We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hideout Hostel Saigon

Save Saved
You added The Hideout Hostel Saigon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hideout Hostel Saigon
281 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Canadian Hotel 281)   |  
Hotel amenities
Whistler, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Might be a tad bit more expensive then the other hostels in the area but they make up for it in cleanliness and beer! cool central location with all the amenities you'll need right at your doorstep awesome :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
6
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Really friendly staff. Clean rooms, didn't have any problems. The staff will help you with anything you need like taxis, where to go, bus tickets etc. 2 free beers between 7-8. Free breakfast of baguette, jam, peanut butter. Definitely recommend staying there! It's also in a great area and there is loads to do!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Yes. You read correctly. Two free beers starting at 6 everyday. That is so niche I love it. The rooms are also very clean with new ac unit. There's also a chill out room downstairs next to the elevator with bean bags and a television set for movies :-) If you're hungry for breakfast there's fruit bread jam and butter...or you can go outside to the right and funds one of the ladies with the sandwich cart(just point at what you want). Sandwich and Vietnamese coffee is about $1usd. You can't argue with that :-)

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Hideout hostel is in a brilliant location and the staff were very helpful. Trips and buses booked through them were excellent. Two free beers every evening makes it a social place to be. The social area is a little small. Close to backpacker area and restaurants. 20 min walk to war remnants museum. Brilliant hostel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

After reading the reviews I booked my stay at the Hideout Hostel, however when I arrived it was shut due to plumbing problems. This, of course, was largely out of their control. What was in control was the alternative hostel and that was simply disgusting. Rather than a new, air conditioned dorm room I was dumped in a makeshift 'room' with walls that only went 3/4 up and the lights never went off. The owner of this place, Mrs Thu then spent time trying to convince me to spend more money to upgrade to an a/c room and then telling me I'll be staying with her for the rest of my stay. No bloody way! The next morning I left and found somewhere far better.

I'm sure Hideout is great, but my experience of being sent to the worst hostel of my 6 weeks in Vietnam has soured it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've just been to the Hideout Hostel and stayed for 4 nights. Location is great, staff are amazing and really helpful and the crowd staying there are really cool too.
Its probably one of the cleanest hostels in Vietnam and all the facilties are very modern (bathrooms are especially good and is at the standard that you would expect from a hotel let alone hostel).
Best thing about this hostel, as gets mentioned by everyone else, is the two free beers during happy hour every night. It's a great way to get everyone down to the common area and makes it really easy to meet people and get a crowd together for dinner and/or partying.
Thanks to all the staff at Hideout for a great 4 nights, would stay there again in a heartbeat and would definitely recommend to others looking for a relatively cheap place to stay in Saigon!

Cheers,

Greg

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Think it opened this year so everything is very fresh, modern and clean! The bathrooms is amazing, best I've seen in Asia. Dorms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. Every night you get 2 free beers downstairs in the reception/common area. A very good way to meet the other backpackers and socialize! And they organize a pubcrawl three times a week which you should join if you have the opportunity, it was so much fun! I met so many cool people during my stay here. Would definitely come back here.

Only negative thing is that there's only 1 bathroom in the dorms, and since it's 10 bed dorms the toilet is pretty much occupied the whole time and you have to queue in the morning/evening...

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hideout Hostel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideout Hostel Saigon

Address: 281 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Canadian Hotel 281)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 189 Specialty lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hideout is a BRAND NEW hostel in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City. We offer the ultimate backpacker accommodation: - 2 FREE BEERS EVERYDAY - BREAKFAST - FAST WIFI - A/C - SUPER CLEAN ROOMS - HOT SHOWERS - LOCKERS - FREE INFO AND TOUR/BUS/FLIGHT BOOKING - 24 HR SECURITY Our building has just been completely modernised and everything is new. All our dorm and private rooms are fully equipped with en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning, fans, new really comfortable beds, and the dorms have a balcony overlooking the beautiful park across the street. We have a chill out area downstairs where you can have a few beers with other guests, watch a movie, use our guest computers or just relax... We are located down Pham Ngu Lao Street the famous backpacker area of Ho Chi Minh City. Named after the famous general Pham Ngu Lao from the Tran Dynasty many people now say it is Saigons answer to Khaosan Road in Bangkok and is a tourist attraction itself. There are many bars, shops and restaurants where locals and tourists come to hang out, drink, eat and party. It's the perfect location to explore all that this awesome city has to offer including The Independence Palace (Re-unification Palace), War Remnant Museum, Central Post Office, Notre Damn Cathedral and Ben Thanh Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Hideout Hostel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hideout Hostel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.