We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tulips Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tulips Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Tulips Hotel Saigon
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   260 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 713 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Located right in the heart of District One this place is a great location. You can easily to the war ,museum, the river, botanical gardens and zoo. (all great places to go to) Also near the market, however this was slightly disappointing, no different to any other market we have experienced in Thailand or other areas of Vietnam. Worth a wander past...
Hotel was clean and had a lift to take you up the many stairs.
Free WiFi.
Very helpful staff

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    47
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
36
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Location: In district 1 and centrally located, about 5 minutes from Ben Thanh market. Most main attractions are within walking distance. There are many places to eat nearby. Pham Ngu Lao (backpacker area) is just a short walk to the right.

Room: We chose Tulips because of its large family suite (see picture on hotel website). On the 7th floor, served by a small elevator. We stayed 4 days in the family suite. It has 1 queen and 2 single beds. The room was huge indeed and easily enough space for our family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers. It has a large window facing the main road and a small side window. It had all that we needed - big bathroom, bar fridge, safe deposit box and good wifi. Air-conditioning was fine although took some time to cool when we arrived at noon on the first day. The bathroom had some minor issues eg. sink tap spray is not good so you may get sprayed if you're not careful, tub bath shower holder doesn't point in the correct direction so you have to hold it whilst showering but these were just minor irritations. The room was clean and comfortable. Bedding was excellent. It was however a bit dark for reading even with the lights on. The family room faces the main road but being on the 7th floor it wasn't too noisy during the day and was quiet after midnight until 6am. Great value at US$53 (booked through Agoda) for 4 persons inclusive of breakfast.

Breakfast: limited but tasty food. Choice of pho, fried rice or continental breakfast and one drink (juice, tea or coffee). The Vietnamese Pho is good. For those who want milk or other options, you can easily buy from the convenience store next door while waiting for the breakfast to be served.

Service: Staff were helpful. Room tidied daily. We booked Mekong tour to My Tho and Ben Tre through the hotel. Price was reasonable and the tour fairly well run albeit a bit too commercial (too many stops for shopping).

Only areas that could be improved: Room lighting and toilet maintenance.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Families with 4-5 persons should definitely ask for the family suite. Only 1 family suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We booked our room by just sending e-mails. Mr. Philip Stephen did not ask for deposit but he kept the room for us. We had a very nice, big room at the upper floor that has big bathtub. This got a lift so it's no worries to get rooms in the upper floor. Ms. Tam, the lady at the front desk greeted us with big smile everytime she sees us. She's forever helful I think to anyone in their guests list. The breakfast served (included in the room rate) was just fine. Though, it's not a buffet, but it's fine. What's served to us for the duration of our stay were all tasted good. You can't beat the location...walking distance to both Pham Ngu Lao (going right) and Ben Thanh Market (going left). There's a convenience store next door. So you can buy bottled water before going up to your rooms (bottled water in the fridge is expensive). Packaged tours offered are expensive too. Book directly to the tour agencies in Pham Ngu Lao. In our case, booked with them a CuChi Tunnel Tour, thinking that tour guide will pick us up on time. But just the same, we were picked up late.

Room Tip: book a suite that accommodates 5 persons. really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great hotel near the backpacker end of town.......we stayed for 4 nights...and had no problems with anything about the hotel.....breakfast is simple but adequate as you would expect for the price....it’s right next door to a small connivance store ....and the ‘real Saigon’ is just outside the front door...plenty of places to eat and drink are nearby....the staff were always will to help whenever they can....including giving directions to where ever you wanted to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great location in district1, very near ben than market. Rooms very clean and personal very nice and helpfull. They recomended us dim ki for dinner, and had a great dinner for fair price, wich is unusual in district 1. Also upgraded our resevaton to a bigger room because we were staying for 3 nights.
Be careful with rooms with views to the street, might be a little noisy.
They also have available services for booking trips to mekong delta, we choosed the one day trip, but it was not as we expected, too much touristic and focused on souvenir shops more than visiting delta. The girl in the reception asked us about the trip, very kindly, and wanted to know our opinion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip S, Manager at Tulips Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Our guests do enjoy the Mekong Delta trip with very good comments. We thank you for your feedback on your Mekong Delta trip., which has been conveyed to the Tour Operator in order to rectify and improve. We do have rooms at the back of the hotel which are very quiet, but some guests prefer the rooms facing the front due to the city view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is fine for a short stay. We stayed for 2 nights to break up our journey north and had a day in Saigon. The hotel is ideally located with 5-10 mins of the main sights in Siagon, being the War Museum, Reunification Palace, the market and the Notre Dame Cathedral. The staff are extremely pleasant and accommodating. The rooms are adequate. The building and rooms aren't overly clean and you can put up with that for a few days. We had no,problems with our 2 nights here and would recommend staying here if you are just passing through. The Internet is very good with wifi throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip S, Manager at Tulips Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
From guest history it is evident that our hotel is suitable for either short or long stays. In fact we have had some long-stay guests staying with us for many months. We take pride in overall cleanliness at our hotel which could be confirmed with the high rating we have from guest reviews on major OTA sites such as Agoda and Booking.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were in this hotel from 8th to 11th July. It was a three-night very pleasant stay. I was with my mom, sister, and uncle all throughout Ho Chi Minh tour. The staff were very attentive to the guests' needs and have always tried to do their best to help us. Also, it is near to the city-center so it is a few minutes walk to some of the visited areas in Ho Chi Minh. They serve sumptuous breakfast as well. I recommend the suite room for families traveling within the area or the deluxe room for solo or pair travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip S, Manager at Tulips Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We have only one Suite Room, which is ideal for a family or small group of four persons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.5 mi away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#21 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#27 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#109 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Luxe Hotel
The Luxe Hotel
#106 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Saigon Corner Boutique Hotel
Little Saigon Corner Boutique Ho...
#54 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#35 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulips Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulips Hotel Saigon

Address: 260 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 713 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tulips Hotel Saigon 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Tulips Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulips Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.