We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodaton in Ho Chi Minh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Apartments to your Saves list
Riverside Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53, Vo Truong Toan, Thao Dien Ward | District 2, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodaton in Ho Chi Minh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was accommodated at the Riverside Apartments (not to confuse with Riverside Hotel) for 3 nights between 16 - 19 March 2014. The accommodation place consists of a large number of 2 storey buildings, each containing fully equipped apartments, with bedroom, a large living, kitchen , bathroom and a small terrace or balcony, overlooking the garden. I had a ground floor apartment, so could exist from my terrace directly into the large garden. The location is right on the banks of the Saigon River, in district 2. The hotel has a pier and a shuttle boat for easy access to the city center(about 15 min).
All necessary utilities are in the apartment, as they are designated also for long term stay , for large families with kid. Many expats or other foreign people working in Saigon are living here. The hotel has a good restaurant offering tasty and rich breakfast, and you can as well have your dinner right on the banks of the river. Cleanness is the main principle of this place not a single drop of dust was in the apartment when i checked in. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and at the front desk they speak good English. Different trips can be organized directly there. For kids, large playing ground are provided. A swimming pool with long chairs is located behind the restaurant. The whole place is full of green, flowers, coconut trees. Fresh air and silence surround you in this place as there is no traffic noise. I made 2 days a Mekong tour and visited for only half a day Saigon, but you feel completely relaxed when returning home - yes indeed it is like a home or even better .
Actually I think this place is the only accommodation place in whole Saigon I would return with greatest pleasure, should my path lead me again to this great city, with its crazy traffic. As I considered everything a superlative (even the price of 100 USD/per night / where ever in other places you will find such a large, tasteful arranged apartment on the riverbanks, in such a lovely surrounding with this price?). The Riverside apartment in Ho Chi Minh is therefor highly recommended, being the best place to get accommodated n Saigon.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but of course ask with a room in one of the buildings facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversideServicedApt, Manager at Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review and it is great to let our guests know about the difference between hotels and serviced apartments. Our spacious apartments with a full view of river or garden make our guests feel relaxing while staying with us.
For the same rate, it is just impossible to book a hotel with the same standard, facilities, space and services in the district 1. We are glad you liked Riverside.
Our professional and friendly staffs will be glad to welcome you again during your next stay in Ho Chi Minh City.
All the best and thank you again for choosing Riverside as your home in Ho Chi Minh City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    34
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
67
21
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My colleagues and I return to the Riverside Apartments every time we're in Saigon (about 6-10 times a year). There's a great boat or shuttle ride (or an easy taxi ride) into the city center, the staff are incredible, the restaurant, laundry, grocery store, coffee shop, ATM, taxi stand, etc that are part of the Riverside are all well-run, accommodating and convenient. The apartments are spacious, quiet and well-appointed. All-in-all a lovely place to stay. There's plenty to walk to around the Riverside -- nice restaurants (13, La Planche, the Deck, etc), some local markets and shops, and an interesting blend of expat and local business and life. Great if you have kids, and lovely if you don't -- there's something for everyone. Looking forward to my next trip in a few weeks!

Room Tip: My colleagues and I have stayed in a ton of different rooms, both 1 and 2 bedrooms, and we haven'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversideServicedApt, Manager at Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Loyal and Valued Guest,


All the team thank you for your loyalty and sharing your experiences with our readers.
Even if Riverside is a nice place and provides many services as mentioned in previous reviews, you rightly mention that outside the property there are plenty of things to do and see as the restaurants, bars, shopping centers, supermarkets, bowling, cinema, paintball, horse riding…..and more.
It's truely stated that "there's something for everyone’’. We encourage our guests to enjoy this experience.
We are looking forward to seeing you again at Riverside!
Thank you again and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We ended our 3 week family holiday in Vietnam with 4 nights at Riverside. It was a really good decision to end up with a little luxury. If we'd gone here first stop I don't think I would have been able to persuade the family to leave. Not that I couldn't have spent 3 weeks here myself. Now my children want me to get a job in Saigon so we can move in permanently.

So you'll gather that we enjoyed Riverside. Not that we did it that tough, but we came here after a couple of scorching days at Can Tho in the delta and Riverside rescued our holiday.
The apartment was super comfortable; there was no TV in the children's room but that was ok as they were happy to sit in the living room to watch their Korean soaps.

We opted not to have breakfast in. There are a couple of pretty decent restaurants right outside the compound if you fancy noodles for breakfast (or pizza!), but I generally walked a hundred yards further to get fresh baguettes from one of the stalls which we had in our apartment with butter and jam we got from the Riverside supermarket. We had tea at home and then walked 50 yards to the Riverside Shalom coffee shop for an excellent espresso each morning. We'd done all our hard travelling by this stage and felt we'd earned the right to dawdle in luxury. We spent time at the pool every day - apart from at midday we always found a bit of shade to wallow in.

The location is district 2, a fair way from the city centre but we managed quite well with the free river boat and bus service. We didn't need to get a taxi in our out, apart from the first time we arrived, and to get to the airport when we left. The taxi to the airport cost us about 250k dong. We generally took the afternoon boat in to town and came back on the last bus - all free.

There didn't seem to be any other holiday makers - just contract workers and ex-pats, lots of families, everybody seemed happy to be there - and why not?

We ate in the Blu restaurant twice. Location is great, right on the Saigon river. The menu is predominantly western, but there's also a Vietnamese menu. Prices were expensive by local standards, but probably half what we would pay in Australia - and the food was great.
One small thing - it would be great if they had given us a one page map to use in the city. Instead there was a booklet with maps - not quite as handy.

Staff were helpful and efficient, but apart from housekeeping we hardly saw them. This place appears to run itself!

