We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best thing to do in Saigon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Unseen

Saigon Unseen
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 90 831 70 84
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 293 Activities in Ho Chi Minh City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Saigon Unseen is a new business on the scene with a view of taking people to places they aren't likely to see on a standard tour. Our concept is to show travelers a different side to Saigon, it's not always pretty but it is pretty amazing.Our aim is to provide a unique view that combines traveling on the back of a motorbike through the mayhem and chaos that are Saigon streets.At Saigon Unseen we now offer Motor Bike Tours, Walking Tours and Photography Tours, full details can be found on our website.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best thing to do in Saigon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

What a great way to see Saigon. With the always smiling Ut as my guide, we visited places you wouldn't normally see. Riding down small streets and alleyways, through markets and across Saigon's Districts, it's a must do activity. A great adventure with lots of great photos to remember it by ... thanks to Saigon Unseen for a great day out!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Saigon Unseen, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review!

Great to hear you had a great time and we hope to see you back in HCMC some time soon!

All the best!

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    13
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing day out!a must do in Saigon!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Had an amazing day with Ut and Hoi they showed us the sights of Saigon on the back of their mopeds,and took us places we would never have been lucky enough to see otherwise!we laughed the entire day!thank you so much!def a highlight of our trip!
Jemma & Rhodri

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaigonUnseen, Owner at Saigon Unseen, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Jemma and Rhodri, thanks for taking the time to write a review! Great to hear you both had a great time!

Moto's are by far the best way to see Saigon - I mean, there's almost 4 million off them cruising the streets everyday!

Thanks again

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford,UK
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Saigon Unseen and Moto Fotos - Capturing the real Saigon !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband is a very keen photographer and after nearly 20 days in Vietnam we had seen and photographed quite a lot. On our last day , we had booked a Moto Foto tour which I found via the Saigon Unseen website . An Aussie photographer , Mark Stennett works with the Saigon Unseen team to combine a unique motorbike tour of Saigon with expert photography tuition. I came along for the ride as well . We had great time. We started early in the main local park , photographing the local people exercising ( even elderly ladies with swords ) and a caged bird cafe . A real slice of local life. We then went on to a market well off the tourist trail and thus hassle-free and a chance to really interact with the locals and get better pics . We had a tour of a small local temple near the railway trek and the fabulous Jade pagoda with incense and a very special slanted light effect . My husband leant some tricks of the trade in the technicalities of his camera and instructive critique of his photos . By special request , we ended near the zoo where we had seen motorbike goldfish sellers on a previous day when we did not have the camera . Lots of great shots for our trip blog ! Even though we had been in Saigon for several days, had seen most of the guidebook sights and had done another motorbike tour ( XO) , we left thinking that this 5 hour tour had given us that extra something the guidebooks cannot give. Book Saigon Unseen with Adam for the tour or combine it with Mark's Moto Foto for the special interest photography version and you will not be disappointed . If you have a photography buff in the family , this is the tour to make their trip special .

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaigonUnseen, Owner at Saigon Unseen, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thanks Una for taking the time to write a review!

Great to meet you both and look forward to seeing you back here in Saigon soon!

Regards

Adam (and Mark from Moto Foto!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The only way to see Ho Chi Minh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had been pounding the pavement in HCMC in the relentless heat for a few days and were feeling a little defeated as a result. We wanted to see more of the city but are a little averse to group tours so decided to give this tour a go. Our drivers for the day were Ut and Sau who were warm, friendly and full of information about everythIng we saw. They rode at a reasonably slow pace so at no point did we feel unsafe, even in the notoriously chaotic traffic.

We saw parts of the city we would've never ventured out to normally, to parts that the travel guides don't bother writing about and other tours certainly don't mention. It was a fabulous way of getting a different perspective on the city and a very relaxed way of seeing it without being part of a large tour group nor having to worry about being run over when trying to get those memorable holiday snaps (we loved the motorbike market).

We initially felt the tour was a little on the expensive side but overall verdict is that it was money well spent. I would highly recommend the tour to those who like to go behind the scenes and off the beaten track.

Thanks Ut, thanks Sau.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaigonUnseen, Owner at Saigon Unseen, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thanks Wendy for taking the time to write a review!

Glad to hear you both had a great time!

Enjoy the rest of your travels and we hope to see you back in Vietnam soon!

Regards

Adam H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not so professional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Got to be straight, didnt think it was good value for money. Bike riders turned up and looked liked cyclo driver plus a girl. Didnt give them a second glance as I had expected some sort of ID but no ID other than asking if my wife was Kerry? Was it a random xe om driver who knew my wifes name?
Sure we saw plenty that was not accessible by car, but after seeing one local market the next is the same. Other than what we saw in the small alleys which was the same as the street view in each of the areas it would have been better and a lot more comforatble than 4 hours on the back of a particulalrly hard bike seat.

For USD90 for two I feel that it would have been better spent on a taxi and a meal.

Adam is great with communication, but for me the service and value for money was disspointing, and I make this comment after riding a Honda 250km from Hue to Hoi An along the HMC trail.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaigonUnseen, Owner at Saigon Unseen, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review!

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the day out in Saigon.

Whilst we have not yet had any comments regarding the drivers picking up at hotels, we will definitely take your comments on board and try find a solution.

The local markets and cruising through the lanes / alleys are the highlight for most. We think it gives a great insight to local lives, their houses, the sights, smells and sounds that make up the city. The lanes are a hive of activity that most travelers don't get see.

As for the drivers, they are Xe Om drivers. They are long time friends and good honest hard working folk who try extremely hard to please to everyone that travels with us.

Once again we appreciate your comments and will definitely take them on board as we strife to improve!

Kind Regards,

Adam H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Unseen also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Saigon Unseen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon Unseen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.