We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really helpful hostfamily” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diep Anh Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Diep Anh Guesthouse to your Saves list
Diep Anh Guesthouse
241/31 Pham Ngu Lao Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Bern
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really helpful hostfamily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Me and my friends went there twice. Its a funny guesthouse because they have rooms in more than one accommodations.
The rooms i saw were different. The cheaper one was a bit tiny but clean and had good wifi.
The more expensive one (just 2 dollars more) was brandnew, topmodern and huge.
The hostfamily was super cute. They did everything for us and made really good recommendations for sightseeing or restaurants. You can really trust them!
We could even have a shower in their private bathroom before we left to the airport...;)
Beware, in the red lonely planet guidebook the map is wrong!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    46
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
89
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

If you're going to Ho Chi Minh city on a bit of a budget then this is the place to stay! Wonderful clean rooms with tv, fridge, air con and big bed. The hosts are such lovely and friendly people they showed us everywhere we should visit in the area and booked all our tours and bus tickets for us. Do the cu chi tunnel trip with them the guide is an absolute legend. Excellent location as well as its just around the corner from almost everything you'd need. You can even buy drinks from the here cheaper than at the shops! I will definitely recommend this place to anyone and my friends and family. Thank you for such a nice stay :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Most definitely the most helpful, friendly place we stayed in throughout Vietnam.
The rooms are lovely, the facilities great, and location is perfect! Fantastic value for money!!
Our trip from Nha Trang to Ho Chi Minh was disastrous as I became very ill. We arrived at Diep Anh at about 4am, so unfortunately had to wake up the owners in the middle of the night, the lady came to the door and was so unbelievably sweet and welcoming even at 4am! By about 8am I needed to go to hospital and again the owners were so helpful, and got us in a taxi, agreed a price and told the taxi driver to take us to the hospital, I spent 4/5 days in the hospital of which 3 nights our bags were being looked after by the guest house, they were so understanding and emailed by boyfriend throughout to check on my progress and assure us our bags were fine.
Once out of the Hospital we did eventually make it to the guest house and stayed there a further 3 nights. They were always smiling and willing to give you as much information as you wanted!
I am so thankful that in a rubbish situation we had such an amazing guest house to return to. :) thanks Diep Ahn

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Owners are extremely friendly and will go out of their way to help you. They will also arrange guided tours such as to the Cu chi tunnels and the Mekong delta for you and will give you general advice on how not to get ripped off. Location is very convenient though the alleys can be a bit dodgy at night. The rooms are decent and there is air conditioning (though not very powerful). Good value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

There are counterfeit Diep Anh guesthouses in the area so be sure to check that the one you're checking into has a tripadvisor certificate on the wall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Our first stop in Vietnam and a lovely welcome from the hosts. They took time to pick out points of interest on a map and kept checking everything was OK during our stay. Central location and bottled water was even cheaper than the supermarket! A good excursion was organised by them to Cu Chi tunnels. We have been allowed to leave a bag with them as we are returning again in a couple of weeks time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Spent here the first night in Vietnam with a friend who was backpacking around the country. The rooms are nice and clean, the aircondition works well! The location is right in the center of the touristy backpackers area which is great if that's what you are looking for.

The main plus point is the service and hospitality, they are extremely friendly and helpful. I was able to leave my suitcase here for a week after arriving whilst I travelled around the country!!! This was amazing and so great of them to do! I can recommend this to any backpacker or simple tourist who is looking for a simple, friendly and safe accomadation.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed one night at Diep Anh Guesthouse and couldn't be happier with the experience. Although we arrived very late at night the owners were welcoming and happy to give us an introduction to the city and point out the best spots for food and sightseeing. The rooms were simple, very well kept and clean. Upon leaving the owners negotiated for a taxi, and when they heard we would be back later in the week for some sightseeing during the day they offered to lock up our luggage. Highly recommended for the good price, cental location, and great hospitality.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diep Anh Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diep Anh Guesthouse

Address: 241/31 Pham Ngu Lao Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 679 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Diep Anh Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diep Anh Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diep Anh Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.