We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Deck Saigon

The Deck Saigon
38 Nguyen U Di | Thao Dien, Ho Chi Minh City District 2, Vietnam
84 8 3744 6632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 1,659 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Gosford, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 NEW

The ad says something about catching the sunset views, so we arrived early hoping to catch the sunset but the restaurant along the waters was not facing the sun! The speed boat ride to get there would have cost us S$360 ... very expensive, so we hired a chauffeur instead. We enjoyed the food, in particular the foie gras and roasted honeyed pumpkin, and the ambience. Coffee is NOT good.

There was a wedding there at that time so going to the wash room was really inconvenient ... having to pass through the wedding stage and guests.

Nonetheless, we had a great time at the Deck.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    125
    48
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatsworth, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 NEW

Located in a quiet area overlooking the river, the food was excellent, the service terrific, and the ambiance upscale & "cool" (for lack of a better word!!). Though very pricey by Vietnam standards, it was a value compared to a U.S. comparative place. It was a long taxi ride from the hotel in Ho Chi Minh City but definitely worth the ride. The curried baked blue crab were fabulous!!

  • Visited February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Lorrie56,

Thank you for your wonderful review here on TA. The entire team at The Deck Saigon would like to thank you for dining with us while on your travels to Vietnam. We do hope if you get the chance to visit beautiful Saigon again we will be able to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Deschamps, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner by the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 NEW

Request a table outside next to the river. The Japanese scallops, salmon papaya salad, and shrimp rolls were good appetizers. I had the lobster risotto and it was cooked perfectly. Don't forget to order dessert! Try the mascarpone cheesecake or cinnamon donuts with a dark chocolate sauce.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
“Great staff and good service ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Come here to enjoy my good day. Love it. Good location to get quiet from a busy day. staff service was great. Really enjoyed my food and drink

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Trung H,

The entire team at The Deck would like to thank you for dining with us. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our service team. They will be pleased to hear that their hard work and efforts in creating excellent service has been noticed. I will also pass your food comments to our kitchen team. We hope we can welcome you back to The Deck very soon.

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Deschamps, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As good as anywhere in the world, tucked away in HCMC...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

A fantastic dining experience, slightly off the beaten track by the riverside in Thao Dien, District 2, with the highly enviable option of arriving by speedboat! An extremely relaxed and low-lit ambience, with an excellent selection of pre-dinner snacks and cocktails (alongside a highly competitive 'Happy Hour'), and surroundings that are among the quietest but most impressive in HCMC's dining scene.

The menu is a triumphant mixture of local flavours and classic culinary concoctions; seemingly straightforward dishes like Tempura Squid or Mushroom Risotto are carried off with immaculate presentation and stunning execution. The service is both friendly and unobtrusive, and gives the restaurant a warm and friendly feel despite the upmarket menu and decor.

Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting HCMC for any length of time, despite the long taxi journey from the city centre. Great food, absolutely worth the cost! By western valuation, the food and drinks are excellent value!

Pay it a visit, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Chris W,

Thank you very much for your kind review about The Deck Saigon! I will be sure to pass along your comments to our service, bar and kitchen team. We strive each day to create a memorable experience for our guests and we are delighted to hear that our efforts have been noticed. We thank you again and all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Deschamps, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deck Saigon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The Deck Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Deck Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.