We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nha Hang Ngon

Nha Hang Ngon
160 Pasteur, Phurong Ben Nghe, Quan 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
8 3827 7131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 1,429 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I loved the open market feel to the restaurant. Although, likely mainly serving tourists. You can walk the perimeter of the restaurant and see all the different types of foods being prepared, as you would in a street stall. It was helpful to see the foods and ask for them during our meal.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    371
    314
    120
    40
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good service average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This restaurant received recommendation from trip advisor and our hotel. Although e had very attentive service the food we ordered was not as good as we expected. The atmosphere was interesting and the place was busy with locals. The food is prepared at side stations throughout the restaurant. I would recommend walking around and choosing dishes at that different stations rather than off the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Finally, a good restaurant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Time after time my friend and I had decided we weren't going to eat in restaurants anymore as the food is always disappointing, not as good as street food and way more expensive. However, we were recommended this place by someone living in the city and we weren't disappointed. The setting is beautiful, the food is fresh, the choice was so varied & it was cheap. We paid under £10 for 3 courses and a soft drink and it was all amazing. I would definitely recommend!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not impressed with the atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This restaurant came highly recommended by my sister who came on earlier holiday trip. Yes, there is the viewable cooking at the perimeter as mentioned by many others, but it not spectacularly interesting nor delicious looking. So we just sat at the table and order from the menu.

We ordered the Beef Pho (as expected) and the Filet mignon came with fries, a baguette, and some vinegary sauce in a separate small bowl. As there is very little sauce on the beef, I was wondering how I could eat the baguette? dipping into the vinegary sauce does not seem right.

The waiter was attentive but not conversational. The atmosphere is not relaxing, we quickly eat and leave.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinatown, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good food and not too expensive , just it is always busy so it takes long time to get food , this place is where you can come and eat, not relaxing, too busy...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nha Hang Ngon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Nha Hang Ngon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nha Hang Ngon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.