We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Manager is Dead” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Halo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Halo Hotel to your Saves list
Halo Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   23 Thu Khoa Huan Street, Ben Thanh | 1st District, Ho Chi Minh City 848, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 678 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Shanghai, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Manager is Dead”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Booked through Agoda, we were given the wrong room twice. Sheets were not changed, found many black hairs and pubes. Tiny ants crawling over everything. Could barely walk around the room without falling onto the bed. Safe is easily transportable. Checked out after nobody showed up to change our sheets when we requested. Crazy guy with speech problems refused to give us back our passports when we wanted to leave. Was informed manager had died recently when I asked to speak with him. Hope they find a new one soon, because he is obviously missed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    47
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
9
28
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is very nice, the location is great and the service is good.
The only bad thing was the breakfast.
I was entitled to: 1 fried egg, 1 drink (to choose between tea, coffea or orange juice which tasted more like orangina with no gas)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Located on the doorstep of the Market, the Halo is in the perfect location and offers really nice accommodation. Prices aren't too bad either. The room was always clean and staff were always friendly. Breakfast is limited but ok. Only 15 minutes from the war museum and other sight seeing places. On a whole, we were very happy with our stay here and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked this hotel for our first visit to HCM in December 2012. After searching through the net we came across this hotel and after checking the reviews decided to go ahead and make the booking. Even though we had booked the hotel we were worried but alas it was a pleasant surprise! We were thrilled with the choice! From the doorman to the housekeeping staff were very friendly and the service are beyond words.. The room was cozy and comfortable. The toilets were very clean and included a bath tub that was different. A stone's throw to Ben Thahn Market, and there are many fruit stalls and restaurants all within walking distance of the hotel. Would recommend this to anyone visiting HCM.

Room Tip: Request for a room facing the Indoor Garden..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were looking for clean, locally-owned, value-for-money hotels for our rapid tour of SE Asia. This property fits the bill perfectly.

Located just a few steps from HCM's central market, Ben Thanh and just a 15 minute walk to the War Remnants Museum and Reunification Palace, you couldn't be in a better place. Tuk tuks and taxis are cheap for getting about the city, but make sure the taxi has the meter on at the correct tariff and the tuk tuk agrees a price before you set off.

Room at the Halo are simply furnished with a private shower room & WC. Front desk staff are extremely helpful in finding good places to eat and things to see and do in the city.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The rooms were a bit small but nicely designed, comfortable and clean. Plus, the staff was attentive and helpful, and the hotel itself was only a few minute's walk to Ben Thanh market. I only wish the free breakfast had more variety. Also, the rates we paid were a bit expensive for what the hotel had to offer, but it was good enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights. The room is nice & clean but too small. The bed is comfortable. We have good sleep. The staff is nice, friendly and helpful. The location is convenience, closed to Ben Thanh Market in few steps. We just love the location.

Room Tip: DO NOT take a taxi in the airport, to the city. They All Over Charged about 10USD ! Take a taxi from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halo Hotel

Address: 23 Thu Khoa Huan Street, Ben Thanh | 1st District, Ho Chi Minh City 848, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 678 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Halo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halo Hotel, a building designed in Far Eastern style, located majestic, lovely throne next to Ben Thanh market of Ho Chi Minh city HALO HOTEL has 31 rooms fitted to the highest standards with all the necessary accessories supplied in each delightful room, we made you feel at home during your stay with this friendly family run boutique hotel s located in the heart of Saigon (just walking distance from local fruit stalls, local craft shops and cafe's). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Halo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.