The Riverside definitely isn't "the real Vietnam" - but we loved staying there - our reward, and a great way to end our trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversideServicedApt, Manager at Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for the review.
The way you describe your stay is very touching, and all the team is very happy and proud to receive nice review like yours.
We focus on providing a pleasant enjoyable place to live with a good customer care. And it seems that we are successful, moreover, our location in District 2 allows everybody to go shopping by foot through the nice and quiet street of the area. And for the one who like to go downtown we have the bus and boat equipped with the Wi-Fi.
Inside as outside Riverside, everything is very near and can fit everyone s inspiration.
For you next stay, we will welcome you with great pleasure.
Thank you again and Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Whether you are a family or couple/s travelling together, this is the place you want to stay. Private serviced apartments with nothing to want for. Staff are excellent and amenities are second to none. Facilities in the resort style complex are brilliant and everything to use is free.

Best part about this place is that even though you are in a very under developed part of HCMC, you are only a free shuttle bus or boat ride to the town centre and they run most hours of the morning through to the evening.

Across the main road, very short taxi ride, is a large shopping mall where you can buy food, drinks to prepare in your own apartment if you wish to do so, otherwise use Blu restaurant/cafe on premise which has good food at reasonable prices.

We will be back to stay here in the future and would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. A lot of ex pats here from around the world so great to meet and chat with them as well. Kids are taken very good care of by the staff and there is plenty for them to do.

If you want resort style in bustling HCMC, do not go anywhere else.

Room Tip: 1 or 2 bedroom apartments are great options at great prices. Also look for specials that they offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversideServicedApt, Manager at Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

We are really pleased to read your comments about Riverside, many thanks for it.
You describe very well all the details about our Lifestyle serviced apartments.
We can feel that you felt like home in the property. This truly what we expect from our efforts.

Thank you again, we are waiting for you to come back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our stay here met all of our expectations. The apartment was spacious and clean; maid service was provided each day. Because it was out of the city, it was extremely quiet, which was exactly as advertised and what we were looking for. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in our package, and we both enjoyed the food. We appreciated the free shuttle service into the city - either boat or bus. They were both prompt and efficient. Free use of the laundry facilities was a great bonus, as was the free wi-fi. The convenience store on the grounds was great for snacks, beer and wine. I had read from earlier guests that tour guides would not pick up from District 2, but that was not the case with either of our tours. I would definitely recommend these apartments. Should we travel to Ho Chi Minh City in the future, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversideServicedApt, Manager at Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

This is a real pleasure to see that our guests are satisfied and take the time to share on TripAdvisor their experience of Riverside lifestyle.
Thank you for sharing with other travelers and to let us know how you appreciated it.
Our teams as well as the outlets in the residence always do their best to meet your expectations (restaurant, coffee shop, mini mart, spa/massage…)

On behalf of all the teams, thank you very much for choosing Riverside during your trip in HCMC and for sharing your experiences with us!
We look forward to welcoming you again to Riverside in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

After leaving district 1 and we moved to this accommodation for 2 nights stay. It is situated next to an international school and also 2 local eateries available just along the street. Being off in suburban District 2 and there was practically not much nearby. But we felt very relaxed here and enjoyed our stay using the pool and gym. You feel safe staying here with security guards watching this estate which serves as long term accommodation to many expatriates. It would take just 15 to 20 mins to get to the city so we felt it's worth the trip to come here for the quiet and nice environment. You can travel to the city and back via boat or bus service and I was amazed that there is even free Wifi that you can access on both transportation.

Besides the spacious and clean 2 bedroom apartment, we were very thankful that there is a laundry centre for us to wash all our dirty laundry. The staff there were helpful to unload the clean laundry from the washer while we were out shopping.

If anyone were to ask us to recommend a place at HCMC, this would be it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversideServicedApt, Manager at Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,
We would like to sincerely thank you for this review and for your time. It is true that our residence suits well to family thanks to the big garden, the swimming pool, the kid’s playground indoor and outdoor. The youngster can enjoy all spaces with safety and meet new friends while parents can enjoy quietness, sports activities or just the comfort of their apartments.
So many things to do are available for anyone plus all the different services that people like to find to make their life easier. This is a very strong point of our service apartments.
We are very happy that you liked Riverside.
You are always welcome to Riverside with our great pleasure for your next stay in HCMC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

A great relaxing atmosphere pretty close to the city center. I loved to get in town by boat, staying clear from the traffic. Rooms are bright and nicely set. Nothing to complain about the staff. Management seems to do the things right. The swimming pool and other facilities are above most of what you can find in town. Kids friendly and a very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversideServicedApt, Manager at Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for the review.
We focus on customer care and always try to answer to our guest’s needs and inquiries promptly with accuracy.
Our teams do their best to meet your expectations and for example recently we even add the Wifi in all our shuttle bus and boat. By providing extra services as Wifi, we increase comfort, and ease resident’s life.
We look forward to having a chance to welcome you back to Riverside in the future.
Thanks and Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Apartments

Address: 53, Vo Truong Toan, Thao Dien Ward | District 2, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your next vacation home in a tropical paradise tucked away from the noisy city center, situated on the banks of the Saigon River, but within easy reach of the hustle and bustle of downtown Ho Chi Minh. A 15-minute scenic boat ride or 20 minutes bus ride with our complementary shuttle services will take you right in the center of town. Our 4 hectares of landscaped gardens, lush green grass, a palm-shaded pool and a complete health club are the perfect setting for a relaxing stay.Built to the most exacting international standards, our spacious 1-bedroom to 5-bedrooms, fully serviced, stylish luxury apartments accompanied by first-class service will offer you the privacy, the security, the peace and quiet of a perfect oasis. Riverside provides both short-term and long-term accommodations, which cater for the single business person, couples, as well as whole families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Apartments Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.