We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cheese! The Cheese!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trois Gourmands

Trois Gourmands
39 Tran Ngoc Dien Street | Thao Dien Ward - District 2, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84837444585
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,571 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Saigon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Cheese! The Cheese!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Absolutely brilliant. Exquisitely traditional French cuisine with an extensive wine list and a cheese platter to die for.

We were seated in the garden, which made surprisingly good use of artificial turf and subdued lighting to create a very amenable ambience. Service was efficient and friendly, and we had swiftly selected our dishes and wine. The prices were moderately high by vietnamese standards, but certainly not unreasonable, and absolutely sterling value for the quality of the food.

We were off to a good start with the entrees - my wife had the scallops, I had the boudin (black pudding, although the English phrase doesn't do it justice) and the snails, and we both had the Nem Foie Gras. All were well-executed, the boudin in particular offering two slightly different but very traditional textures on the one platter, but the standout was easily the Foie Gras. Presented in three styles, both the quality of the Foie Gras itself and the unique deep-fried spring-roll offered a spectacular taste and texture sensation, which left our palates shimmering.

Somewhat hesitant that we'd be able to make it through both the main and the cheese platter we'd been apprised of by TripAdvisor reviews, we nonetheless tucked in to the duck (my wife's choice) and the rabbit (I simply couldn't pass up the opportunity for the traditional red wine preparation) for our main course. Both were prepared perfectly, although naturally somewhat of a plateau after the soaring heights of the entrees. Very satisfying, and reasonably good portions, with accompaniments (pommes rissolees and something I don't recall for the duck, and a zucchini terrine and potato mash for the rabbit) that complemented the meat flavours beautifully. Notably, the orange sauce for the duck was only just tart enough to be perfect.

This hearty repast was topped off by what is, without any doubt, the best cheese platter in Saigon. A huge range, house-made, in portions so generous we couldn't finish it all. And when it comes to cheese, that's saying a lot. I'll leave it open to the reader's discovery, but suffice to say that you simply must leave room for the cheese, whether you prefer a washed-rind or a chevre. I'm hesitant to say, but I believe there must have been six or seven cheeses on the plate.

As my wife whispered to me, "I wonder if we can come back just for the cheese...?", we were handed a takeaway menu, listing a range of delectable foodstuffs for use in your own kitchen.

A fairly ordinary coffee was insufficient reason to drag us down from our culinary cloud, and we wafted lazily home with our doggy-bag of cheese, already looking forward to the following afternoon's lactose frenzy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuongBrault, Owner at Trois Gourmands, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello there,
Thank you for your coming by and your review here,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the time with us,
We hope to see you again at Trois Gourmands restaurant,
Do not forget to bring along your family, relatives, friends to come by the next time. Thank you once again
Sincerely,
3G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    60
    13
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It was just ok, with a very expensive price!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We went for a weekend dinner with some local friends. Seating inside with nice ambience but not so comfortable as previous review mentioned... The chair is kind of garden chair, the setting up is nice, just a bit too colorful. We choose a starter, a main,, cheese and dessert with two btl of Red medium price. Total cost for 4 Of us is 350$. It is expensive as the portion was tiny. The cheese was not much choie and all same taste. Staffs are polite but none Of them explained the dishes for us! For a fine dining we were expecting more!
To Come back? Maybe but not often !!!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuongBrault, Owner at Trois Gourmands, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello there,
Thank you for your coming by and your review here,
We are sorry for making you disappointed at the prices of the dishes, nevertheless we are trying to improve all the best we can. Regarding to the staffs, please accept our apology for your inconvenience when they could not answer what you wanted to ask as the owner, Gils was probably out of office that day. Next time we promise that the restaurant's owner will answer everything you want for sure.
We hope to see you again at Trois Gourmands restaurant,
Sincerely,
3G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrey Hills, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“For French Cuisine, great value and good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went early so were able to not have to book, but it is quite large and has a good ambience. We had the $35 USD set and it included entree, main, cheeses with breads and dessert. All servings are plentiful so try not to eat too much before dining!

Quality of the food is good, it's not a five star French cuisine but for French cuisine outside France it is definitely a strong 3.

I ordered and can recommend: Crab ravioli, buttered lobster, creme brulee - the pepper beef and the snails are reportedly very good too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuongBrault, Owner at Trois Gourmands, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello there,
Thank you for your coming by and your review here,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the time with us,
We hope to see you again at Trois Gourmands restaurant,
Sincerely,
3G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Ok-lah...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Four of us visited this restaurant for a business dinner in January 2013. The impression is rather mixed. On a positive side there are: impressive wine cellar, good meat dishes and several excellent starters, home-made liqueur at the end of the dinner and well trained staff. On a less positive note: uncomfortable chairs (garden-type, not restaurant-type furniture), menu without price indication, cheese platter with similar types of cheese, rather high overall cost (around USD300 for 4 for a dinner with just 1 bottle of mid-range wine) and somewhat too busy atmosphere (we would prefer a slightly more relaxed place). All in all, it is as Singaporeans would say "Ok-lah" place, i.e., could be better. The same opinion was also expressed by other colleagues visited this restaurant earlier. Would I come back? Perhaps, but not any soon - there are other good places around in Ho Chio Minh.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuongBrault, Owner at Trois Gourmands, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello lahh,
I love your Singaporean accent,
Thank you for your coming by and your review here,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the time with us,
We hope to see you again at Trois Gourmands restaurant,
Do not forget to bring along your family, relatives, friends to come by the next time. Thank you once again
Sincerely,
3G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Definitely a must go in HCMC!!! We absolutely fell in love with this restaurant. The décor is gorgeous … we chose to seat outside and it was really romantic! The food is outstanding. I recommend the scallops with truffle mash (yummy yummy yummy!!!!) The atmosphere is really warm, tranquillizing. The staff is great. They make you feel very welcome. The whole experience is absolutely amazing. We will definitely be back there next time we’re in HCMC!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuongBrault, Owner at Trois Gourmands, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello there,
Thank you for your coming by and your review here, and loving our restaurant.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the time with us,
We hope to see you again at Trois Gourmands restaurant,
Sincerely,
3G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trois Gourmands also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Trois Gourmands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trois Gourmands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.