We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fascinating experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quan Nuong

Quan Nuong
29-31 Ton That Thiep Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
0908 35 75 30
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 1,610 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cornwall
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“fascinating experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had difficulty finding at first as the frontage is being rebuilt but once in and up the stairs, past the Temple (another grand eatery), Quan Nuong is on the third floor and open to the stars. Their speciality is vietnamese barbecue so choose your meat and veg and it comes with a hotplate to your table inset with a gas burner. Tasty food, you cook it how you like it, very noisy, (3 viet birthday parties that night) busy but good service, cheap local draught beer. brilliant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    78
    22
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Skip and go to Barbecue Garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place is sweaty and dirty but more expensive than Barbecue Garden which offers a much nicer setting and more attentive staff.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Staff aren't attentive but food is fabulous!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I do love this place regardless of the staff being not very attentive!! It's pricier than other places but when you go as a group it works out cheaper!! Great fresh food and the whole BBQ, music and smoky atmosphere is what Vietnam is all about!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant with great patio !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very good restaurant with great patio and very friendly staff.
Prices are very affordable, service is very efficient..The only thing is that they need to make a better offer of meals. It is a bit limited, but it's OK.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and lively restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a great experience at the place. We ordered the five pepper venison, marinaded prawns, and vegetable skewer which were all flavorful and it was great to grill yourself. We were also surprised to see that the prawns came out live, which just shows how fresh they are. The atmosphere is casual and lively, but it just adds to the overall experience. There were a few other tourist there, but it seemed to be mostly locals and expats. Great place, would go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quan Nuong also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Quan Nuong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quan Nuong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.