We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nha Hang Ngon

Nha Hang Ngon
160 Pasteur, Phurong Ben Nghe, Quan 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
8 3827 7131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 1,483 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We came here for one of our first meals in Saigon, nice ambiance, food was good too. Not a standout experience but definitely not disappointing. Had a little trouble trying to communicate in English with some waiters but one of them helped us with our bad vietnamese which was very entertaining. More expensive I think because its known as a more touristy place, having said that there were still many vietnamese locals eating there as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    318
    121
    41
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not the correct address”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Please note the address on tripadvisor is wrong.The original quan an Ngon was at this address but has now moved to 160 Pasteur road. Another restaurant has opened at this address and is using the same name . I guess there are as many intellectual property laws as there are road laws in Vietnam.
Anyway , this is a review of 160 Pasteur rd ,Quan An Ngon. This was our FAVOURITE restaurant in three weeks of traveling in Vietnam. It is always busy but somehow they always manage to seat you very quickly. We enjoyed the wide variety of street foods in a clean restaurant environment. It is a great concept ,find the best street vendors who specialize in their one dish and bringing them together under the one roof. So you dont have a chef cooking many dishes but many chefs specializing in one dish only.The restaurant itself is in a big beautiful house. Try the Banh xeo, grilled meat and vermicelli, bun mam, or the sea snails. Also try the desserts or che they are quite small so can order two or three to try.It is also very cheap , a group of 15 of us ate until we were stuffed and with beers we paid $100 aus.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This restaurant was very similar to Quan An Ngon (a chain restaurant). Open courtyard seating and you can walk around the perimeter to survey the dishes. We were not wowed by the food nor too disappointed. All in all a very average dining experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacka, Sweden
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Just about perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Vivid ambience, well appointed menu, nice prices, really good food and very attentive professional staff who actually helped each other as well as somewhat lost patrons. Multiple floors and food being prepared at different stations. Very noisy but in a good way since its partly open top.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Food court style but different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This is actually a massive food court but different in a sense that you have a table service.
So you are seated to a table and you have a menu of more than 10 pages of dishes... So you would say the choice is more than extensive. The service was very good. I ordered a full crab grilled and actually realized I did not know how to eat it. The waitress did it for me very nicely and efficiently. Note that you will have to pay for the citrus napkins if you use them though no one tells you about it (cost is minimal).
Excellent experience overall with great tasty food. Must do.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nha Hang Ngon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Nha Hang Ngon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nha Hang Ngon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.