before catching our connecting flight to Shanghai. For the amount of money that we paid we didnt expect much than to get a good few hours of sleep, but the room was great and even comparable to the big 5 star chain down at the city centre.

Clean, comfortable, great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarCitySaigon, Director of Sales at Vissai Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for recognizing one of our strong points being a hotel located in between the international airport and that of the Central District. We are happy to hear the feedback of our guest who stayed with us and experience our products and services. Hopefully, we will have the honor to receive you again at StarCity Saigon Hotel.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vissai Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vissai Saigon Hotel

Address: 144 Nguyen Van Troi Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City 084, Vietnam (Formerly StarCity Saigon Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vissai Saigon Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vissai Saigon is a brand new 4-star hotel with tasteful accommodation and high-end service. This elegant hotel is just 5 minutes aways from Tan Son Nhat International Airport and Tan Binh Exhibition & Convention Center. It is also near White Palace Wedding and Convention Hall and Quan Khu 7 stadium. Commercial buildings and shopping centers are conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Vissai Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vissai Saigon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.