We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent with a great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Deck Saigon

The Deck Saigon
38 Nguyen U Di | Thao Dien, Ho Chi Minh City District 2, Vietnam
84 8 3744 6632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 1,406 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Excellent with a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We ate lunch here as part of our tour with Buffalo Tours. We arrived and left by boat, and I think that's the only way of getting there. Excellent food and plenty of it, with great views of the river. Large mirrors behind us gave the impression we were moving. Very good service as well. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Abbykat,

The entire team at The Deck Saigon would like to thank you for dining with us and taking the time to write such a great review about your experience with us. We're so happy you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. You can access our restaurant very easily by taxi as well but by boat is far more fun!

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Deschamps, Manager, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    185
    91
    35
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top class restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

It took our taxi driver 5 stops to ask directions and around 25 extra minutes to find this well hidden restaurant - but the evening was well worth the trouble!

The table service is some of the best we had seen in Vietnam! The restsurant sits right on the water - book early to get a spot outside, and arrive before sunset to catch the vista.

My med/rare crumbed tuna was so delicious! My partner had the traditional Viet grilled pork dish and said it was the best he had ever had, and he is Vietnamese so that's saying something!

We came here on out last evening is Saigon, if we had of found it earlier we would have made another appearance! Prices are expensive for Vietnam but worth the extra cost for a special evening!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Rosie C,

We wished you found us earlier as well! All of us at The Deck Saigon would like to thank you for dining with us and being patient with your driver. I'm so sorry to hear about 5 stops to find us but delighted you found it worth it. We aim for the highest quality of food and service so it is wonderful to hear your comments - I will be sure to share with the rest of our team.

Again, thank you for choosing The Deck Saigon while on your visit and we hope to welcome you and your partner back very soon.

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Deschamps, Manager, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great setting and delicious, well-presented food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our visit to this restaurant didn't start out too well as our taxi driver couldn't find it! When he eventually did we were glad we persisted. We booked a table on the deck which was lovely - a warm night and no mosquitoes - so all was good! We started with drinks and a great Mojito for me! The service was impeccable and our order was taken in good time - leaving us a while to peruse the menu and enjoy our drinks. Everything we ate was delicious and beautifully presented - special award for the perfectly cooked tuna steaks we had for mains - a real joy to eat - melted in your mouth! The setting is lovely, right on the water and the service was attentive without being pushy and the staff are friendly and knowledgable about the dishes on the menu. It's not the cheapest restaurant you could eat at in HCMC but we felt the quality of the food presented reasonable value and the setting is definitely special. Would definitely return next time we are in HCMC and recommend for a special occasion.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Freolife,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience about The Deck Saigon. We know it can be a bit tricky to find and "off the beaten path" coming from the city center which is why we aim for the highest standards - to make it worth the trip. We are so glad you persisted! I will be sure to share your comments with our chef's and service team. Shall you come back to Saigon we would be delighted to welcome you again. Next time you can arrive by private speedboat picking you up in the city center - a very unique and fun way to arrive. Please email me at geoffrey@thedecksaigon.com if you are intrested.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Deschamps, Manager, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and location- bit pricey but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The setting of this restaurant was amazing, right on the water. However I went at night and would have liked to see the restaurant in daylight.
The service was great with the staff friendly and always available if needed.
The cocktails are great here and the food was impeccible. It was pricey by Vietnamese standards but if you're after a good meal in a very nice and 'fancy' restaurant, this is it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Lani22892,

The whole team at The Deck Saigon would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts with us here on Trip Advisor. I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. We aim to give the best quality ingredients and services and at times that does come with a higher cost than a vietneamese restaurant. We hope you will come to enjoy our cocktails at happy hour everyday 50% off (80,000VND/drink) from 4-7! Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Deschamps, Manager, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place is right on the river and the water laps up on the deck. People even arrive by boat! It's very picturesque. The food is mostly European and extremely good. It's expensive by Saigon standards, but if you're here on holiday, you'll hardly notice. Staff are well trained and overall, a fabulous experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Fred S,

Thank you for sharing your experience about The Deck Saigon on Trip Advisor. Its our pleasure to hear that we have helped in making your experience with us a fabulous one. Do let us know next time you are back in Saigon and we would be delighted to invite you to a cocktail. Also if you thought people arriving by boat was fun we can arrange for you to arrive by boat as well! Please email me for info at geoffrey@thedecksaigon.com. Our boats provide a fun and unique way to see the sunset on the Saigon river while enjoying our wine and canapes on-board.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Deschamps, Manager, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deck Saigon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Been to The Deck Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Deck Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.